Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

gauge questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

hsv8vq

New Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2008
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
vq statesman
Hello , every one I have just purchased a bunch of gauges , monster with shift light , boost , water temp , oil pressure . I was just wondering about legaly mounting the monster tacho i dont want to put it in and then be told by officer law that i cant have it here or there , I'd like to put it in and leave it there lol . Also just wondering about mounting the other gauges up the pillar is this against the law , is it alrite to put them there or do they affect vision or is it hazard in an accident like i said realy only want to install them once . Thanks in advance :yeah:
 

Static89

I Am Ironman.
Joined
Jul 3, 2008
Messages
156
Reaction score
5
Points
18
Age
32
Location
Sherwood QLD
Members Ride
VT Berlina S1
from what i have read from other threads asking the same question, can not be higher then the highest part of the dash line, ( i think thats what i remember) good luck :p
 

hsv8vq

New Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2008
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
vq statesman
thanks any other ideas on regulations cheers
 

Maci

New Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2008
Messages
76
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Goulburn NSW
Members Ride
2003 Holden Statesman
they cant be in an area that can be classified as breaking off and becoming a "projectile" , endangering you the driver or a passenger. (passenger side of dash board - no no)

but ive also heard lower than the steering wheel? so that complicates things.
cant be in front of existing essential gauges (speedo in particular)
 

Jecs

PAVTEK Race Engines
Staff member
Joined
Feb 22, 2005
Messages
1,172
Reaction score
290
Points
83
Age
33
Location
Geelong
Members Ride
'97 Caprice 355ci & VZ SS Ute

Attachments

STEALTHY™

So Wet For You!
Joined
Jan 3, 2005
Messages
6,630
Reaction score
82
Points
48
Location
SA - The Roadworks State
Members Ride
VP Calais International, FPV, Audi
Your mate should be shot for drilling into an international dash.


From what i understood the regulations as, it can't protrude the dash in ANY way, meaning you have to get a custom one made to replace your original cluster. but, why would you, Level 3 dash comes with all that and more :)
 

Jecs

PAVTEK Race Engines
Staff member
Joined
Feb 22, 2005
Messages
1,172
Reaction score
290
Points
83
Age
33
Location
Geelong
Members Ride
'97 Caprice 355ci & VZ SS Ute
Your mate should be shot for drilling into an international dash.


From what i understood the regulations as, it can't protrude the dash in ANY way, meaning you have to get a custom one made to replace your original cluster. but, why would you, Level 3 dash comes with all that and more :)

it wasn't drilled into the dash. it was drilled into the cluster surround..

checkmate.
 

STEALTHY™

So Wet For You!
Joined
Jan 3, 2005
Messages
6,630
Reaction score
82
Points
48
Location
SA - The Roadworks State
Members Ride
VP Calais International, FPV, Audi
it wasn't drilled into the dash. it was drilled into the cluster surround..

checkmate.
Cluster surround is part of the dash......
It was moreso, your mate is a wanker for having a monster tacho in a car fitted with a tacho. I couldn't care about the dash, mine is fine ;)
 

Vt-Brrrlina

vp bt1 gts replica
Joined
May 2, 2006
Messages
521
Reaction score
4
Points
0
Location
Perth, Western Aust
Members Ride
vp bt1 5.0ltr full GTS kit
mate took his car throught the pits here in perth with a minitacho above his dash - no probs at all
 

Ripcell

R8 FTW!!!
Joined
Apr 24, 2006
Messages
706
Reaction score
12
Points
0
Location
East Melbourne
Members Ride
324rwkw MY06 VZ R8 Maloo M6
i reckon u should mount them on ebay for some nismo owner to put in ;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top