Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Engine Diagnostics - VX issue

Discussion in 'Envyous Customs' started by Wozza, Oct 22, 2017.

  1. Wozza

    Wozza Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VR_GS commodore
    Hi having an issue with a V6 series1 vx stalling at random times.
    Ive replaced the DFI and coil pack, cleaned the harness plug..... Using engine diag software im still getting a Electronic Spark Timing Circuit (EST) error and a B27 B6 Unknown error...any idea what the unknown error is ???
    Thanks in advance
    Wozza
     
  2. immortality

    immortality Can't live without smoky bacon! Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,089
    Likes Received:
    3,118
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Sth Auck, NZ
    Members Ride:
    HSV VS Senator, VX s2 Calais S/C
    Check the plug for the CAS, remove and make sure it's clean inside and have a good look at the wiring loom between the CAS and DFI module.
     
    VT2Commie likes this.
  3. TazzI

    TazzI Envyous Customs

    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    347
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Members Ride:
    Holden VE SS Ute
    Im assuming you mean B12B6?
    The fault code 'B12B6' is not a standard Holden fault naming, it means Byte12 Bit 6 in the land of programmers. It simply lets me know what the software picked up. So don't bother googling it as its its a custom defined fault code defined in the software.
    Think of it like the software indicating which light switch is turned "on", where every light switch is a fault code.

    I simulated that specific fault through Holdens factory tool, and it does not register it as any known fault (As also confirmed with my original reverse engineering documentation).

    Anyway, in saying the above, I think (Not confirmed!!!!) that the fault is: "Manual Transmission Vehicle Speed Sensor Failure".
    Iv come to this conclusion from the comparison on various vehicles, ECUs and piecing together other documentation, but theres no way of validating that without actually having that fault in car.

    Let me know how you get on!
     
    Fu Manchu likes this.
  4. Wozza

    Wozza Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VR_GS commodore
    Immortality done most of that...this ones driving me nuts :) sometimes you riggle the plug/harness and it stalls, other times it drives for a few hrs then cuts out,then it will start right away, other times it wont start at all....ahhhhhg!!!!
    Tazzi pretty sure the code in OP was right but Im a tad dyslexic so its possible...think the code is being set when the car is at speed and cuts out whilst still in gear(oh and its an auto)
    Thanks to both of you for the help and input, it is greatly appreciated
     
  5. immortality

    immortality Can't live without smoky bacon! Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,089
    Likes Received:
    3,118
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Sth Auck, NZ
    Members Ride:
    HSV VS Senator, VX s2 Calais S/C
    A work mates are was cutting out randomly and the problem was traced to oil in the CAS plug.

    Wriggling the harness and it stalling would suggest there is an intermittent fault in that area somewhere. It might pay to get a replacement bit for that part of the loom if you have the ability to unpin the dfi module plug.
     
  6. Wozza

    Wozza Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VR_GS commodore
    If it comes to that Ill prob send it off to an auto electrician....Im starting to wonder if the code 42 is a red herring..
    Missus called the RAA out and thats what he said it was..he cleaned it and the car started but it seamed to get worse from that point...if his removing/cleaning had disturbed the plug/dfi connection then maybe the whole dfi change/plug wiggling/ car dying thing was a separate issue..
    Anyway this morning I pulled the plug and used a tiny file and contact cleaner on the white and black/tan pins missus said it got her to work today no issues, but it did that on fri and died on the way home....Meh might pop down and grab a CAS, as its the only other thing I can think off that acts like this
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2017
  7. VS_Pete

    VS_Pete Donating Member

    Messages:
    4,514
    Likes Received:
    10,153
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VE II SV6 MY12 SPORTWAGON
    One night My VS stalled at 60klms/HR put it in neutral started and got no code.
    A guy from another forum had a Tec drove his car to and from work with Tect2 connected on the last day it stalled and got a code cas.
    So it didn`t store a code.
    After reading his story I just changed the CAS and been right every since.
    May not be the same as your problem but.
    Good Luck Mate
     
  8. immortality

    immortality Can't live without smoky bacon! Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,089
    Likes Received:
    3,118
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Sth Auck, NZ
    Members Ride:
    HSV VS Senator, VX s2 Calais S/C
    I bought a genuine CAS to have as a spare over a decade ago and I've not had to ever replace a CAS on a V6 commodore since it's been on the shelf in my garage :)
     
    VS_Pete likes this.
  9. Wozza

    Wozza Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VR_GS commodore
    hehe Thanks Guys, I went out and got a CAS today.... and guess what? the car went without a hitch all day....
    Im still not convinced its fixed...but will abide by Murphy's law If you have the part you wont need it ;)
     
    krusing and immortality like this.
  10. Davo_vx

    Davo_vx Member

    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Location:
    laidley
    Members Ride:
    vx executive s2
    Bit of thread dig here but did you every figure out what this b27 b6 code is wozza I have the same code and the car playing up something shocking.
     
  11. Wozza

    Wozza Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VR_GS commodore
    No ...but my theory is it gets flagged every time the car stalled whilst in motion and in gear....
    I ended up cleaning all the dfi module pins and sockets same with the cas, the car was fine up till it was rear ended and written off in late 2018
     
  12. Davo_vx

    Davo_vx Member

    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Location:
    laidley
    Members Ride:
    vx executive s2
    Mine turned out to be the crank angle sensor code but had to update software to read the code. It's running again but I have a vibration in the car that seems to be getting worse and have exhausted all avenues trying to fix. Starting to wonder if it's the balancer. Funny thing i got rear ended start of 2019 and my old vx was written off.
     
  13. krusing

    krusing Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,319
    Likes Received:
    498
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Location:
    Bayside Melbourne 3193
    Members Ride:
    2002 VY L67 Calais Sedan, 2012 VE L77 Calais Wagon
    I did the same, and its still sitting there.
     
  14. krusing

    krusing Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,319
    Likes Received:
    498
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Location:
    Bayside Melbourne 3193
    Members Ride:
    2002 VY L67 Calais Sedan, 2012 VE L77 Calais Wagon
    Totally agree,
    "If you have the part you wont need it"
     
  15. VT2Commie

    VT2Commie Active Member

    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    85
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Location:
    WA
    Members Ride:
    VT2 Clubsport R8
    I would suggest the issue is the DFI harness plug terminal tension if all other components have checked ok.

    Very painfull time consuming job. whats needed is each and every wire terminal has to be checked and if terminal tension is loose, released/backed out of the DFI connector, the terminal contact VERY carefully pushed with a tiny small tool (needle/pin) so as it make proper contact with the DFI module terminal.

    Though, even this may not completely rectify the issue as the terminal retention clips in the actual engine harness DFI plug could be worn from plugging and unplugging of this connector.

    Ideally you need a new DFI harness connector pigtail.

    They are still available.
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2020

Share This Page