Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Dyno Run Gone Wrong?

Discussion in 'Dyno Figures' started by badnerve, Aug 5, 2012.

  1. badnerve

    badnerve New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VP Calais
    Hey,

    I got my VP Calais (Buick 3800) tuned for the second time but got less power than the first time I tuned it with more mods?! SO:

    For tune No. #1:

    Wade 992a Cam, 1.8 YT High Rollers, Mahle Pistons, 2.5k Converter, Lukey Extractors + High Flow Cats + 2 1/2' Exhaust, Custom Rods, 40thou Oversized Rings, 10:1 Comp, Machined and Bored. Stage 2 Shift Kitted Auto - 4L60.

    Power: 142rwkw @ 407nm Torque.

    For tune No. #2:

    Added Twin Throttle Body & 2x Brand New K&N Pods, Bosch Blue Top 775 Injectors 24lb & Freshened Up Motor a Little.

    Power: 129rwkw @ 680nm Torque.

    Has something gone wrong or is one of my mods robbing me of power. Can't work it out?

    EDIT: After the second tune, it sounds a lot more 'droning' on low revs compared to the first one. Pulls very similar though.
     
  2. hakhawk

    hakhawk smooth moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    104
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Members Ride:
    BMW E21 320i, E36 "318IS" coupe
    was the memcal retuned the second time?
     
  3. badnerve

    badnerve New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VP Calais
    No I just had the ECU reflashed. Yes it was re-tuned...
     
  4. yZoH

    yZoH //There Ain't No Rest For The Wicked...

    Messages:
    4,559
    Likes Received:
    98
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Location:
    S/E Subs, Melb
    Members Ride:
    (0.o')
    The dual throttle intake did it... Slap the old manifold back on an get your power back.

    Cheers
    Mat
     
  5. badnerve

    badnerve New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VP Calais
    What makes you say that? Still doesn't make sense as to why I made more Torque and less RWKW?
     
  6. Munz

    Munz Right Foot Action

    Messages:
    2,276
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Location:
    Brisbane NTH
    Members Ride:
    VZ Calais LS1 / VL RB30e daily
    Ambient temp can have an effect on dyno readouts also how they strap it down
    If you had the same mods and dyno'd your car 6 months apart result will be different

    The only way to tell if you've made more/less power is to leave car strapped on the dyno and swap manifold over and re-run it
     
  7. badnerve

    badnerve New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VP Calais
    Well it's not exactly cheap to dyno lol. I pay $800 a run... So i'd rather find the problem before re running it.
     
  8. hakhawk

    hakhawk smooth moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    104
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Members Ride:
    BMW E21 320i, E36 "318IS" coupe
    im guessing you're paying for tuning at the same time. a dyno "run"(where they strap the car down and give it a run to determine power) shouldnt cost you more than $150.

    have you got dynosheets from the last 2 runs, preferably with air/fuel ratios on them?
     
  9. Kiddo

    Kiddo You're serious bro?!

    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    Mitsubishi Colt
    Is this the same dyno each time? Same Gear? Same Tuner?
     
  10. yZoH

    yZoH //There Ain't No Rest For The Wicked...

    Messages:
    4,559
    Likes Received:
    98
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Location:
    S/E Subs, Melb
    Members Ride:
    (0.o')
    Simple "Power Runs" are normally $50-100 for 3 runs. Depending on the workshop.

    Cheers
    Mat
     
  11. IRON8

    IRON8 Let It Rip

    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Location:
    Auckland, West Harbour
    Members Ride:
    'VTank SS , VG/VR Ute
    Those figures arnt right, it would make more sence if it said 129rwkw @ 380nm. 129rwkw @ 680nm is like the results of a 4L diesel turbo. Thats massive torque.
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2012
  12. Cava454

    Cava454 Member

    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Location:
    Box
    Members Ride:
    VR SS, VZ SS
    It's a dyno. It's a tuning tool and nothing more.

