Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Elexctric window wiring for VX sedan and VU Ute

EXCESSV

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
1,015
Reaction score
11
Points
0
Age
37
Location
Perth, WA
Members Ride
VE SSV
Hi all,

need some info for a couple of my friends.
one has a VU ute and the other a VX sedan.
none of them has the wiring harness in it near the gear lever.
basically i need the pin out configuration for original wiring of the windows
ute (2 door wiring obvioulsy) and sedan (4 door wiring).

has anyone done this and if so how did you do it?
or has anyone got a wiring diagram for this??

Thanks in advance.

Dean
 

gogoboygareth

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2004
Messages
215
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
42
Location
Melbourne
Members Ride
VXII Commodore Exec
Is the plug actually located there, or is it a little bit further back?

Around three years ago (not long after I bought my '02 VX Exec - I bought it near new), I pulled apart the area around the gearstick to sort out an annoying squeeking sound.

Between the seats is that big storage unit "thing" - the thing with air vents attached at the back. I pulled the entire thing out, as well as the gearstick surrounds.

I found the little mobile phone wiring (left of the geastick), but underneath the big storage unit I found an electrical plug.

Is that for the electric windows?

One day I do plan to install electric windows into my Exec, but only if the wiring is already there...

- Gareth
 

calaiscruiser76

New Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2006
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
VS STATESMAN - VK GROUP A/3 Replica (Project)
Do you know if the plug would be there for the VT Series 1???

Many Thanks
 

accentstencil

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2005
Messages
8,273
Reaction score
469
Points
83
Age
69
Location
Eschol Park, Sydney
Members Ride
WH II Caprice, 5.7 2018 Equinox LTZ V
Do you know if the plug would be there for the VT Series 1???

Many Thanks
The plug was there on my VT series 1 Acclaim. I just put electric windows in 2 weeks ago. I needed to buy the door looms though.
 

calaiscruiser76

New Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2006
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
VS STATESMAN - VK GROUP A/3 Replica (Project)
The plug was there on my VT series 1 Acclaim. I just put electric windows in 2 weeks ago. I needed to buy the door looms though.
I lifted the shifter surround and could only see 2 yellow looms?? Do you think the little sucker may be hiding under there???

Thanks,:thumbsup:
 

accentstencil

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2005
Messages
8,273
Reaction score
469
Points
83
Age
69
Location
Eschol Park, Sydney
Members Ride
WH II Caprice, 5.7 2018 Equinox LTZ V
It's a big plug , mine was just sitting there, I didn't have to search for it. You can also check where the power window relays and fuse go, if you can see the connectors in there and they are not just empty holes, you should be wired up.
 

Torquative

Sports Economy
Joined
Jun 21, 2005
Messages
1,584
Reaction score
16
Points
38
Location
Sydney
Members Ride
VE SV6 3.6L SIDI 6sp
im after a wiring diagram or pinouts too (for 4 door) because I want to hook my aftermarket electric window kit up to genuine switch pack.

My VX has the switch packs wiring harness (plug) there under the gear knob, not that it'll matter if Ive got the pins for the relay or not because I wont be using it, but I need pinouts or a wiring diagram so I can wire up the switchpack to my window kit so I dont have to use theres!
 

accentstencil

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2005
Messages
8,273
Reaction score
469
Points
83
Age
69
Location
Eschol Park, Sydney
Members Ride
WH II Caprice, 5.7 2018 Equinox LTZ V
im after a wiring diagram or pinouts too (for 4 door) because I want to hook my aftermarket electric window kit up to genuine switch pack.

My VX has the switch packs wiring harness (plug) there under the gear knob, not that it'll matter if Ive got the pins for the relay or not because I wont be using it, but I need pinouts or a wiring diagram so I can wire up the switchpack to my window kit so I dont have to use theres!
Why don't you use the existing relays and replace the door looms for ones for power windows and just hook them up to you new regulator motors? That way you BCM controls the windows.
 

mjm4676

New Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
34
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
45
Location
Lennox Head NSW
Members Ride
VE SS Ute, 94 Swift Cino
I will have a look on Monday at work and see if i can geta wiring diagram for both the 2 door and 4 door, then if i can post it i will, if not may have to email it.
Mick
 

EXCESSV

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
1,015
Reaction score
11
Points
0
Age
37
Location
Perth, WA
Members Ride
VE SSV
I will have a look on Monday at work and see if i can geta wiring diagram for both the 2 door and 4 door, then if i can post it i will, if not may have to email it.
Mick
its all good champ...my mate found someone who knew how to do it.
 
Top