Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

H/U has mind of it's own

parovzsv86l

New Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2011
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
melbourne
Members Ride
VN Calais 5.0l
Hey just wondering I've installed a double din gps unit and has been working cine for months but now without fail atleast twice a day car will be locked with no key in the ignition and the H/U is on??? I got a Vz sv8 just wondering if anyone else has had this issue or what anyone thinks I can do to fix it, it's really starting to do my f....ng head in
 

mint

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2011
Messages
253
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Age
52
Location
n
Members Ride
VE
Looks like you have made a wiring error.
 

GAMBLR

More trouble than u think
Joined
Dec 11, 2006
Messages
691
Reaction score
6
Points
0
Location
Whyalla (yawn), South Australia
Members Ride
'04 VZ Calais LS1
Try a search on here, it's apparently a common thing with even the standard head units.
 

Jonno

:)
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
2,422
Reaction score
7
Points
0
Location
Vic,
Members Ride
;)
Turn it off when u get out of the car?
Mines wired to a constant power too, it's not that hard
 

wrx884

WA's ASR Rep
Joined
Mar 28, 2006
Messages
3,687
Reaction score
35
Points
48
Age
36
Location
Perth
Members Ride
VT Exec/ VT L67 Spac, 5L VP Calais, 77 TC Gemini
how have u got it wired in? sounds like u havent used the ACC+ wire, but that doesnt make sence it working fine 4 a month and then not 4 the rest? has ur unit got a timer setting? some units these days do and u'll just need 2 switch this off.
 

parovzsv86l

New Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2011
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
melbourne
Members Ride
VN Calais 5.0l
hey GAMBLR yer ive done a search on here and seen it could be the bcm but i just bought a new spare key so id love to not have to change it
 

parovzsv86l

New Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2011
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
melbourne
Members Ride
VN Calais 5.0l
hey guys thanks for the feedback ill check all the wiring just to make sure but im pretty sure wen i did the install i double checked everything but guess it cant hurt to do another check ill keep u updated
 

parovzsv86l

New Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2011
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
melbourne
Members Ride
VN Calais 5.0l
just thought id say found out the problem after an extensive investigation, it was the battery lead for the amp hitting the remote cable causing it to turn on. just had to clean up the wiring a tad and seams all good so far.
 
Top