Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Hard wire a gps to a ve?

donkson

New Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2010
Messages
36
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
30
Location
budgewoi
Members Ride
ve Berlina
Hey guys my cigarette lighter does not work and ive cheaked fuses/relays and put the test light on it but still nothing, i want to buy a gps, so i was thinking hard wiring it straight to the battery (+ - fuse in the line somewhere and a switch to turn the power off, good idea or not? also would it still any of the electrics as im hookinh straight to the battery?
Thanks
 

Phyco

Alloytec and Proud
Joined
Mar 21, 2009
Messages
129
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
WA
Members Ride
06 VZ Acclaim Sedan
Wrong section, see 'Sponsors' at the top of this page? Suggest you post this (or have it moved to) the VE section, or even Car Audio possibly.
 

Andeh

Herp Derp
Joined
Mar 29, 2011
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
30
Location
Muswellbrook, Hunter Valley, NSW
Website
www.horderejects.com
Members Ride
VX Berlina 3.8L Ecotec
I can offer my personal experience with hooking new appliances up to your car. But please post in the correct forum next time :) Keeps the place looking more tidy and organised imo. PM Sent regardless.
 

zaxxon

New Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2011
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Sydney
Members Ride
VE SV6
I can offer my personal experience with hooking new appliances up to your car. But please post in the correct forum next time :) Keeps the place looking more tidy and organised imo. PM Sent regardless.
I think the whole point of helping someone on a forum is that you post the answer ON the forum so you don't have to PM everyone else!-)
 

matt30186

Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2011
Messages
77
Reaction score
7
Points
8
Location
Wollongong
Members Ride
2014 VF SV6 Wagon
yeah and here is the problem with me now looking for info on this
 

mint

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2011
Messages
253
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Age
52
Location
n
Members Ride
VE
Wow, this has to win a prize as a bocked-up thread.

Firstly, yes - "hardwiring" your GPS through a switch to the ACC is a great idea. Leaves the socket free. But as your socket "doesn't work" and you've checked fuses (good idea) and relays (not a good idea) then your next step is to check the WIRING and the SOCKET.
 

accentstencil

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2005
Messages
8,263
Reaction score
459
Points
83
Age
68
Location
Eschol Park, Sydney
Members Ride
WH II Caprice, 5.7 2018 Equinox LTZ V
Also, I think that most GPS run on 5 volts so don't cut the plug off to hardwire it. The plug actually reduces 12 volts to 5 volts.
 
Top