Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

fuel gauge and temp???

tekkado

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2011
Messages
95
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
brisbane
Members Ride
vs executive
so i had a search nothing really came up other than on post that wasnt really helpful.
so today i was driving and my fuel and temp guages didnt move they just sat at zero, so far having the car less than a week ive noticed the fuel guage to be a bit jumping but after driving 10 mins it comes fine but today nothing. anyone know whats up?
thanks
 

88GreenVN

Next Exit Left
Joined
Jun 12, 2006
Messages
6,795
Reaction score
135
Points
63
Age
57
Location
Surprise, Arizona
Members Ride
Dodge Ram Van 1500 5.2 V8
it will probably be the votage regulator in the cluster. It gets very hot and the solder joints crack. A little sodler action and you can have it fixed.
 
Last edited:

tekkado

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2011
Messages
95
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
brisbane
Members Ride
vs executive
oh okay cause i try not to leave it in the sun but the dashgets rather hot so you thinki tcould be the wires?
 

woteva

NEED 4 SPEED
Joined
Jul 18, 2005
Messages
1,802
Reaction score
2,843
Points
113
Location
Adelaide S.A.
Members Ride
VE2 Sportwagon - VR2 V6 ecotec Wag - VS2 V6 Wag
hit the dash on the top above the gauges. I do this all the time to get the speedo and fuel gauge working.
 

hoju

New Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2011
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Adelaide
Members Ride
VS Commodore ute
you reckon it might be your fuel sender and temp sensor playing up. Mine does that too (just the fuel gauge), shows a bit of a reading (not sure how acurate though) and then dies. When I flick it onto gas however, the fuel guage reads fine.
 

Whales

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2008
Messages
45
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
36
Location
Newcastle
Members Ride
Vs Series 3 Ute, manual. Hz Pano 5.0L injected
My vs does it aswell, its becomes a regular thing for me now. Turn the key, hit the dash lol
 

tekkado

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2011
Messages
95
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
brisbane
Members Ride
vs executive
lol seriously does hitting the dash work? ill try it tomrrow haha
 
Top