Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Few questions

Discussion in 'VF Holden Commodore (2013 - 2017)' started by AiiDynBrus, Oct 11, 2018.

  1. AiiDynBrus

    AiiDynBrus New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2017
    Location:
    Queensland
    Members Ride:
    VF SV6 S1
    Hi All,

    So I just bought a VF Commodore last week, I previously owned a VE Series 2. On the VE S2 it told me the range i had on the fuel so like "500km". Since getting my 2014 VF SV6 S1 I can't seem to find this feature at all? I would've thought Holden would've just continued to keep feature?

    2nd question: I live in QLD and is it illegal to tint my headlight covers a grey smokey colour?
     
  2. Skylarking

    Skylarking Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    309
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    Location:
    Downunder
    Members Ride:
    Commodore Motorsport
    The Driver Information Center (DIC) shows information screens that you can select by pressing the Menu button on the indicator stalk.
    Repetedly pressing the Menu button will scroll the upper level Information Screens (i think there are 3 of them).
    Rotating the Ring on the indicator stalk within a given Information Screen will scroll through the submenu items for that Information Screen.
    Pressing (and/or pressing and holding?) the Set/CLR button on the end of the indicator stalk will pop up some selection menu or clear some setting for what is displayed in the DIC.

    You should find Trip/Fuel menu when pressing Menu button, then rotating the ring will bring up Fuel Range (atleast it does on my MSE).

    If this menu doesn't exist on your model, it's possible Holden may not offer it for that specific modle (yes they'd be tight arses d!cks to do such a thing and it's bulls!t).

    As to what QLD allows wrt tinted headlight covers, i have no idea.
    All i know is that yellow headlamps on my motorbike were illegal south of the river (back in the day when i actually used a motorbike).
    So i could speculate that QLD may consider tinted covers as colored lights and thus illegal.
     
  3. VS 5.0

    VS 5.0 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,059
    Likes Received:
    2,156
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Location:
    Perth WA
    Members Ride:
    VE SSV Z Series M6
    When I lived on the Gold Coast in the late 80s, my Torana had tinted headlight covers.

    The plod was more interested in the dixieland airhorns it had rather than the headlight covers.
     
  4. tommy_z

    tommy_z Member

    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VFI SV6
    Depending on your VF you may also have a ‘fuel used’ function on the trip computer. For some weird reason it’s not on the top of the line models with coloured display screens.... o_O
     
  5. Anthony121

    Anthony121 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    321
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VF SSV Redline MY17 & VF Director
    I always found that strange but on the VE io was on the Berlina and Calais models and also SSV. I really missed the litres used and litres remaining.
     
  6. AiiDynBrus

    AiiDynBrus New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2017
    Location:
    Queensland
    Members Ride:
    VF SV6 S1
    Sweet, thanks for all your replies. Unfortunately, I crashed my car on Tuesday this week.. only had it for about 5 days. So now i have the long 2 week wait to get it back, then I'll look into the fuel range. Thanks again!
     
  7. Skylarking

    Skylarking Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    309
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    Location:
    Downunder
    Members Ride:
    Commodore Motorsport
    Sorry to hear you pranged your car.

    As long as it’s just metal that’s damaged and no people were injured, it’s a good outcome. Insurnace will fix things for you without too much drama. Fixing people is a lot more difficult...
     
  8. AiiDynBrus

    AiiDynBrus New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2017
    Location:
    Queensland
    Members Ride:
    VF SV6 S1
    I agree, luckily all okay. It did show me however how strongly built the VF Commodore is. It damaged my front end alright, but the Toyota Camry had pretty bad damage to both doors and front end.

    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2018
  9. abuch47

    abuch47 Member

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    LSS3 OOT
  10. AiiDynBrus

    AiiDynBrus New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2017
    Location:
    Queensland
    Members Ride:
    VF SV6 S1
    Try clicking the spoiler again mate, just updated it.
     
  11. VS 5.0

    VS 5.0 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,059
    Likes Received:
    2,156
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Location:
    Perth WA
    Members Ride:
    VE SSV Z Series M6
    Meh, that'll buff out.....just a love tap.
     
  12. AiiDynBrus

    AiiDynBrus New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2017
    Location:
    Queensland
    Members Ride:
    VF SV6 S1
    That's it ;)
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Skylarking

    Skylarking Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    309
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    Location:
    Downunder
    Members Ride:
    Commodore Motorsport
    what was the repair quote?
     
