Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Ecotec Intake Manifold!

YRUHATIN

Reaction score
Members Ride
HSV VZ Clubsport - VB SLE 5L - VH SL V8 - VS Stato
Hi everyone!

I am no mechanic but I like to take on a mechanical challenge every now and then.

I have recently purchased a clean VS Statesman (Series 2 im pretty sure off the top of my head) with 500xxx kms. The engine that was in it had a broken roller on one of the lifters and cause cam damage and lifter bore damage. So I decided it would be a good idea to replace the motor, as it is cheaper and easier. So I found a series 2 VT with a healthy motor which I purchased and pulled the motor from.

I changed most of the gaskets on the engine, along with the intake manifold gaskets that sit on the heads and I made sure i put that gasket sealant stuff on the corners. Now when I cleaned up the manifold I noticed a rust hole in the manifold, so i decided to use the vs manifold instead. After I ran the motor for a couple of minutes, I noticed that the engine oil had gone really milky.

I know that I got the correct gaskets for the engine because the parts store needed my engine number to make sure that they gave me the correct one so thats not the issue. However, I have spoken to a mechanic and have looked on the forums and I have come to the conclusion that the vs and the vt manifolds are different. The mechanic reckons that is why it is getting coolant in the oil.

Now I have a couple of questions that I need answers to because after searching for the past week, I havent been able to find anything on the internet.

Question 1: Would I be getting coolant in the oil because of the VS manifold on the VT engine?