Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Engine Oil Cooler - Is more oil needed?

3onTree

Donating Member
Reaction score
Members Ride
SSV Redline Sportswagon
i have been running a Harrop engine oil cooler for a few years now and all is well (car sees a bit motorsport duties). With the installation of the additional curcuit, the oil system is theoretically now a higher overall volume (the oil in the oil cooler circuit lines plus the heat exchanger). Should i be running a bit more engine oil volume? In my recent oil change ive added a bit more oil than usual (about 4 mm above top dipstick full indicator). Ive checked for any sign of oil crank aeration and all seems normal. Lifters seem completely quiet now too. Got me thinking that maybe i should run more oil since adding the external cooler. Does anyone else run 7 plus litres of oil in their LS?

greenacc

Searching for the billion
Reaction score
Members Ride
VE Berlina
You should be going by the dipstick unless the LS is different to all other cars. There will be extra oil in the pipes and cooler but that would only need to be replaced if it gets drained out.
Surely the oil won't drain out of the cooler every time the engine is switched off, so there should be no need to run a higher level just because you have a cooler attached.

3onTree

Donating Member
Reaction score
Members Ride
SSV Redline Sportswagon