Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

DVD screens in fold down mirrors

Discussion in 'VN - VP Holden Commodore (1988 - 1993)' started by SHIFTA, Aug 3, 2006.

  1. SHIFTA

    SHIFTA New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Members Ride:
    VQ Caprice
    Hi guys,

    I am sure there are a couple of threads with the same topic. Im thninking of installing dvd screens on the back fold down mirrors for my VQ Caprice. Also looking for screens on ebay. Any suggestions, tips would be greatly appreciated.

    Cheers,

    SHIFTA
     
  2. lowrida56

    lowrida56 Member

    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VN Calais 5ltr
    i reckon it would be pretty hard to wire them up.. youd probly haveto pull down the entire roof lining
     
  3. SHIFTA

    SHIFTA New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Members Ride:
    VQ Caprice
    I was hopefull it would use pretty much the same voltage as the lights on the mirrors would.
     
  4. hakhawk

    hakhawk smooth moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    104
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Members Ride:
    BMW E21 320i, E36 "318IS" coupe
    you've still gotta run the signal wires. it wont be that hard really, consider getting premade ones, about $250 for a pair off ebay, maybe cheaper even.

    they replace the original ones, no idea how or how good, but then you just run the wire down the front pillar and to power and dvd player.
     
  5. Doctor Sodways

    Doctor Sodways Legendary Baby!

    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Location:
    Behind a Camera...
    Members Ride:
    Slammed VeeDub Rat and a Brunette...
    It is possible to get them from ebay as a complete sunvisor, but you do need to run the signal cables which is the biggest headache. But, they are a much better option to the flip down in the centre of the roof, or the flip out as they cant be seen from the outside of the car. Be prepared to fork out some decent amounts of cash for good quality stuff though.
     
  6. SHIFTA

    SHIFTA New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Members Ride:
    VQ Caprice
    You reckon I'll be able to find dvd screens that will fit in place of the fold down mirrors?
     
  7. lowrida56

    lowrida56 Member

    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VN Calais 5ltr
    no you wont find ones that are a straight replacement for the folddown mirrors.

    they are talking about the ones that replace the front sunvisors not the rear mirrors.
     
  8. Doctor Sodways

    Doctor Sodways Legendary Baby!

    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Location:
    Behind a Camera...
    Members Ride:
    Slammed VeeDub Rat and a Brunette...
    the fold down mirrors in the back, i highly doubt it, about the smallest you can get these days is a 7 inch, maybe 6.5, although JVC are producing a single din cd/dvd/mp3 player with a 3 inch or 3.5 inch screen, if you can find one of those screens you might be able to do it, but seeing as the decks are around the 1k mark, i wouldnt want to be pulling one apart just for the screen
     
  9. whiteknight66

    whiteknight66 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Members Ride:
    VR
    Hey Guys
    Just realised there was a similiar thread running for this very thing ( sorry moderator :)) my two cents thus far is a wood/metal molding made from the template of the original mirror assy....the screens would only require 12 volt and bluetooth versions take over from there...I plan on streaming from a NAS Hard Drive ( also 12v)so far im going with iPhone / i Pad for the interface control...........ie : to select the movie and commence play but a Laptop w/. bluetooth could do it as well ( down the track mini-itx computer could be the go as well???) will keep you all informed as we hit the breakthroughs :) Has anyone thought of something to take up the gap of the old radio controls ???
     
  10. stockies

    stockies Bannana

    Messages:
    1,011
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    S/E Suburbs
    Members Ride:
    G6E Turbo
    Tried doing this, failed. Too damn hard. The problem I ran into wasn't the cable runs, It was as mentioned the actual screens. I found some cheap LED ones from a photo frame worked the best, otherwise its all too thick and you have to modify the fold down piece to be thicker.
    The wiring was fine if you make a patch loom to you roof loom to the screens. Helps to be an expert at soldering tiny things too. I gave up as it was too much effort.
    Pull the roof out to run the cables though, I didn't the first time and had a cable rub on the metal in the roof and kept blowing the power fuse. Had to take the roof lining out to find it.
    I ran Power, Ground, Trigger wire and shielded signal cable for video for mine. Was going to wire them up to come on with a switch, didn't trust the switch on the original mechanism once I'd stuffed with the thing to mount the screen.
    Signal was a 12 volt DVD player I had mounted in the glovebox, via a RCA cable. Audio went to the amp(s)
    Good luck!
     
  11. stockies

    stockies Bannana

    Messages:
    1,011
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    S/E Suburbs
    Members Ride:
    G6E Turbo
    Oh, and make sure there is vent holes for the heat from the screens. I found out the hard way that they are needed...

    If you find a screen that fits, hardest part is identify the wires needed from it for signal and power.
     

Share This Page