Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Display audio problem

Discussion in 'VE Holden Commodore (2006 - 2013)' started by Senator Slash, Mar 16, 2009.

  1. Senator Slash

    Senator Slash Slashman

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    Hamilton, NZ
    Members Ride:
    VYII HSV Signature Senator
    Hi,

    My sister has an Omega and now and then the radio will turn itself on and off by itself and then not even work at all for a day or 2.

    This affects the aircon also so basically all of the instrument cluster in the middle of the dash.

    Anyone heard of or experienced this themselves?
     
  2. Fekason

    Fekason Fekason

    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Penrith NSW
    Members Ride:
    2013 MY12.5 SV6Z + 2016 MY16 SV6, both manuals
    Once?

    One day lasy week, I turned on the car, but the centre console did not turn on. I turned the ignition off and turned it on again to find all then normal. Has not repeated.

    I will watch for comments with interest.
     
  3. MickVE

    MickVE Red... It goes faster!

    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    09 MY10 SS
    Im sure people will say check this check that... But the easy answer is take it back to the dealer as thats what the warranty is for.
     
  4. Senator Slash

    Senator Slash Slashman

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    Hamilton, NZ
    Members Ride:
    VYII HSV Signature Senator
    Ok cool I will and keep you posted. I thought there might have been someone before me that did this and they found it to be that etc.
     
  5. tommo82

    tommo82 Non-donating member.

    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    2007 HSV Senator
    This happens all the time to me. Unfortunately, you will find that the dealers will pretend it never happened and therefore tell you the car is operating normally.

    I have to pull over, turn the car off, open a door and restart. Not kidding - if I don't open the door before restarting the car it doesn't seem to reset it.
     
  6. Senator Slash

    Senator Slash Slashman

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    Hamilton, NZ
    Members Ride:
    VYII HSV Signature Senator
    I rang them yesterday and they said they will connect a tech II and see if they can reset something that way or if it is something more serious.
     
  7. tommo82

    tommo82 Non-donating member.

    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    2007 HSV Senator
    The famous Tech II.

    "The Tech II isn't showing any errors, sir"

    "Your car is operating normally".
     
  8. Boonz

    Boonz Donating Member

    Messages:
    4,042
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Location:
    berri, south australia
    Members Ride:
    green 355 VG ute
    there is a software update for your (IRC)intergrated radio chassis. go into a dealership olr service centre and ask for it to be reflashed and your problem will go away
    theres actually a techline out about the radios having your symptoms so if they say no it doesnt need it then get them to check their techlines....
     
  9. Boonz

    Boonz Donating Member

    Messages:
    4,042
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Location:
    berri, south australia
    Members Ride:
    green 355 VG ute
    your is the same deal with the radio and needs to ahve the climate control module updated aswell....if your not happy with the service at a dealership you can always go elsewhere for a second opinion.

    most workshops will hav open arms to your problems cos they are an easy fix and you dont have to chase problems around the car.
     
  10. Senator Slash

    Senator Slash Slashman

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    Hamilton, NZ
    Members Ride:
    VYII HSV Signature Senator
    Excellent thanks for that I will tell them that when I go in.
     
  11. tommo82

    tommo82 Non-donating member.

    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    2007 HSV Senator
    I have already had a new HVAC module fitted.

    Can you provide a techline number so I can ask the dealer about this specific issue?

    Yes, isn't choice wonderful?. In fact, I'm onto my 4th dealership and 17th visit.
     
  12. Boonz

    Boonz Donating Member

    Messages:
    4,042
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Location:
    berri, south australia
    Members Ride:
    green 355 VG ute
    and how many times have they actually looked at it? if your not satisfied then get onto a holden warranty rep at the plant.
    they can take your car and strip it down to nothing and restart allover again. suprised they ahvent by now cos we had a very early VE calais come back in 5 times for one fault that kept changing its symptoms and they took the car from us and stripped it back at the plant, went over everything and found a wire shorting in the b pillar causing the bcm to short out.

    dont know why yours hasnt been fixed but i would be making a formal complaint to the head office if i were you cos by the sounds of it your not getting anywhere at a service centre
     
  13. tommo82

    tommo82 Non-donating member.

    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    2007 HSV Senator
    HahahahaHahahahaHahahahaHahahahaHahahaha

    Sorry. I'll post again in a little while. I just need to compose myself.
     
  14. Senator Slash

    Senator Slash Slashman

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    Hamilton, NZ
    Members Ride:
    VYII HSV Signature Senator
    Ok so we went into Holden yesterday and they did a check and said that yes there is a bulletin for replacing the display that from time to time blanks out for no reason.

    I asked him to tech II it and he pulled some codes out to do with the braking computer (HVAC issue) something about when the car is cranking the pcm tells the other modules to ignore any faults because battery levels drop etc when starting then it tells them to come back online and read fault codes after the car has started and something else which I forget now.

    He said the display bulletin was for the display only and there were no audio updates issued.

    Its still under new car warranty so hoping they suss it all out.
     
  15. flyjoe180

    flyjoe180 Member

    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Members Ride:
    VE SV6
    What was the fix? My display has died now. I can live without the display in the meantime but it's really frustrating.
     
  16. VE_Driver

    VE_Driver New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Members Ride:
    VE Berlina
    Hi Everyone,

    Mine played up once or twice with not turning on at all. I had it serviced yesterday (45K) at a Holden dealer and told them about the problem, when I picked it up yesterday they told me that they had ordered a new one and they would fit it when it arrived. No questions asked, no hassle. Happy that they didn't poke around, they just decided to get a new one.
     
  17. quincy

    quincy New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pilbara , WA
    Members Ride:
    VE SS Poison Ivy Series 2

    Mine was doing the same thing a couple of years ago , upon taking it to the dealer they did the same and didn't mess around to much just ordered and fitted a new one. Never had the problem occur again since change out.
     
  18. flyjoe180

    flyjoe180 Member

    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Members Ride:
    VE SV6
    I fixed my SV6 center display. Pulled the fuse 7 and found it was dirty. Cleaned it and replaced the fuse, all good now.
     
  19. RiCeY

    RiCeY F O R U M W A R R I O R

    Messages:
    4,126
    Likes Received:
    444
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VZ SV8 6spd 6.0 470rwhp
    lol more than likey you reset the system by removing the fuse, not that a dirty fuse was the issue.
     
  20. flyjoe180

    flyjoe180 Member

    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Members Ride:
    VE SV6
    Either way it works now with no issues, so I am happy.
     

Share This Page