Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Cruise control not turning on

Discussion in 'VZ Holden Commodore (2004 - 2006)' started by Danny40, Jan 1, 2010.

  1. Danny40

    Danny40 New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    Penrith, NSW
    Members Ride:
    VZ SV6, VL (Speedway)
    Hi guys, long time lurker, picked up a VZ SV6 (auto) a couple of days ago and have some problems with the cruise control.

    When pressing the on/off button, nothing happens. Nothing comes up on the dash, fiddling with the set and reset switches does nothing either. Have tried it multiple times 10/20/30 mins into a trip after many applications of the brakes, and my brake lights are working as they should.

    I've never had a car with cruise before, so I've got no idea. Any suggestions as to what it might be?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Kal123

    Kal123 New Member

    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Location:
    Townsville
    Members Ride:
    VZ SV6 && 180sx
    Are you activating it above 40km/h?
     
  3. Danny40

    Danny40 New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    Penrith, NSW
    Members Ride:
    VZ SV6, VL (Speedway)
    Yep, tried it at 50, 60, 80 etc and still wont even turn on

    My parents picked up an SVZ at the same time and I've tried the same method in both cars, the SVZ works fine but doing the same thing in mine just doesn't work
     
  4. Danny40

    Danny40 New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    Penrith, NSW
    Members Ride:
    VZ SV6, VL (Speedway)
    And also, it's not just that it wont activate, I can't get it to turn on in the first place..
     
  5. -scyth-

    -scyth- Im alright its the others

    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Location:
    Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VZ Wagon 05
    faulty button probably. under warranty still?
     
  6. the_trademarc

    the_trademarc The Cult Of Personality

    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    SE Melbourne, VIC
    Members Ride:
    E-Series 1 Clubsport R8
    Yeah sounds like the button's not working. Did you buy it from a dealership? If so, isnt there a 48 hour period where you can return a car if it is not in the condition it was advertised as?
     
  7. 0081

    0081 New Member

    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VY s m5 supercharged
    did you check the fuse??
     
  8. Danny40

    Danny40 New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    Penrith, NSW
    Members Ride:
    VZ SV6, VL (Speedway)
    Yea got it from a dealership, have the standard 3 month warrany, he just wasn't keen on fixing small things so I can see having to fight it.
    How hard it it to pull apart the stalk and have a look at the button, or give it to a sparky?

    I did check the fuse (although not before I posted this, doh) and it's fine. It says it's the same fuse for the mirrors anyway and they were working fine.

    Cheers for the help guys :)
     
  9. ashbox

    ashbox back in black

    Messages:
    1,302
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Location:
    The Car
    Members Ride:
    something black
    you gotta remove the airbag and wheel to get to the stalk, so if your not confident, i'd give it to a sparky
     
  10. hakhawk

    hakhawk smooth moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    6,325
    Likes Received:
    105
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Members Ride:
    BMW E21 320i, E36 "318IS" coupe
    fisrt step, check all of your brake light globes. if any of them dont work, it wont engage, as it uses the brake circuit as a safety cut off feature.
     
  11. Danny40

    Danny40 New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    Penrith, NSW
    Members Ride:
    VZ SV6, VL (Speedway)
    Yep brake lights are all fine. I had another go yesterday and somehow managed to get it to turn on, but then wouldn't activate, and then the button wouldn't work to turn it off again. So I'm fairly confident there's something wrong with the stalk
     
  12. toey

    toey Member

    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Members Ride:
    VZ Executive
    haha, better than not turning OFF!
     
  13. 06vzcalais

    06vzcalais New Member

    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    had this problem theres a sensor behind the brake pedal for the cruise that the dealership who replaced my brake pedal forgot to hook back up...but in your case it does sound like the stalk and your probably best to take it back to the dealer to get them to fix it if the wreck it while fixing it they have to fix it, you break it you fix it...
     
  14. the_trademarc

    the_trademarc The Cult Of Personality

    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    SE Melbourne, VIC
    Members Ride:
    E-Series 1 Clubsport R8
    LOL! Stupid Ford's
    Best take it to a mechanic. Could be anything really.
     
  15. PaulP38A

    PaulP38A New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Location:
    Canberra
    Members Ride:
    VZ Crewman Cross6
    Hey Danny, how did you go with your cruise control problem?

    I've got pretty much the same problem on my VZ Crewman. Checked the fuse = ok, checked the brake lights = ok, haven't found the switch under the brake pedal yet.

    Cheers, Paul.
     
  16. Danny40

    Danny40 New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    Penrith, NSW
    Members Ride:
    VZ SV6, VL (Speedway)
    I'm fairly confident that it's the stalk, but haven't looked into it yet. It works every now and then (sometimes first time, sometimes I have to press it a few times) - so yea I'm thinking it's the buttons

    Btw, if the brake lights are fine, then the brake pedal switch is working :)
     
  17. PaulP38A

    PaulP38A New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Location:
    Canberra
    Members Ride:
    VZ Crewman Cross6
    ok, thanks mate. I'm suspecting a problem with the switch/button too.
    I've only had the ute for a few days and don't like my chances of getting the dealer to fix it, although I can always ask.
     
  18. 2006VZSTORM!!

    2006VZSTORM!! New Member

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Members Ride:
    VZ Storm
    I have been having a similar problem with my VZ Storm. The cruise control will work to start then when you deactivate it for slower cars (god damn them) it wont re activate...

    Though i have devised a cunning idea, as i found when i turned the car off and back on it WORKED!!! buggered if i know how to fix it but that seems to work for a while :D:D....
     
  19. I have the same issue with mine - wouldnt even turn on... But eventually after fiddling around with it for a while I discovered it only turned on when you pushed the indicator down (so as to indicate right) and then pushed the button. Its clearly a wiring defect or something with mine, have to get it sorted at some stage... but give it a try anyway, it might work.
     
  20. bloodyricho

    bloodyricho Bloody Richo

    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Location:
    littleton nsw
    Members Ride:
    Vr V6 Equipe (hare) and VE SV6 (tortise)
    the stalks stuff up on all commie models thats where the wreckers keep em on the shelves. geta new one or some times drowning them in contact cleaner works but only till next time lol. get a new one. ever want to now what stuffs up on a car go to a wreckers and see what they shelf for that model.
     

Share This Page