Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Creaking/clunking possibly from sway bar?

Conzo97

Reaction score
Members Ride
VE Omega
Hey all! My 2010 omega Wagon has been fantastic until after a recent trip from Melbourne to Brisbane. Since I've noticed a creaking/knocking when going over bumps (the roads up here are super uneven so its constant). I only notice it when going under 60kms, and it's coming from the front left I think. Some googling and asking has told me it's likely the sway bar links or bushes. Going through the bonnet, I think the bushes are okayish - though they feel very brittle which may be normal. Does anyone know if I can change these without jacking the car up? I'm a poor student without most equipment and I'm parking on a street.

Dayvo

Because i can
Reaction score
Members Ride
VE SV6 Series 2
Sounds like sway bar link pins. Mine made the same noise. To check them undo the bottom link from sway bar and check the ball joints for wear.
When I checked mine they felt ok, but when I removed the bottom link from the bar the rubber around the ball joint was split and had heaps of play in it.

Brettly-2008

Reaction score
Members Ride
SS Commodore - Ford Territory ... both camps