Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Fog lights for Executive

smyth

New Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2005
Messages
80
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
36
Members Ride
VY Executive
Hi Guys,

Does anyone know if there are fog lights available to fit the executive front bar? Ideally I'd love something that will just plug straight into the holes in the bumper.
 

fabz

I Can Do Science Me
Joined
Jul 10, 2005
Messages
912
Reaction score
10
Points
0
Age
37
Location
In My Car!!
Members Ride
Blown V6 VT commodore 5 speed
Hmmmmm i think the calias had them but not the exec. be good if someone had pics?? Anyone?
 

smyth

New Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2005
Messages
80
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
36
Members Ride
VY Executive
The hole in the calais bumper is different.
 

fabz

I Can Do Science Me
Joined
Jul 10, 2005
Messages
912
Reaction score
10
Points
0
Age
37
Location
In My Car!!
Members Ride
Blown V6 VT commodore 5 speed
smyth said:
The hole in the calais bumper is different.
i know this read my post again
 

smyth

New Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2005
Messages
80
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
36
Members Ride
VY Executive
That doesn't really help then does it, as I need them for the EXECUTIVE.
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2005
Messages
446
Reaction score
22
Points
18
Location
N.E. Vic
Members Ride
2011 VE SV6 II Commodore - Chlorophyll
Even if you could get foglights that mount on the executive front bar, there is NO wiring for foglights on the stock wiring harness. I know this from experience as I had to put the SS front bar on to get foglights. I also had to install wiring as well because there is none. You will need to replace your headlight switch, with the SS one if you want it to look professional too.

Here is a link to my car, with the Front SS bar and foglights:
http://forums.justcommodores.com.au/showthread.php?t=27258
 

smyth

New Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2005
Messages
80
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
36
Members Ride
VY Executive
Yeah I realise there is no wiring and the switch is different. I'm really just looking at the options at this stage.
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2005
Messages
446
Reaction score
22
Points
18
Location
N.E. Vic
Members Ride
2011 VE SV6 II Commodore - Chlorophyll
You could make up some sort of bracket yourself to mount them in the Executive bar. but they would probably look a bit dodgy!! just a thought. :bop:
 

smyth

New Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2005
Messages
80
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
36
Members Ride
VY Executive
Yeah it's a bit of a shame there isn't a specially made part becasue I think the exec front bar wound look really good with fog lights.

I'm considering generic ones, but I agree with you that they will look dodgy.
 

vy_acclaim

New Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2005
Messages
238
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Location
Perth, WA
Members Ride
HBD VYII Acclaim
SS Upgrade

holdensupporter2005 said:
I also had to install wiring as well because there is none. You will need to replace your headlight switch, with the SS one if you want it to look professional too.
Was about to start an entirely new post for this... lol. I am doing an SS upgrade also - your experience could prove invaluable. I have got the SS Front bumper, still needs to be repainted. How much did the wiring loom cost? Do you have a part number for the wiring? I've upgraded the switches aswell - is it simply a plug and play job, or should I get the dealer to do it? What about the side skirts and rear bar... did you have to get them replaced entirely, or did they just modify the lower half of your existing equipment? *inhales* - lol. Thanks.
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2005
Messages
446
Reaction score
22
Points
18
Location
N.E. Vic
Members Ride
2011 VE SV6 II Commodore - Chlorophyll
vy_acclaim said:
Was about to start an entirely new post for this... lol. I am doing an SS upgrade also - your experience could prove invaluable. I have got the SS Front bumper, still needs to be repainted. How much did the wiring loom cost? Do you have a part number for the wiring? I've upgraded the switches aswell - is it simply a plug and play job, or should I get the dealer to do it? What about the side skirts and rear bar... did you have to get them replaced entirely, or did they just modify the lower half of your existing equipment? *inhales* - lol. Thanks.
My VY is an executive. It has a holden by design body kit, which was fitted at the factory and includes rear spoiler, rear bumper, and side skirts. It didn't have a SS front on it though. I bought the front SS Bar from Holden $315.00 and had it painted and installed at the local panel beater. There is NO wiring for the SS foglights in the stock executive wiring loom. and holden don't make a seperate wiring loom. I tried to install the wiring myself but couldn't really make any sense of the wiring diagram, so took it to an auto electrician who wired it all up for me for about $100. :w00t: the SS headlight switch is a straight swap, but because the executive wiring loom doesn't have any foglight wiring, the foglight section of the switch won't do anything. DON'T get the holden dealer to install it as the charge heaps. :bang: Go to your local Auto electrican instead.