  14. stooge

    stooge Active Member

    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    114
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    wa
    Members Ride:
    VF SSV
    all of that programming is in the dash cluster so it not being on some models could vary depending on the software version installed into the cluster at the factory.

    the range will just be a calculation the cluster makes depending on the fuel level in the tank(known tank size) and the fuel usage(liters per 100km) so it will something the cluster does internally and not reliant on the model of vf it is in so if it is really something you need you could look for a cluster at a wrecker that has it and install it into your vf and it should work.

    if you do go down that path you will need to have the eeprom in the new cluster flashed with your vin number for it to work
    there is info on that here: https://forums.justcommodores.com.au/threads/mylink-vin-eeprom.266357/#post-2917162
     
    Skylarking likes this.
  15. Skylarking

    Skylarking Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    309
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    Location:
    Downunder
    Members Ride:
    Commodore Motorsport
    like this love tap
     
    VS 5.0 likes this.
  16. AiiDynBrus

    AiiDynBrus New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2017
    Location:
    Queensland
    Members Ride:
    VF SV6 S1
    All covered by insurance, just paid an excess of $1,000.00. Didn't get told how much it would've been, but well over $1,000.00



    Cheers mate! Not sure if it'll help but my commodore is a 2014 Holden Commodore SV6 VF S1 MY14.

    Also, just another question. Is there a way to make the DRL stay on at night aswell as the headlights? I'd love for the DRL's to stay on all the time while driving, especially at night ;)
     
  17. Forg

    Forg Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,520
    Likes Received:
    754
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    Regal Peackock VF SS-V Redline Wagoon
    ^ DRL’s staying on at night require you to mod them; they’re too bright to be legal at night, and one of the easiest ways to tweak it is to get a hold of the HSV stuff that halves their wattage once the headlights go on. There’s no MyLink setting for it, though.
     
  18. stooge

    stooge Active Member

    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    114
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    wa
    Members Ride:
    VF SSV
    there is a full thread devoted to modding the drls to say on while the headlights are on
    https://forums.justcommodores.com.au/threads/drl-dimmed-with-headlights-on-how-to-guide.231538/

    you just use a cheap drl controller(less than $20) from ebay that dims the drl while the headlights are on.
     
  19. Skylarking

    Skylarking Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    309
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    Location:
    Downunder
    Members Ride:
    Commodore Motorsport
    Not wanting to sound negative but it’s your car and you should know what and how they are repairing it regardless of the fact the insurance company is paying.

    Just remember, insurance companies have an interest to minimise their repair costs while you should have an interest to ensure the work is done correctly and to a high standard (or as Holden specifies whichever is the best). Don’t settle for 2nd hand parts parts and insist that new Holden parts are used... talk to the repairers to ensure no corners are cut and hammer the insurance company if things are not being done to best practice.

    Oh, and some insurance companies provide a lifetime repair warranty but it’s only useful if you push them if you have issues, many don’t. Often they try and claim all sorts of crap to get out of their lifetime warranty. In one case, one insurance company tried to get out of repainting my car when the paint started to delaminate many years down the track, so they tried to write off the car at a silly low low price as the car was not worth much in their view (but in excellent mechanical and body condition, ignoring paint issues), yada yada yada... months of hassles but at the end they folded like a cheap deck of cards and actually wrote off the car but paid out what was listed in the policy back when the accident actually occurred... back in the day tried to tell them the just over 2 yo car was not worth repairing based on the damage that occurred.... cost them an absolute bucket...

    So show some interest in what they are proposing and get it fixed correctly at the start or get them to make a decision to write it off and go buy another ;)
     
    stooge likes this.
  20. stooge

    stooge Active Member

    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    114
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    wa
    Members Ride:
    VF SSV
    Good point!

    insurance or not you should be involved in the whole process.
    My wife had a 2016 cruze and it got a love tap from a ute on the rear left hand side it wasnt much and was still drivable.
    Insurance paid 8400 to fix it when we got it back i noticed the c pillar was buckled and it was still a cruze so it went to the tradein yard.

    You should always try and be involved in the insurance process especially on houses.
    My whole house burnt down in 2014 and a long story short...

    they were going to try replace it with a cladded home because it was an old fibro that burnt down but i got involved and got my own quotes from dale alcock a big builder here and got a double brick with all the trimmings like stone bench tops, 900mm appliances, full ducted reverse cycle aircon when i only had a single split system originally lol and a pile of other crap.
    It was all because i was fully involved in the process and didnt accept what they were offering so i worked within the limit of my policy and the insurance company was happy with it.

    Get involved and dont accept anything you are not happy with.
     
    VS 5.0 and Skylarking like this.

Share This Page