Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

dodgy cluster

Discussion in 'VR - VS Holden Commodore (1993 - 1997)' started by miker75, Apr 11, 2009.

  1. miker75

    miker75 Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Members Ride:
    VS Statesman SIII 5.0 V8
    The gauges on my VS Statesman are for the most part, reliable...

    But there will be days when I look down and either the tacho or odometer are showing 0... even though I'm driving...or sometimes they'll show the correct speed, but then seem to lose power and drop to 0...

    A couple of swift hits of the dashboard will usually get them right, but I'd like to correct it if I can (note, the speed alert still works perfectly even though the odometer shows 0, so I don't think it's a cable issue).

    I saw someone mention there was a FAQ or something about pulling out the instrument cluster?? If someone could point me in the right direction that would be great.
     
  2. VrWagz1

    VrWagz1 The Wagon on Wheels..

    Messages:
    2,438
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    wollongong
    Members Ride:
    VE SSV MY09 Auto Wagon
    its the first thread as a sticky in the VN-VP section, you'll see it. Its more to do with the feul and temp gauges though i think. But if you think its the cluster, you can pull it out pretty easy and grab another of ebay or somthing for 50-70 bucks and they pull apart real easy with a screwdirver and you can swap out the speedo and tacho.
     
  3. 88GreenVN

    88GreenVN Next Exit Left

    Messages:
    6,792
    Likes Received:
    122
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Location:
    Surprise, Arizona
    Members Ride:
    Dodge Ram Van 1500 5.2 V8
    It will be the regulator behind the speedo and tacho. like in the ^^^ thread above look for a cracked solder joint in the PCB.
     
  4. miker75

    miker75 Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Members Ride:
    VS Statesman SIII 5.0 V8
    Thanks guys... the thread doesn't really explain how to get the cluster out (not that I could see anyway), but everyone seems to say it's easy, so I'll give it a go
     

Share This Page