Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Extra Menu with car details

Discussion in 'VY Holden Commodore (2002 - 2004)' started by maxy0987, Sep 25, 2005.

  1. maxy0987

    maxy0987 New Member

    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Location:
    Vic
    Members Ride:
    VY Exec S2
    Hi guys,

    Im not sure if everyone/anyone knows this but i was told today there is an extra menu on the VY (and i guess the VZ as well).

    (note: this isnt the same menu you see when you hold 'mode' and turn the key)......


    You hold 'MODE' and 'SET' while turning the ignition


    This tells you things like your cars engine temp, feul remaining in L etc etc.
    It also tells you your current speed in digital format ;)

    Once you get into the menu just use mode to cycle through like normal and stop when you get to the item you want (eg: current speed) then drive and it will stay there.

    You have to do this everytime you start your car or else you wont see it.

    Im guessing this is different from the police upgrade feature because the reading is rather small (i expected it to be much bigger and clearer than it was) but seeing as i havent had the police features enables i cant tell you. Maybe someone can fill us in.
     
  2. SimonH

    SimonH Member

    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Location:
    Canberra
    Members Ride:
    VE Calais V, 6.0 V8
    That is so cool!!!
    Cheers for that maxy...
    it also has some test thing and all the lights come on and the tacho moves up and the speedo and it beeps...

    it even has digital tacho!!!
    COOL!!
     
  3. maxy0987

    maxy0987 New Member

    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Location:
    Vic
    Members Ride:
    VY Exec S2
    ;) no problems

    i thought some of you guys might like it, i wasnt sure how well know it was, noone seems to mention it but everyone goes on about the digital speedo so i figured hey, why not, this is almost as good.

    Its handy to know temps and tests and stuff like that, i dub thee the "Maxy Menu" lmfao
     
  4. Zoinker

    Zoinker Guest

    lol, nice! makes you wonder why they dont just put this in the standard scroll menu, maby it's just a tease
     
  5. VYII S

    VYII S Guest

    Sorry Maxy, but this is old news,...and has been mentioned previously.
    The Police mode is LARGE.
     
    aKiwiJoker likes this.
  6. vaertigo

    vaertigo New Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VYIISS6m
    hrm, cant seem to get this to work...


    Is it just a once off that you have to do everytime you start the car? No doubt its better to get get cop mod unlocked during next service..
     
  7. Torquative

    Torquative Sports Economy

    Messages:
    1,584
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VE SV6 3.6L SIDI 6sp
    I tried this on the SV6 when I first heard and it worked. I tried it on the Adventra (VZ) and it didnt.

    But I though tbugger it, I'll try it just then and yes, it worked! :)
     
  8. maxy0987

    maxy0987 New Member

    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Location:
    Vic
    Members Ride:
    VY Exec S2

    you need to do it everytime you start the car as its not enabling any extras, its just displaying what the car already knows about itself (temp, speed etc)

    It is better to get the cop mode activated on your next service if you want it but i thought id just mention it as its pretty cool :)
     
  9. enhancedss

    enhancedss New Member

    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Location:
    SA
    Members Ride:
    VE R8 LS3, VYSS Ute 10.0@146MPH & VYSSTT 525rwkw
    you can even adjust, how you want your doors to unlock and how you want your steereo to operate but there is two different mode styles you can select eg voltage specs and fuel in tank, or the other option, as far as i new it works on all cars, even base models.
     
  10. Darren

    Darren Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    2,829
    Likes Received:
    142
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    HSV Clubsport R8 E2 M6
    I had never actually thought to give this a try before reading this.

    You sure do get some nice little read outs included that's for sure.

    The 'trouble code' I am thinking is the same as putting the paper clip in the VN - VS?
     
  11. calaiscruise

    calaiscruise Member

    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Western Sydney NSW
    Members Ride:
    2004 Calais VYII Gen3 5.7L V8 + Impco Sequent LPG
    I tried this on my VY2 Calais, but it did not work.

    When I press Mode & Set when starting, it brings up the Instrument Gauge test mode, that cycles through readings eg. temp, voltage and finishes with a speedo/taco needle test.

    ???
     
  12. maxy0987

    maxy0987 New Member

    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Location:
    Vic
    Members Ride:
    VY Exec S2
    thats what im talking about, what were you expecting?
     
  13. Cameron

    Cameron New Member

    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VY 11 'Redhot' Ute
    are ther any downsides to doing this test, does anyone know how to enable the cop mode or do you have to get it done buy the dealer??
     
  14. auc05l

    auc05l New Member

    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Location:
    orange
    Members Ride:
    VR Berlina V6
    I just tried it on my VR berlina just out of curiosity and it worked, digital speedo, digital volt guage, fuel remaining and (BTN _ _ _ _ ) dont know what that is????
     
  15. Dowling_s

    Dowling_s New Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VY2 SS
    Button---- Is for testing your individual buttons
     
    auc05l likes this.

Share This Page