Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Ecotec to VN/VP

yZoH

//There Ain't No Rest For The Wicked...
Joined
Jul 5, 2004
Messages
4,559
Reaction score
101
Points
63
Location
S/E Subs, Melb
Website
www.lolwut.com
Members Ride
(0.o')
Conversion:

What You’ll need to fit to the ECOTEC Motor from a VN/VP Motor:
  • VN/VP 5ltr Kick down Cable
  • VN/VP MAT Sensor
  • VN/VP Coolant Temp Sensor
  • VN/VP IAC
  • VN/VP TPS
  • VN/VP Knock Sensors
  • VN/VP Oil Pressure Sensor
  • VN/VP Lower Radiator Hose


Other things needed:

  • VS Brake Vacuum Hose
  • VS Upper Radiator Hose
  • VS P/Steering Reservoir
  • VS Accelerator Cable
  • VS Intake Pipe



  • To fit the MAT sensor to the ECOTEC Plenum, You will need a `14x1.5 Tap` Acquirable from most metal work places. I used that and tapped it to the Driver side center of the intake manifold


  • The coolant temp sensor on the ECOTEC is on the front of the engine just under the thermostat. The ECOTEC uses a 3/8 npt thread where the BUICK is an 8mm metric thread. To overcome this in my car I have drilled & tapped a 3/8 to 1/8 reducing bush & used as an adaptor.


  • The fuel lines on the ECOTEC are designed to clip on the steel fuel lines, however the earlier model cars don’t have the right connections & there is a bit of messing around to get them fitted. While the main pressure line will take a 5/16 fuel line when it is disconnected from the rail end, the return line is smaller. You will need to leave the nylon inner on the barb on this one & push the 5/16 return line over it.

Aswell you may need to get a tune, It runs quite well on the VN's memcal ATFY but on the VP memcal, Don't remember the letters it should run better because it does not have as advanced timing because the ECOTEC runs more timing anyway.



From those few steps, Everything apart from that is pretty straight forward.

You can get a Custom Y-Piece made up to go from the Manifolds/Extractors to Your Cat back exhaust for $100-$150.

If I have forgotten anything that anyone need's to know, Please let me know...

EDIT:
WIll be Including any pictures I took while doing the conversion ASAP

Cheers
MaT


P.S- Now if anyone comments that mine does not run right I'd like you to prove it. People have asked how to run it like this, I'm just stating it.

Pic 1 = Tapping of the Inlet Manifold

Pic 2 = Before with VN V6

Pic 3 = After Finished Conversion
 

Attachments

Last edited:

JD

Donating Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2006
Messages
1,716
Reaction score
25
Points
0
Age
33
Location
Deep South, SA
Website
www.ccgm.au.tt
Members Ride
1.6L Turbo Holden Croooooooooooze
how about that gas incident you posted up under general? ( jks )

but on a serious note this should be a sticky!
 

1vngal

New Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2006
Messages
1,682
Reaction score
25
Points
0
Age
33
Location
North Tassie
Members Ride
'Ruby' 1991 VN Exec & '98 Proton M21 Coupe
Or in the how to section :p
 

yZoH

//There Ain't No Rest For The Wicked...
Joined
Jul 5, 2004
Messages
4,559
Reaction score
101
Points
63
Location
S/E Subs, Melb
Website
www.lolwut.com
Members Ride
(0.o')
I'd suggest leave it here for a few days so the people needing can view it, then it be moved and/or stickied. That way I can keep adding to it.

Cheers
MaT
 

Matt_vp

Donating Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2006
Messages
651
Reaction score
9
Points
18
Age
38
Location
Gladstone Qld
Members Ride
vy lumina v6 A4
good write up mate, thanks i've been thinking about doing this conversion for a while.
Matt
 

Shortstuff

Random
Joined
May 22, 2006
Messages
692
Reaction score
6
Points
0
Location
Melbourne
Members Ride
2016 Golf GTI PP
You used all the original sensors off the Buick V6, so does that mean there was very little mucking about with the wiring? Just extending of some parts of the original loom?

Also have you got any pics of the fuel lines where the VN stuff meets the Ecotec stuff?
 

yZoH

//There Ain't No Rest For The Wicked...
Joined
Jul 5, 2004
Messages
4,559
Reaction score
101
Points
63
Location
S/E Subs, Melb
Website
www.lolwut.com
Members Ride
(0.o')
You used all the original sensors off the Buick V6, so does that mean there was very little mucking about with the wiring? Just extending of some parts of the original loom?
Correct, All the original sensors must be used because all the VS-VY ECOTEC sensors output different voltages/signals meaning the VN/VP's DELCO 808 ECU will not log it, Causing it to run incorrectly.

Cheers
MaT
 

Shortstuff

Random
Joined
May 22, 2006
Messages
692
Reaction score
6
Points
0
Location
Melbourne
Members Ride
2016 Golf GTI PP
Ok. Thanks! Looks like the engine in mine has had it so I might have a look at doing this.
 

fitzy2005

New Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
1,971
Reaction score
11
Points
0
Location
Wide Bay, Queensland
Members Ride
VY S2 Berlina
did you have to change your exhauts manifolds to suit the ecotec?
 
Top