Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Gps 'switch on' with power windows

kubsnazx

New Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2011
Messages
26
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Location
adelaide
Members Ride
VZ Wagon '06
Looking for simple 'splice in' info for acquiring power for my gps unit whenever the power windows are active?
Presently, I have it connected to the pink wire found on the plug in the drivers side door jam (12 volt 'accessories on') but, i wish to change it cause I want to:idea3:

Has anyone got any gadgets switching on when windows are active? Or, (reason I want to do this) switching on when unlocking vehicle
 

morphix

Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
661
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
Cardiff, NSW
Members Ride
2004 VZ SV6 5-Speed Auto
If you wire into the orange with yellow stripe that goes into the power steering switch, this is constant power 12v, which switches on when the car is unlocked and switches itself off after 10-15 minutes after the car is locked/left to sit.
 

Benboy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2007
Messages
2,466
Reaction score
93
Points
48
Location
Hill River, SA
Members Ride
2007 SVZ Wagon
Connect the GPS to the 'cigarette lighter plug, (a.k.a. as an Accessory Plug) as when the ignition or Radio are switched on, the power is also sent to the said plug. I don't agree with splicing electronic appliances into others particularly since they are operated by a computer that enables only sufficient voltage to operate said appliance.
 

Tasmaniak

Not a valid input....
Joined
Apr 30, 2005
Messages
8,094
Reaction score
126
Points
63
Age
38
Location
S.E. Melbourne
Website
www.ranjinstallations.com.au
Members Ride
VR Stato, C180 Kompressor, Prado and Ka
I agree with Benboy in part. I wouldn't take power from it directly, but I would have no trouble taking a feed from it to a relay with it's own seperate power supply.
 

morphix

Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
661
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
Cardiff, NSW
Members Ride
2004 VZ SV6 5-Speed Auto
Yeah a relay would be suggested rather than direct feed.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 4
 

Tasmaniak

Not a valid input....
Joined
Apr 30, 2005
Messages
8,094
Reaction score
126
Points
63
Age
38
Location
S.E. Melbourne
Website
www.ranjinstallations.com.au
Members Ride
VR Stato, C180 Kompressor, Prado and Ka
lol, mind you, some relays can pull 250mA and if it's JUST a GPS then it won't draw anymore than 500-1000mA in which case the power supply to the windows won't even notice...

But as a question to the OP...why?
 

kubsnazx

New Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2011
Messages
26
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Location
adelaide
Members Ride
VZ Wagon '06
Cause I like stuff that switches on with a remote
 

oska

Active Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2010
Messages
815
Reaction score
46
Points
28
Location
melbourne
Members Ride
vx custom 600RR
i've done it on my VX i'm sure it's the same with the VZ, my rear window child lock now acts as my antenna up/down

it also triggers it on unlock (up) and lock (down)
 

Tasmaniak

Not a valid input....
Joined
Apr 30, 2005
Messages
8,094
Reaction score
126
Points
63
Age
38
Location
S.E. Melbourne
Website
www.ranjinstallations.com.au
Members Ride
VR Stato, C180 Kompressor, Prado and Ka
Top