Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Engine Shudder At 1500RPM During Climb

kobe_2104

Reaction score
Members Ride
VZ Wagon
Hi guys,

I'm new to Just Commodores (kind of) and I've been scouring the forums for an answer to this but they seems so varied. So here's my problem:

For a while now the car has been sending an awful shudder through the car when hitting around 1500-1700RPM when under a little stress (like going up a hill) in 4th gear. I have to drop a gear, stick the foot in and away I go. I've started running V-Power fuel and running with the Power Gear button on which has helped it a fair bit, but it still does happen. The other thing I've noticed is that I am slowly losing oil (drains after about 4-6 months) which seems to be coming out of the exhaust (if the black marks in my garage are any idea)).

A "mechanic" from a tyre fitting place told me it's a catalytic converter, and once one goes, they all start to go so it would cost around $800 to get all of them done (2 or 4??). Screw that, I want to start doing services myself as it seems everytime I give my car to a mechanic, it comes back worse than when I gave it to them (the last one came back with a warped rotor (which will be in a separate post)).

I've never been overly mechanical but want to learn and am keen as punch after watching Discovery Turbo almost 4 hours a day! :yeah:

So does anybody have some thoughts as to what it may be? And if so, where's the best place to get parts (i.e. would Bursons have the parts I need as a family member gets discounts through there).

Thanks all,
Matt

SavVYute

Reaction score
Members Ride
VY S V6 Ute Series II 2004