Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Double din units in a VT, how hard???

B

buzurk

Guest
Hey all i just bought a Pioneer AVH-P6850DVD In Dash Touch Screen Double Din Head Unit with 6 disc dvd stacker blah blah... link here - http://www.pioneer.com.au/productdetails/car_entertainment/Visual/AVHP6850DVD


Anyway, i went to one car audio shop and they were saying with the VT all the front dash comes off, heatcontrols side oanels the lot and a cusomt mbracket made to house double din HUs (not really referreing to the above, more the new JVC one i was gonna get too)

anyhoo, is this true? im sure the pioneer ones come with a cradle i can just pop in the double din hole? and rivet from the sides as i do now with 1 din units

Any assistance as ive seen 1 of 2 vts on here with double din units..

thanks
 

[email protected]

300rwhp supra. yay.
Joined
Apr 26, 2006
Messages
998
Reaction score
9
Points
0
Members Ride
TT Supra/HZ Ute.
VT's have a double din unit stock. Should just be able to slot the pioneer cradle in there. (some adjustment of stock cradel needed. Use hammer.)

As far as I know......
 

[email protected]

300rwhp supra. yay.
Joined
Apr 26, 2006
Messages
998
Reaction score
9
Points
0
Members Ride
TT Supra/HZ Ute.
As I said, might just need some brute force and ignorance to get it in there.

Good luck
 

Patrio7

3Y3 K4N 5P33K 1337.
Joined
Jul 25, 2005
Messages
1,269
Reaction score
25
Points
0
Age
35
Location
Perth, Como
Members Ride
'96 S1 VS Exec
or a dremel with an extender cable [ tip extender ]
 

garfa

New Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
1,937
Reaction score
22
Points
0
Age
34
Location
SE Victoria
Members Ride
VY SS
nah dremals are annoying, the tips get ground down too quick. cordless angle grinder for me!
 

andrewgrazier

New Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2006
Messages
72
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
VT COMMODORE 50th ANNIVERSARY
same here
i gues ill find out soon enoguh
no one here seems to have any pics of when they actually done it
like how much of te dash has to be removed n stuf like that
 

Atreidae

(Was an) Installer
Joined
Oct 4, 2005
Messages
51
Reaction score
5
Points
8
Location
Berwick
Members Ride
2010 VE SIDI
buzurk said:
yes it all does
No, not in a vt

Use the coat hanger trick to remove the headunit
install double din cradle inside stock cradle.

beat the (something) out of it with a hammer to get it flat again.

pop rivet the cage in and grind off the heads
 
Top