Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Crazy thought - can this be done?

Discussion in 'The LAN Lounge' started by VS Omega, Apr 18, 2009.

  1. VS Omega

    VS Omega New Member

    Messages:
    3,213
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VS Commodore Omega
    Hey everyone,

    There's a lot of brilliant people in this forum so hopefully someone will know if this is possible or not. The cordless phones we have suck (compared to a mobile).

    We have many spare left over mobiles that don't have a job any more and I wanted to know how possible it is to use them on the landline as cordless phones? I think the handset this may be most possible with would be this Nokia e61 because it has WiFi.

    Does anyone know if this is possible or just some crazy thought? I imagine it would involve a dial up modem to interface the landline with a PC, then some sort of software on the PC and phone to connect them via WiFi and allow the handset to receive the calls from a place other than the cell tower.

    Possibly even skype?

    All suggestions and comments to snap me back into reality welcome :D
     
  2. Astranomical

    Astranomical Ecotec just kicked in yo

    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Location:
    Dee Why, NSW
    Members Ride:
    Hammerhead Eagle i-Thrust
    I've never heard of it being done...i can't imagine it would be easy, or cheap.

    Perhaps it could be done with a phone like the E61, if you could run a VoIP application on it, use it as a VoIP phone....
     
  3. SAV_117

    SAV_117 Donating Member

    Messages:
    1,170
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Members Ride:
    VY Lumina
    wat is wrong with your cordless phone. like which bit sucks about it
     
  4. Trayner

    Trayner Fresh prince of Pakky

    Messages:
    1,411
    Likes Received:
    90
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Pakenham , VIC
    Members Ride:
    Vz ss 6.0L Thunder , Vz S One Tonner
    I remember something sorta in my head about some dude using mobile phones as landline phones but I can't recall who, what , when or anything . But im pritty sure it can be done
     
  5. VS Omega

    VS Omega New Member

    Messages:
    3,213
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VS Commodore Omega
    They have bad reception, can barely hear what the other people are saying though it's probably due to interference with our wifi as well... plus these mobiles are so much better in terms of feel and customisation.

    Just thinking about repurposing instead of letting them sit there, and solve a problem.

    Guess I'm dreaming, thanks for the comments anyway guys
     
  6. danja

    danja Swerves for gay koalas

    Messages:
    1,786
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    CBF 250 and a Levin ZR
    You'd have to write all the software yourself I expect, never heard of anything like this being done before.

    Basically, getting the PC to interface with the landline via a standard dialup modem is very possible, then obviously you need to bridge the PC and the mobile. The biggest hang-up (no pun intended) here would be what limitations the mobile OS has, and what kind of apps it can run. For example, if you can only run Java apps on it, it might not be able to interface with the microphone in the phone, and the app would have to be constantly running so if the phone rang, the mobile could receive the call.

    Wether you'd have to use bluetooth, or if you could leverage the WiFi I'm not sure either.

    My suggestion, would be sell the mobiles on eBay, and buy some better cordless phones :) You can get phones which use different frequencies if you think you're getting interference. IIRC 802.11a/b/g runs in the 2.4ghz spectrum, and 802.11n runs in the 5ghz spectrum, so if you have 802.11g and get a 5ghz phone, you should be fine.
     
  7. vlv8vic

    vlv8vic <---Brad Quaid = internet stalker

    Messages:
    3,774
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    M5
    I know you want to reuse but a decent cordless phone should be satisfactory. There are cheap nasty ones out there that take two hands to hold but there are some around that are mobile phone size and able to be customised reasonably well (lights, ringtone etc).
     
  8. holdensupporter2005

    holdensupporter2005 Member

    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Location:
    N.E. Vic
    Members Ride:
    2011 VE SV6 II Commodore - Chlorophyll
    It can be done by VoIP on the mobile phone.
    You will need:
    Mobile phone with WiFi Support.
    WiFi Internet Access.
    A VoIP Provider. (eg. www.mynetfone.com.au)
    VoIP software on your mobile (Try www.fring.com.au)
    Just setup the Fring software on your mobile phone with the mynetfone account details & your WiFi Details and the mobile phone will make VoIP calls from your mobile using your WiFi connection
     
  9. ruggj

    ruggj .

    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne, Vic
    Members Ride:
    VX Exec 01
    was gonna say exactly this. i know my n95 8gb has inbuilt voip capability. i can set up my mobile to use voip while im at home and connected to the wireless router, and to use my mobile service while im away from it. I can also receive calls from either if i am in my voip area (home).

    haven't set this up because i have no need at the moment (still using less than my mobile cap so i dont care atm), would be cool though.
     
  10. ucwepn

    ucwepn America just kicked in yo

    Messages:
    2,473
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    WH statesman 5.7
    do you have adsl at all by any chance?
     
  11. ruggj

    ruggj .

    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne, Vic
    Members Ride:
    VX Exec 01
    is this directed to me or the op?

    if its me yes i have adsl
     
  12. ucwepn

    ucwepn America just kicked in yo

    Messages:
    2,473
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    WH statesman 5.7
    oops to the OP coz u need a different filter for cordless phones i hear
     

Share This Page