Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Full stereo install guide, VZ SV6

Discussion in 'Car Audio' started by walkintheseshoes, Jul 4, 2008.

  1. walkintheseshoes

    walkintheseshoes New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Members Ride:
    2005 vz sv6
    Hi all,
    I've decided to post the install of my stereo in my VZ SV6.
    hope this helps anyone thinking of upgrading their stereo.
    Also you will lose some of the settings that you access when you start your car, like headlight off time, door lock when driving and a few more. So i suggest you turn radio display off before starting and also adjust the settings to your liking before you start.
    I've had to do it in 5 files as the forum only lets you upload small pdf files.
    Enjoy:thumbsup:
    View attachment Comprehensive guide on how to install an aftermarket stereo in a VZ SV6 Commodore 2_Part1.pdf

    View attachment Comprehensive guide on how to install an aftermarket stereo in a VZ SV6 Commodore 2_Part2.pdf

    View attachment Comprehensive guide on how to install an aftermarket stereo in a VZ SV6 Commodore 2_Part3.pdf

    View attachment Comprehensive guide on how to install an aftermarket stereo in a VZ SV6 Commodore 2_Part4.pdf

    View attachment Comprehensive guide on how to install an aftermarket stereo in a VZ SV6 Commodore 2_Part5.pdf

    Thanks to phreddy and juzo for their links included in my pdf's

    Please post a relpy and click the scales if you liked my post
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2008
    EviL_EniGmA likes this.
  2. =SKB=

    =SKB= New Member

    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Nice guide.

    With the Pioneer unit have you run a switch on your power aerial or do you have the aerial up all the time while HU is on? I am considering a switch mounted inside the storage space that comes on the single din fascia panel.

    Where did you install your cross-overs? I was thinking behind kick panels for mine.

    :thumbsup:
     
  3. walkintheseshoes

    walkintheseshoes New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Members Ride:
    2005 vz sv6
    Aerial and crossovers

    I also placed my crossovers in the doors. They fit in quite easily. Just used double sided tape to hold them to door, Just off center to speaker hole.
    As for the aerial it is always up. That doesn't bother me though. If there is a way i could change that i would consider it, but no biggie.

    My System
    Pioneer DEH-p8650mp
    Alpine SPX 17-ref (front and back)
    Eclipse XA4000
    Rockford Fosgate P2 12"
    Custom box from kartan enclosures
    Need to buy a new sub amp!
    :thumbsup:
     
  4. =SKB=

    =SKB= New Member

    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Thanks for the reply. I am going to try a simple cutoff switch on the aerial cable and turn the aerial on when or if I want it. I never listen to the radio.

    I was thinking about in the doors also (for cross-overs) but was worried they might come loose if someone slams the door.
     
  5. walkintheseshoes

    walkintheseshoes New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Members Ride:
    2005 vz sv6
    I used heavy duty double sided tape. Got it from bunnings. It's so strong i might not be able to get the crossovers out! LOL
    Let me know how you go with aerial switch and how you connected it.
    I've only got the one out put on my H/U which is for aerial and amp remote. So i guess the switch will have to go directly to the wire of the antenna, have cut it off car ISO plug. Didn't realy want to cut wiring off ISO plug though. So let me know how you go.
    :thumbsup:
     
  6. dymitie

    dymitie New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Members Ride:
    vz sv6
    hey is it possible for you to email these pdf files as for some stupid reason I can't download them thanks.
     
  7. Pete_perth

    Pete_perth Pedro

    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    Perth
    Members Ride:
    VZ Adventra CX6
    Does anyone know how the power aerial on a VZ Berlina works? There is only one wire from the head unit that controls the aerial, however I can't figure out how the aerial knows to go up, down or stop at a height set by the user. I know a contant 12v will sent the aerial up and an absence of power sets it down, but not how you can manually set it's height and it will remain there.

    Any help is greatly appeciated.
     
  8. danja

    danja Swerves for gay koalas

    Messages:
    1,786
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    CBF 250 and a Levin ZR
    There should be two wires, one green and one grey. 12v on both will extend the antenna, 12v on just green will retract it, if green has no voltage the antenna will stay where it is.

    I believe the logic controlling the antenna to remember a set height is inside the radio unit itself.
     
  9. vz05 boar

    vz05 boar New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Members Ride:
    VZ Acclaim
    great little guide u have there. with the tweeters you installed, how did you secure them in the position of the stock ones? atm i am considering doing the same installation myself and am just running through the steps, although i have a 2-din touch dvd H/U which scares me a bit thats the main setback atm.
     
  10. PaulP38A

    PaulP38A New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Location:
    Canberra
    Members Ride:
    VZ Crewman Cross6
    Thank you Walkintheseshoes, this will be very useful when I swap out the stock Blaupunkt stereo for an iPod headunit in my Crewman in the near future.

    Unfortunately, Phreddy's audio.html page is no longer available. Is there an updated link for this information please?

    Cheers, Paul.
     
  11. shrapnel287

    shrapnel287 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Members Ride:
    VZ S
    Thank you for the guide. Very helpful! Installed new speakers today.
     
  12. MODEST

    MODEST New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VZ SS M6
    I have a few things in the wiring I'm hoping you can help me with. The wire loom I bought for my JVC had some back to front wires. I've mooved the yellow wire (constant 12v) over to the pin labelled as 'Batt Cont', but I think it should be on the one labelled as 'Batt+'. Is there a difference between 'Batt Cont' and 'Batt+' and could swapping them do damage? Also, the orange wire is not connected, what excactly does it 'illuminate'? Finally, the red wire is currently connected to 'Batt+', the instructions label this wire as an accessory terminal. I have to turn my stereo on and off manually, if I move the red wire to the factory pin 'Acc+', will this make the stereo turn on and off with the car?
    F.Y.I. UART is some micro chip communicator thing, just google it.
     
  13. The B Man

    The B Man New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Location:
    Perth
    Members Ride:
    2007 VZ Ute
    I know this post is old but this may help new readers. With my alpine deck which came with the loom that fitted to the vz. Just swap the red wire with the yellow wire. ie. connect the red wire to the yellow wire and your set. Also with your tweeters, just remove the stock ones then take the small metal bracket off the stock tweeter. This can then be screwed into your new tweeter and installed in the original position. As with your crossovers, i suggest leaving them inside the cab behind the air vent cover. There is no need to restrain them as they will sit on top of the original wiring harness. Trust me they wont go anywhere. I am pulling my system apart gain this weekend as I am adding a amp and sub. I will take pics. My pain will equal your gain.
     
  14. smitroast

    smitroast New Member

    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Location:
    wynnum
    Members Ride:
    vz sv6 commodore
    ive just tried but the airiel and the screen wont come on os there any fuses I coild look for??
     
  15. smitroast

    smitroast New Member

    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Location:
    wynnum
    Members Ride:
    vz sv6 commodore
    I have a double din by the way I did have a single din but because of the aftermarket lume the double din wouldnt go all the way back so I cut it out and now it doesnr work??
     
  16. shaneo13

    shaneo13 New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Location:
    blacktown
    Members Ride:
    vy berlina
    sorry didnt have time to read all if it. but just womdering how u bolted the sub to the boot any feedback would be muchly appreciated.
     

Share This Page