PM me if you want the wiring diagrams.

Cheers Holdensupporter2005
 

vy_acclaim

New Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2005
Messages
238
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Location
Perth, WA
Members Ride
HBD VYII Acclaim
Thanks champ... Will do - I poked around underneath my car to see if there was any wiring in my car. I found something there and got all excited, then I realised it was the horn. :whistling
Off to the auto electrician I shall go. Let you know how I do I will - lol.
 

breast69au

New Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2005
Messages
71
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
37
Members Ride
VY Executive
I was in the same boat as you i have an executive with the clubsport bodykit installed and i got the fog lights installed i replaced the headlight switch and had to install the fog light wiring into the car.
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2005
Messages
446
Reaction score
22
Points
18
Location
N.E. Vic
Members Ride
2011 VE SV6 II Commodore - Chlorophyll
FOGLIGHT WIRING DIAGRAMS
Due to many requests for the Wiring Diagram
I have decided to post them here:
Click on the PICS to ENLARGE

 

vy_acclaim

New Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2005
Messages
238
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Location
Perth, WA
Members Ride
HBD VYII Acclaim
holdensupporter2005 said:
...the SS headlight switch is a straight swap, but because the executive wiring loom doesn't have any foglight wiring, the foglight section of the switch won't do anything...
Sorry mate, but do your foglights turn on via the switch now that a sparky has fiddled around with it; or did he have to install a seperate switch?
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2005
Messages
446
Reaction score
22
Points
18
Location
N.E. Vic
Members Ride
2011 VE SV6 II Commodore - Chlorophyll
vy_acclaim said:
Sorry mate, but do your foglights turn on via the switch now that a sparky has fiddled around with it; or did he have to install a seperate switch?
Foglight turn on straight through the genuine SS switch. works the same as the SS model. Pull the centre section of the switch out to turn them on. And the will only go on if the light switch is set on any other postions than the off position. :thumbsup:
 

wazza 42

White Pure White
Joined
Feb 16, 2006
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
57
Location
Nowra
Members Ride
03 VYII S Pack Utility/03 VYII S Pack Sedan
Thanks for posting the wiring diagram.Does the fog light ON symbol illuminate in the dash cluster when they are on?
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2005
Messages
446
Reaction score
22
Points
18
Location
N.E. Vic
Members Ride
2011 VE SV6 II Commodore - Chlorophyll
wazza 42 said:
Thanks for posting the wiring diagram.Does the fog light ON symbol illuminate in the dash cluster when they are on?
Unfortunately not. That is the only downside. You could always pull the whole cluster out and put seperate wiring in to the light. But a lot of bother for nothing really. :)
 

Marks-VY

I love cars
Joined
Apr 14, 2005
Messages
426
Reaction score
6
Points
0
Age
52
Location
Sydney
Members Ride
VT2 Berlina
wazza 42 said:
Does the fog light ON symbol illuminate in the dash cluster when they are on?
I have the VY s which has all the wiring. The lights, relay and switch were just plug and play. But funnily enough, the cluster is not set up for the fog light indicator. I had Phreddy play around with it (installed a resistor and SMD) but no go. You would have to upgrade to a high spec cluster for it to work, or do some major stuffing about.
 

The Macross

New Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2005
Messages
22
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
45
Members Ride
VY II Executive V6
Thanks for the info as well,
going to put an ss body kit on my VYII.
Mine is a ex police, do they have the wiring on them as default, if anyone knows?
 
Top