Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Engine Build

Discussion in 'VY Holden Commodore (2002 - 2004)' started by DeathSammich, Sep 17, 2018.

  1. DeathSammich

    DeathSammich Member

    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Location:
    Hobart, Tasmania
    Members Ride:
    VT Berlina S1
    Hey, just wondering if doing a rebuild when is a cylinder bore necessary? And if a bore has to be done say 20 or 30 thou over, If using OEM oversized pistons is a tune required? Or is the oversizing negligible? The engine has 256xxxks in it and am not sure whether to hone it myself and re ring or take it to get rebooted and whether it would even be worth it. Was hoping to keep everything together and just remove the pistons. Cheers
     
  2. Pollushon

    Pollushon Boost gives me a bar....

    Messages:
    2,061
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Location:
    Canberra
    Members Ride:
    VY SS
    You'd bore for a couple of reasons; performance or if the cylinder walls are damaged beyond what a hone can smooth.

    If you bore you will need suitable pistons. A retune isn't mandatory but I certainly would get it touched up.
     
  3. vr304

    vr304 Active Member

    Messages:
    851
    Likes Received:
    118
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Members Ride:
    2007 ssv manual
    Really depends on what condition the bores are in as to wether it needs a reborn or not, u won’t know until you pull it apart
     
  4. DeathSammich

    DeathSammich Member

    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Location:
    Hobart, Tasmania
    Members Ride:
    VT Berlina S1
    And I'm guessing if it would like a rebore but you just hone it and put new rings in it itll just make things worse?
     
  5. Deuce

    Deuce Super Stock

    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    243
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Location:
    Meremere Dragway (as often as possible)
    Members Ride:
    '94 VR SS V8
    Possibly yes.
    Maybe line up pistons and then see what machinist advises. Then purchase if required.
     
    DeathSammich likes this.
  6. immortality

    immortality Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,856
    Likes Received:
    1,341
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Sth Auck, NZ
    Members Ride:
    HSV VS Senator, VX s2 Calais S/C
    There is an optimum piston to bore clearance, go much bigger and the engine will get noisy from the pistons rocking in the bores. If the bores are straight and not damaged or worn out in any way then a quick hone to deglaze is fine with standard type rings.
     
    DeathSammich likes this.
  7. gtrboyy

    gtrboyy Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Members Ride:
    vt ss & lc gtr
    Won't know untill you take heads off to look at bores.

    If pitted or scoring marks visible mostly likely rebore needed

    If can still see cross hatch from factory hone job or bore is glazed but minimal wear then might get away with honing & put back together after measuring wear.

    Do dry & wet compression test beforehand to identify any cylinders to look out for & if smokey work out if rings,headgasket or whatever to save time later on.

    Also before pop pistons out grab razor blade scrape carbon off top of bore so ringlands or bore dont get damaged.

    What engine is it?
    Sometimes better to build a good spare or swap it out then build your own...keeps car mobile & less rush or stress
     
  8. DeathSammich

    DeathSammich Member

    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Location:
    Hobart, Tasmania
    Members Ride:
    VT Berlina S1
    Ahhh might explain the knock retard I was getting on my old l67 I had with forged pistons. There was massive clearence, could probably fit a knife down in. So if I were to rebuild it even with oversize pistons it will run off the stock memcal?
     
  9. DeathSammich

    DeathSammich Member

    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Location:
    Hobart, Tasmania
    Members Ride:
    VT Berlina S1
    Okay thanks! It's an l67. It would be easier to swap but getting a hold of an l67 is hard in tas and quite pricey
     
  10. EYY

    EYY Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,926
    Likes Received:
    518
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Location:
    Vic
    Members Ride:
    VS Statesman
    Just use an ecotec bottom end and get the tune right.
     
  11. DeathSammich

    DeathSammich Member

    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Location:
    Hobart, Tasmania
    Members Ride:
    VT Berlina S1
    No one in tas wants to tune a v6 unless you go all out and buy a haltech :/
     
  12. losh1971

    losh1971 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,516
    Likes Received:
    666
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Location:
    North Tas
    Members Ride:
    VR Ute V6
    strange i was told by two places they would dyno tune my Buick. I said all i am after is a couple of runs.
     
  13. DeathSammich

    DeathSammich Member

    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Location:
    Hobart, Tasmania
    Members Ride:
    VT Berlina S1
    Where abouts? And with what ecu
     

Share This Page