    The black strip never lies. $800 each time u go on the dyno. Ur getting ripped.

    It's only a touch up of the tune. Not another full tune. U shouldn't be paying that much.

    Off note I have to laugh. All this money dropped into a Buick and ur making on par what a stock 304 makes.
     
  13. ari666

    ari666 250,000 hits

    Messages:
    11,828
    Likes Received:
    115
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Location:
    melbourne
    Members Ride:
    1966 impala, R32 GTR
    useless figures are useless.

    without the RPM of each result you are looking at random numbers you cant do anything with.

    where is your chart?

    just for shits n gigs i googled the magic number for KW which is 9550. i must remember that for the future, since all you kiddies work in KWs and not HP.

    soooo:
    Power (kW) = Torque (N.m) x Speed (RPM) / 9550

    if you got 680NM and 129KWs that means your peak torque reading was at 1811rpm. so what you have effectively done by your additional mods is kill off top end torque. your original reading of 142kw and 407nm happened at at 3333RPM.

    my suggestion is to kill off the twin throt because its looking like it wont flow past 2000rpm, its probably a bling bling piece of **** that belongs in the bin anyway. normally adding things like pod filters and gay arse twin throts kill off low and mid for a little bit more rpm, but it looks like yours has been killed off so badly down low that it cant climb up the rpm range and thus your **** power figure.

    remember kids, there is no such thing as KW, its an imaginary number, there is only torque.

    *another note, your stall converter will show a slightly lower reading to a standard torque converter, im not sure why exactly, but it just does.
     
  14. AirStrike

    AirStrike Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    8,158
    Likes Received:
    94
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    91' VN SS
    Need to see the sheets to compare AT, IT, what gear was used, what mode the dyno was set in, etc
     
  15. IRON8

    IRON8 Let It Rip

    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Location:
    Auckland, West Harbour
    Members Ride:
    'VTank SS , VG/VR Ute
    HAHAHA Bling Bling piece of **** !!!! We deal in HP here in NZ, its Aussie lingo KW's. So he's reading his peak torque not hp ?
     
  16. ari666

    ari666 250,000 hits

    Messages:
    11,828
    Likes Received:
    115
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Location:
    melbourne
    Members Ride:
    1966 impala, R32 GTR
  17. ari666

    ari666 250,000 hits

    Messages:
    11,828
    Likes Received:
    115
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Location:
    melbourne
    Members Ride:
    1966 impala, R32 GTR
  18. IRON8

    IRON8 Let It Rip

    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Location:
    Auckland, West Harbour
    Members Ride:
    'VTank SS , VG/VR Ute
    oh ok learn something new every day
     
  19. ari666

    ari666 250,000 hits

    Messages:
    11,828
    Likes Received:
    115
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Location:
    melbourne
    Members Ride:
    1966 impala, R32 GTR
    and to delive a little deeper into the confines of scary mathematics. the reason i say "there is no such thing as KW, there is only torque" is because without NM, KWs cant exist. see, NM is the only real measure of force used on a dyno. kw is a calulation based on the force generated.

    here is what wikipedia has to say:
    A newton metre is a unit of torque (also called "moment") in the SI system. The symbolic form is N m or N·m,[1] and sometimes hyphenated newton-metre. One newton metre is equal to the torque resulting from a force of one newton applied perpendicularly to a moment arm which is one metre long.

    and a fancy little picture:
    [​IMG]

    so your wheels rotate the dyno rollers, the rollers measure the force applied to the rollers to get an NM reading, because they are linked to the ECU or dizzy they also take an RPM reading at the same time and spit out that magical non-existant KW number. which (as cava454 has already mentioned wisely) makes FK all difference to anything in real terms, other than bragging rights to a higher or lower number on a piece of paper.

    the fastest car is the one that crosses the line first
     
  20. IRON8

    IRON8 Let It Rip

    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Location:
    Auckland, West Harbour
    Members Ride:
    'VTank SS , VG/VR Ute

Share This Page