Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Do i need to recalibrate my cluster if i put in HSV 250kmph Speedo dials

shanhsv

Luvo
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
930
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
Muswellbrook, NSW
Members Ride
VSII Calais V6 & VSII Senator 215i
I thinking of buying HSV dials without the whole cluster so would i have to recalibrate the speedo to suit?
 

Pub247

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2006
Messages
3,372
Reaction score
58
Points
48
Location
Melbourne S.E.
Members Ride
Ford Fairmont
No mate no need the cluster itself does the calibration
 

shanhsv

Luvo
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
930
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
Muswellbrook, NSW
Members Ride
VSII Calais V6 & VSII Senator 215i
i wont be using a HSV cluster,it'll just be the dials
 

Pub247

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2006
Messages
3,372
Reaction score
58
Points
48
Location
Melbourne S.E.
Members Ride
Ford Fairmont
yeah thats cool its in the actual speedo unit itself not the cluster. maybe i should have worded my post a little better
 

88GreenVN

Next Exit Left
Joined
Jun 12, 2006
Messages
6,795
Reaction score
135
Points
63
Age
57
Location
Surprise, Arizona
Members Ride
Dodge Ram Van 1500 5.2 V8
The speedo head is different for the 250k speedo in the HSV cluster. Fitting a new dial will not calibrate the speedo.
 

shanhsv

Luvo
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
930
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
Muswellbrook, NSW
Members Ride
VSII Calais V6 & VSII Senator 215i
Ohh ok,how does it work do you know? Sorry to be so anal about it,but i tend to get stuff that people say will fit and work and it doesnt. Ie the bash plate i got recently
 

shanhsv

Luvo
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
930
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
Muswellbrook, NSW
Members Ride
VSII Calais V6 & VSII Senator 215i
The speedo head is different for the 250k speedo in the HSV cluster. Fitting a new dial will not calibrate the speedo.
Didnt think it seemed right but i really dont know much about it. Is it a matter of just changing a cog?
 

88GreenVN

Next Exit Left
Joined
Jun 12, 2006
Messages
6,795
Reaction score
135
Points
63
Age
57
Location
Surprise, Arizona
Members Ride
Dodge Ram Van 1500 5.2 V8
Didnt think it seemed right but i really dont know much about it. Is it a matter of just changing a cog?
The level 3 cluster that has the 250k speedo is very different to the Level 2 speedo. So nope not a simple change the cog deal.

Your best bet is to get a correcter box and reset the speedo using a GPS.
 

shanhsv

Luvo
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
930
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
Muswellbrook, NSW
Members Ride
VSII Calais V6 & VSII Senator 215i
Damn, well i'd better suss it out
hey at $50 for the corrector and $100 for the HSV dials (with blue flames that goe with the car) it still works out heaps cheaper then buying a whole HSV cluster
 
Last edited:

Pub247

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2006
Messages
3,372
Reaction score
58
Points
48
Location
Melbourne S.E.
Members Ride
Ford Fairmont
The speedo head is different for the 250k speedo in the HSV cluster. Fitting a new dial will not calibrate the speedo.
so your saying that you need to change the cog in the gearbox? I thought its was straight swap. Well i feel like a dumb arse now. I know stealthy swapped his i never saw him mention you had to change anything else
 
Top