Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Crate motor build

Daniel2019

Reaction score
Members Ride
Mitsubishi FTO GR
Afternoon gents,

My name is Daniel, I'm an apprentice mechanic at Mazda and I'm looking into a big build for my next car. My current is a Mitsubishi FTO that I've built from ground up (non mivec shell with mivec engine swap and rebuild, gearbox rebuild etc) I also have an XD falcon (crappy 3.3 auto) that I have been fixing up for my brother. I'm wanting something with more power that is much more inconspicuous.. I do have experience in engine swaps and rebuilds (I've done a few now, but nothing custom like this)

Anyway, my old boss had a VS ute with about 650hp in it that looked like a normal ute aside from the stealthy front mount which is what I'm looking into at the moment.

Have spoken to a few mechanics at work and supposedly most small block chev crate engines will fit into most commodores either straight away or with minimal fab work. Im more interested in the VN/VP as they apparently have stronger rear end set ups than the VR/VS and should be able to take 400-500HP. I know plenty about jap cars and setups but not stuff like this :doh:

The point is to have a cheap old looking shell and obviously can pickup VN/VPs pretty cheap with tired old engines in them to swap out.. I'm sure this has been done before so does anyone have build threads/more information or experience with specific engine swaps into these?

Was gearing more towards the small block chev motors (in particular the 350) for a good balance of power vs. money spent - http://www.enginefactory.com/400hp.htm or similar

Would rather an N/A carby setup as I don't want to screw around with ECUs and custom wiring jobs and things. Just want it to be nice and simple power.