Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Engine oil life

PTRSEN

Reaction score
Members Ride
VE SIDI SV6 UTE
took the ute to holden a few weeks ago for its 15000K service. checked the engine oil life on engineering mode before hand and it was at 7%, so obviously needed changing. picked the car up and it was still at 7% but i thought it might take abit of driving for the computer to register the change. so its been two weeks and its now down to 3%. i'm no mechanic but i checked the dipstick and it looks like fairly new oil (i think) and it says on service report oil change. so why isnt it registering on the computer?

greenacc

Searching for the billion
Reaction score
Members Ride
VE Berlina
The oil life counter should be reset by the mechanic, yours obviously didn't bother. They think you don't know about engineering mode so they don't bother to reset the oil life thinking you won't notice. You can relax though as they would have still changed the oil. Your best bet is google it, how to reset oil life, its similar to resetting service reminder, very easy, so easy i'd expect better from Holden. Restet it yourself and you're away.

lease1

Reaction score
Members Ride
SSV Ute
To reset engine oil life in engineering mode, turn ignition so the reds are on, dont start it, and press accelerator three times quickly. Oil life will be reset to 99%

jdodd

Reaction score
Members Ride
Vn Berlina