Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

[General] Ecotec Power steering Pump Replacement

edals

Reaction score
Members Ride
-
This is a How to on changing a Power steering pump on a VY Ecotec.
Note i am no mechanic, Anything you attempt your self i will NOT be responsible for, this is just a guide to help you through the process & Give you a idea whats involved.
https://forums.justcommodores.com.au/threads/read-before-attempting-any-below.3906

What you need.
New Power steering Pump.
Dex lll Transmission oil
New O Ring. Not sure on the size i had a pile laying around.
Socket set
Spanner set.
Screw Drivers for Hose Clamps.

Here we go.

Open Bonnet

Find Power steering pump here.
thumb_IMG_0152_1024.jpg

thumb_IMG_0152_1024.jpg" alt="thumb_IMG_0152_1024" border="0">

Loosen Bolts for the Pump pulley plate.
thumb_IMG_0153_1024.jpg

Remove Belt Shown Here.
thumb_IMG_0154_1024.jpg

Now Remove Bolts & Pulley Plate.
thumb_IMG_0155_1024.jpg

Here is the Power steering pump, Ewwies
thumb_IMG_0157_1024.jpg

Loosen Lower pressure Hose Clamp
thumb_IMG_0158_1024.jpg

Have a Container to catch the fluid shown here.
thumb_IMG_0160_1024.jpg

Now Pull the hose off and drain fluid.
thumb_IMG_0161_1024.jpg

Now Remove the 2 Mounting bolts shown here. Take note they are both different
thumb_IMG_0162_1024.jpg

Im Not sure if its possible to do this on other ecotecs, But move the Pump to the Side, Here you will find the High Pressure hose.
Word of warning though, This was a ultra B***H hose to remove, Its extremely tight ! I lost count on the amount of (- F(*#$*^%*(&$@*&)()%#!!!! - ) that were involved. In the End i had to get my father in-law to help, even then took us a good hour with power bars and vice grips. You may need to remove the Top radiator hose to give you more space.
thumb_IMG_0163_1024.jpg