Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Electric Aerial

Discussion in 'VN - VP Holden Commodore (1988 - 1993)' started by kasey375, Jul 31, 2006.

  1. kasey375

    kasey375 New Member

    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Location:
    Warracknabeal
    Members Ride:
    vt calais 383
    Hi, I have no electric aerail in my can and i have put all the calais dash buttons in my car ( cruze ect ). I have been told i will have to put a electric earial module in as well, does any one know if that will just plug into my car or will there be more to it than that?
    thanks.
     
  2. 1991_Vn2nV

    1991_Vn2nV New Member

    Messages:
    8,718
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    Gumeracha, Adelaide Hills
    Members Ride:
    91 VN Berlina & 03 VY Berlina
    Dont bother with the module. They often stuff up and then the aerial goes straight back down again... wont stay up.

    Also aftermarket aerials arent compatible with the VN module anyway, so you would need a genuine aerial... Grab an Aerpro aerial for less.

    Wire the aerial straight to the radio... When the radio is turned on, aerial goes up, radio is off, aerial goes down. But yeah the buttons wont work on your console to put it up and down, but they wont work proprerly with an aftermarket aerial anyway as I said before.

    But if you really want it to work...Genuine aerials are like $160 or something (Aftermarket Aerpro ones are between $90 and $99)

    Aerial modules you're lookin at $40-$50 from a wreckers or spare parts place normally. The wiring should be there already, it should be able to be plugged in inside your passenger side kick panel and up next to the glove box... Just a matter of locating the plug.
     
  3. Snotty

    Snotty New Member

    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    Location:
    the shire!
    Members Ride:
    VR Berlina auto s2
    yeah, my module was buggered, started acting all weird.

    So i just ray 12V to the switched and then to the aerial, totally bypassing the module

    works just fine.
     
  4. kasey375

    kasey375 New Member

    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Location:
    Warracknabeal
    Members Ride:
    vt calais 383
    Y will the aerpro ones not work with the modules?
     
  5. 1991_Vn2nV

    1991_Vn2nV New Member

    Messages:
    8,718
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    Gumeracha, Adelaide Hills
    Members Ride:
    91 VN Berlina & 03 VY Berlina
    They're not a 100% perfect design as they cover more than 1 model so compatibility with the module is not perfect. They work with some model modules, not sure what ones. That 1 design is to suit VN/VP/VR/VS I think it is, and so it covers several different modules for those series. There were 2 or 3 different modules just for the VN. So the aerial works with some, not with others as there are differences in the modules. Doesnt work in any of the VN ones and I dont think it works for the VP ones either. Not sure about VR/VS.

    What will happen is it will be the same as having a faulty module. The aerial will go straight back down when you press for it to go up... as soon as u let go of the up button it will come down again. Same thing will happen when u start the car... It'll go up then straight back down.

    It does work sometimes. Maybe 2/10 times when you start the car it will work as it should. Seems to work more often when its cold outside, not sure why.
     
  6. CSL

    CSL Member

    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Members Ride:
    missus (in more ways than one)
    funny that. my car is a s2 executive, but on the dash i ahve the antenna buttons, and i can hear it click when i do it, but nothing, how do i get into the gaurd to **** with the aerial and get it working again?? cheers
     
  7. fazz1977

    fazz1977 myspace.com/fazz_himself

    Messages:
    686
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Location:
    Frankghanistan, Melbourne, VIC
    Members Ride:
    1992 VP Executive Wagon, L27 V6 3800
    Some prick snapped off my aerial so I disconnected it from the wiring and the stub just sits there. The motor still works a treat, just no aerial. You can get replacement centres and bands for not much. Might do that, but I'm told the guard has to come off to replace it.
     
  8. fu2

    fu2 The Man With No Name

    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VP Berlina II - GU Patrol CRD
    you can go from underneath by taking off the will and mud mold
     
  9. 1991_Vn2nV

    1991_Vn2nV New Member

    Messages:
    8,718
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    Gumeracha, Adelaide Hills
    Members Ride:
    91 VN Berlina & 03 VY Berlina
    Its like $30 to replace the aerial mast... If ya dont wanna do it yourself just get JB Hi-Fi to do it... For probably $40 all up.
     
  10. 1991_Vn2nV

    1991_Vn2nV New Member

    Messages:
    8,718
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    Gumeracha, Adelaide Hills
    Members Ride:
    91 VN Berlina & 03 VY Berlina
    Yeah either remove the guard, or the mud flap thing inside the wheel arch. If you can hear it click and it doesnt move at all, then its not the module or switches playing up. Either the wirings been cut before the aerial, or the aerial itself is completely stuffed, but normally when the motor has gone it still makes an awful noise trying to put the aerial up again...
     
  11. fazz1977

    fazz1977 myspace.com/fazz_himself

    Messages:
    686
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Location:
    Frankghanistan, Melbourne, VIC
    Members Ride:
    1992 VP Executive Wagon, L27 V6 3800
    Cheers guys.
     

Share This Page