Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

extractors????

K

kaz21

Hey,
I'm just starting to learn about commodores and being a girl i dont want to get ripped off, so could someone please tell me exactly what extractors do? Can you also tell me what sort and where to get them and how much they are. I have a vx and I am getting a sports exhaust in the next couple of weeks. Do i need to get extractors at the same time?
Thanx

PIMPIN

The Lurker
Reaction score
Members Ride
VTII Calais 3.8 WHII Statesman LS1
Extractors are aftermarket headers, one and the same, they basically start taking the gases from your engine down to your exhausts, If you pop the hood, on both sides near the bottom, you'll see either a set of 3(V6) or 4(V8) pipes that join into one....that's the headers

You don't have to get the extractors done at the same time, it's up to you...

Price wise, it differs, depending on what brand, press or mandrel bent, if you're gonna go twin cats etc...dunno, $600+?

Reaction score
Website
www.cardomain.com
Members Ride
VE SportWagon International A4
The main operation of extractors is to create a faster flow rate of exhaust gases producing a greater scavenging (or vacuuming) effect, therefore increasing performance. Most Commodore owners seem to recommend Pacemaker extractors, which can be fitted for around $500. Extractors can be fitted at a later date, but it should work out cheaper to have it done at the same time in the long run. You may also want to fit a Hi-flow cat for even more performance. My full system, which is listed in my signature cost my $990.

K

kaz21

thanks