Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Fitting HSV 195i 304 into 88 VL

AJ8001

Reaction score
Members Ride
VL Commodore SL
Hi Everyone,
I'm sure these questions have been asked many times but I need help with my 88 VL build as I am a newbie to this. I have a 304 from a VT Clubsport that I want to put in my VL shell. The original engine was the RB30 manual.
The questions I have are:
1. Will the current K frame will suit or will I need to replace it
2. Not sure of the sump on the engine (was told just a commodore one) what sump will fit?
3. What engine loom/ecu should I be looking for i.e out of what model?
4. What manual gearbox would you recommend and what do I need to make it fit?
5. Based on the above, does it make more sense to find a wreck and if so, what model?
6. What other obvious problems will I run into?
I would appreciate any help you can send my way.

_R_J_K_

Reaction score
Members Ride
Zenki S14
The questions I have are:
1. Will the current K frame will suit or will I need to replace it - No, you need a V8 one. A VN-VS V8 K-frame will also work, the V6 ones will not.
2. Not sure of the sump on the engine (was told just a commodore one) what sump will fit? - Yes.
3. What engine loom/ecu should I be looking for i.e out of what model? - Ideally you'd run it off the VT 195i ECU with a no-VATS tune. VN-VS V8 ECUs can also be used with a no-VATS tune - do not use ebay tuners for this.
4. What manual gearbox would you recommend and what do I need to make it fit? - See below.
5. Based on the above, does it make more sense to find a wreck and if so, what model? - Largely yes, or at the minimum a complete engine and gearbox with loom.