Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Hard wired Thermo ecu by pass

Discussion in 'General' started by Hilux 3.8, Mar 24, 2018.

  1. Hilux 3.8

    Hilux 3.8 New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2018
    Location:
    Moruya
    Members Ride:
    hilux ln172
    I seem to remember my ex father inlaw setting up his thermos to run directly off a temp switch. So if the car was at say 80 degees the thermos kick in until the engine cools to say 70 degees regardless of weather the inginion was on. Kind of like a turbo timer.

    I like the idea because Im doing a ecotec to hilux conversion and it seems like a good way to go. If I could hard wire the thermos to the battery via a temp switch and have a override switch in the cab for creek crossings it would be ideal!!! id like to keep it really simple so If anyone can explain it like ure talking to a 3 year old id be very greatfull ha ha
     
  2. axemurderer101

    axemurderer101 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,780
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Location:
    Albany
    Members Ride:
    VY SS
  3. KustomKulture62

    KustomKulture62 Active Member

    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    Volvo
    Thats how I've setup the fan for the B&M trans cooler.
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2018
  4. Lex

    Lex Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    260
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Location:
    Geelong Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VT Executive S1 V6 Auto Wagon
    I use the ewp 130 with computer control alarm.
    I'm happy with it.
     
  5. EYY

    EYY Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,636
    Likes Received:
    841
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Location:
    Vic
    Members Ride:
    VS Statesman
  6. Hilux 3.8

    Hilux 3.8 New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2018
    Location:
    Moruya
    Members Ride:
    hilux ln172
    Thanks heaps for the links guys. Much appreciated!!!

    Think I'll just run a mechanical thermal switch.
     
  7. Taranaki

    Taranaki Member

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Location:
    New Plymouth
    Members Ride:
    Calais
    I have got thermal switches from Jaycar - they had 70 and 100 degrees. Only rated at 10 A, so only good for a "low speed" fan.
    Not exactly what you were trying to do. I found that fitting the 70 degree switch close to the radiator would turn on a fan when you stopped at traffic lights, but once car got up to speed, fan would go off again. If it was connected direct to battery (with a fuse of course) then the fan would run for a short while after stopping engine.
     
  8. immortality

    immortality Home of the smoky breakfast Bacon! Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,839
    Likes Received:
    2,005
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Sth Auck, NZ
    Members Ride:
    HSV VS Senator, VX s2 Calais S/C
    All of this seems rather difficult.

    The engine already as a temp sensor and PCM that is more than capable of controlling the engine temps, you just need to have the tune altered.

    Considering how much you are spending on buying relays/switched and wiring/fittings to make this all work, you could spend the money on getting the required bits to alter the factory memcal and then there are no limits to what you could change tuneup wise.
     
    VS_Pete likes this.
  9. krisso93

    krisso93 New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    May 22, 2019
    Location:
    Warragul, victoria
    Members Ride:
    Wk statesman s2


    You can splice and run a wire from the positive wire of thermos before plug over to high speed fan relay.
    Thats what i did with my old vs when my temp sensor buggered up..

    Will just make it so fan will run high speed constantly as soon as ignition is turned on/car running..


    Not sure if that helps but it saved my butt and is handy to know.

    Cant imagine it would be real difficult to throw a switch in amungst it all
     

Share This Page