Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Fog lights for Executive

Discussion in 'VY Holden Commodore (2002 - 2004)' started by smyth, Apr 9, 2006.

  1. smyth

    smyth New Member

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VY Executive
    Hi Guys,

    Does anyone know if there are fog lights available to fit the executive front bar? Ideally I'd love something that will just plug straight into the holes in the bumper.
     
  2. fabz

    fabz I Can Do Science Me

    Messages:
    912
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Location:
    In My Car!!
    Members Ride:
    Blown V6 VT commodore 5 speed
    Hmmmmm i think the calias had them but not the exec. be good if someone had pics?? Anyone?
     
  3. smyth

    smyth New Member

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VY Executive
    The hole in the calais bumper is different.
     
  4. fabz

    fabz I Can Do Science Me

    Messages:
    912
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Location:
    In My Car!!
    Members Ride:
    Blown V6 VT commodore 5 speed
    i know this read my post again
     
  5. smyth

    smyth New Member

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VY Executive
    That doesn't really help then does it, as I need them for the EXECUTIVE.
     
  6. holdensupporter2005

    holdensupporter2005 Member

    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Location:
    N.E. Vic
    Members Ride:
    2011 VE SV6 II Commodore - Chlorophyll
    Even if you could get foglights that mount on the executive front bar, there is NO wiring for foglights on the stock wiring harness. I know this from experience as I had to put the SS front bar on to get foglights. I also had to install wiring as well because there is none. You will need to replace your headlight switch, with the SS one if you want it to look professional too.

    Here is a link to my car, with the Front SS bar and foglights:
    http://forums.justcommodores.com.au/showthread.php?t=27258
     
  7. smyth

    smyth New Member

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VY Executive
    Yeah I realise there is no wiring and the switch is different. I'm really just looking at the options at this stage.
     
  8. holdensupporter2005

    holdensupporter2005 Member

    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Location:
    N.E. Vic
    Members Ride:
    2011 VE SV6 II Commodore - Chlorophyll
    You could make up some sort of bracket yourself to mount them in the Executive bar. but they would probably look a bit dodgy!! just a thought. :bop:
     
  9. smyth

    smyth New Member

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VY Executive
    Yeah it's a bit of a shame there isn't a specially made part becasue I think the exec front bar wound look really good with fog lights.

    I'm considering generic ones, but I agree with you that they will look dodgy.
     
  10. vy_acclaim

    vy_acclaim New Member

    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Members Ride:
    HBD VYII Acclaim
    SS Upgrade

    Was about to start an entirely new post for this... lol. I am doing an SS upgrade also - your experience could prove invaluable. I have got the SS Front bumper, still needs to be repainted. How much did the wiring loom cost? Do you have a part number for the wiring? I've upgraded the switches aswell - is it simply a plug and play job, or should I get the dealer to do it? What about the side skirts and rear bar... did you have to get them replaced entirely, or did they just modify the lower half of your existing equipment? *inhales* - lol. Thanks.
     
  11. holdensupporter2005

    holdensupporter2005 Member

    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Location:
    N.E. Vic
    Members Ride:
    2011 VE SV6 II Commodore - Chlorophyll
    My VY is an executive. It has a holden by design body kit, which was fitted at the factory and includes rear spoiler, rear bumper, and side skirts. It didn't have a SS front on it though. I bought the front SS Bar from Holden $315.00 and had it painted and installed at the local panel beater. There is NO wiring for the SS foglights in the stock executive wiring loom. and holden don't make a seperate wiring loom. I tried to install the wiring myself but couldn't really make any sense of the wiring diagram, so took it to an auto electrician who wired it all up for me for about $100. :w00t: the SS headlight switch is a straight swap, but because the executive wiring loom doesn't have any foglight wiring, the foglight section of the switch won't do anything. DON'T get the holden dealer to install it as the charge heaps. :bang: Go to your local Auto electrican instead.

    PM me if you want the wiring diagrams.

    Cheers Holdensupporter2005
     
  12. vy_acclaim

    vy_acclaim New Member

    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Members Ride:
    HBD VYII Acclaim
    Thanks champ... Will do - I poked around underneath my car to see if there was any wiring in my car. I found something there and got all excited, then I realised it was the horn. :whistling
    Off to the auto electrician I shall go. Let you know how I do I will - lol.
     
  13. breast69au

    breast69au New Member

    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VY Executive
    I was in the same boat as you i have an executive with the clubsport bodykit installed and i got the fog lights installed i replaced the headlight switch and had to install the fog light wiring into the car.
     
  14. holdensupporter2005

    holdensupporter2005 Member

    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Location:
    N.E. Vic
    Members Ride:
    2011 VE SV6 II Commodore - Chlorophyll
    FOGLIGHT WIRING DIAGRAMS
    Due to many requests for the Wiring Diagram
    I have decided to post them here:
    Click on the PICS to ENLARGE

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  15. vy_acclaim

    vy_acclaim New Member

    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Members Ride:
    HBD VYII Acclaim
    Sorry mate, but do your foglights turn on via the switch now that a sparky has fiddled around with it; or did he have to install a seperate switch?
     
  16. holdensupporter2005

    holdensupporter2005 Member

    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Location:
    N.E. Vic
    Members Ride:
    2011 VE SV6 II Commodore - Chlorophyll
    Foglight turn on straight through the genuine SS switch. works the same as the SS model. Pull the centre section of the switch out to turn them on. And the will only go on if the light switch is set on any other postions than the off position. :thumbsup:
     
  17. wazza 42

    wazza 42 White Pure White

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Location:
    Nowra
    Members Ride:
    03 VYII S Pack Utility/03 VYII S Pack Sedan
    Thanks for posting the wiring diagram.Does the fog light ON symbol illuminate in the dash cluster when they are on?
     
  18. holdensupporter2005

    holdensupporter2005 Member

    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Location:
    N.E. Vic
    Members Ride:
    2011 VE SV6 II Commodore - Chlorophyll
    Unfortunately not. That is the only downside. You could always pull the whole cluster out and put seperate wiring in to the light. But a lot of bother for nothing really. :)
     
  19. Marks-VY

    Marks-VY I love cars

    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VT2 Berlina
    I have the VY s which has all the wiring. The lights, relay and switch were just plug and play. But funnily enough, the cluster is not set up for the fog light indicator. I had Phreddy play around with it (installed a resistor and SMD) but no go. You would have to upgrade to a high spec cluster for it to work, or do some major stuffing about.
     
  20. The Macross

    The Macross New Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VY II Executive V6
    Thanks for the info as well,
    going to put an ss body kit on my VYII.
    Mine is a ex police, do they have the wiring on them as default, if anyone knows?
     

Share This Page