Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Have I blown my Subby?

Discussion in 'Car Audio' started by Marco-EFIVL, Aug 2, 2006.

  1. Marco-EFIVL

    Marco-EFIVL Now driving R34 GT-T taxi

    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Location:
    Perth Balcatta/Hyden (Wave Rock)
    Members Ride:
    Nissan Skyline, R34 GT-T (RB25DET NEO) sedan
    Driving out from the Como Hotler in perth one arvo, and I figured I had absolutely no bass, being on the road, I assumed someone had nicked my subby and amp. However, at a set of lights, I dived into my EQ settings and everything had been reset (I dunno how it happened), but even when I put the settings back to where they were, the sounds wasn't the same.

    Anyway, I got to a mates place and put the sound to 16, where the bass starts to kick in, but my subby was doing nothing, except depressing and rising slightly every couple of seconds.... It had nothing on it, could it be a loose connection somewhere or the system isn't connected to the battery terminal properly?

    Please tell me I haven't expired my subby within six months....
     
  2. Joe Peeps

    Joe Peeps New Member

    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VS Acclaim
    Reset of your settings most likely means a disruption to the power source of the HU. As your car started, this may just be a loose connection as you suggest. Give your terminals a clean and tighten em up. However, you sub shouldn't be affected by this as it will only turn on when your amp does. Is your amp working fine?
     
  3. semi

    semi GOD

    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Location:
    WA
    Members Ride:
    VR exec wagon
    have you been running your sub particularly hard lately? Id say that if you blew it you would have noticed at the time, maybe smelt the VC's
     
  4. Morgasshk

    Morgasshk Morgasshk

    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VY Exec 3.8L Sedan 9C1 Pack
    how much was the sub moving?

    if it's movement was massive, and no sound, i have seen blown subs do that... can't help any further than that, not my field. *shrug*
     
  5. Marco-EFIVL

    Marco-EFIVL Now driving R34 GT-T taxi

    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Location:
    Perth Balcatta/Hyden (Wave Rock)
    Members Ride:
    Nissan Skyline, R34 GT-T (RB25DET NEO) sedan
    Put it this way, from time to time I did work it hard'ish. However I don't recall anything going on with the subby prior to it 'not working', like the night before, it was all fine. The only thing I did do was I disconnected my fuel pump from the terminal to the ignition coil (Yeah, I blew a fuse). I hope, that loosing my fuel pump fuse, I might not have buggered anything up. One thing I'd like to ask is, if I did 'blow' my woofer, I would've noticed it go aye?

    Yeah, I have my 300W amp wired to my subby, if my amp doesn't come on that would show a loose connection right? If the amp DOES come on, and the subby don't work, then does that mean I'm in trouble?

    When I was describing what the subby now does, it depresses, maybe, 3cm at most, but I know it isn't normal, there is no force behind it, it just depresses, then rises again. It doesn't slam, or thump or whatever you'd call it, just in and out, like as if it was breathing (thats the best way I can describe it)....
     
  6. yobbo88

    yobbo88 Member

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Location:
    the shire sydney
    Members Ride:
    VH commodore SL wagon 253
    you can check speaker cable between amp and sub... and some amps will still turn on if somethings wrong but display an error code in the form of a light (mine is normally blue but will turn red if something is wrong) if thats the case check your earth. if thats not the case check speaker cable... if a voice coil is gone (and i dont really recommend this but i have mucked around with a broken sub before) you can push the sub cone in and the coil will make contact and the sub will work for a bit... food for thought
     
  7. VQXTC

    VQXTC Member

    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Location:
    3rd planet from the Sun...
    Members Ride:
    HSV VP Senator, VY SS Crewman
    Double check your earth to your amp, just make sure that it is metal on metal contact........The amp can still turn on even if it has a bad earth, it sometimes uses the earth from the rca's to help power it up (This is BAD).....

    What sort of headunit is it, and what sort of amp?

    Hope this helps......cheers
     
  8. semi

    semi GOD

    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Location:
    WA
    Members Ride:
    VR exec wagon
    like whats said before, it sounds like an amp issue rather than a sub issue
     
  9. Marco-EFIVL

    Marco-EFIVL Now driving R34 GT-T taxi

    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Location:
    Perth Balcatta/Hyden (Wave Rock)
    Members Ride:
    Nissan Skyline, R34 GT-T (RB25DET NEO) sedan
    All Pioneer.
    Cheers guys, I will check tomorrow!
     
  10. Marco-EFIVL

    Marco-EFIVL Now driving R34 GT-T taxi

    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Location:
    Perth Balcatta/Hyden (Wave Rock)
    Members Ride:
    Nissan Skyline, R34 GT-T (RB25DET NEO) sedan
    Ok, I checked my AMP, it seems to be working fine, the little blue light comes on so it must be getting power... I checked my battery though, I'm close to if not have already dropped a cell in my battery and my Voltage is around 11 - 12, so it ain't looking good. Is it possible my sounds system isn't getting teh juice?

    And Amp earth, where would that be located by any chance?
     
  11. Brycestro

    Brycestro New Member

    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VS Acclaim S2
    if your looking for your earth wire for your amp, there should be 2 fat wires coming out of your amplifier. One is the power, the other is the earth. There should be some indication on the amp as to which is which. Just to point out the obvious + = power, - = earth. From there you should be able to trace back the wire to a bare metal surface on the vehicle (assuming someone else installed your amplifier).

    If it's hanging around the 11 volt mark all the time that's probably not a good sign. Should be around 12.4-12.6 volts with car off and up around the 14.4 volt mark with ignition on.
     
  12. Marco-EFIVL

    Marco-EFIVL Now driving R34 GT-T taxi

    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Location:
    Perth Balcatta/Hyden (Wave Rock)
    Members Ride:
    Nissan Skyline, R34 GT-T (RB25DET NEO) sedan
    Yeah, Audiocom installed my entire system bar in already installed deck...
     
  13. yobbo88

    yobbo88 Member

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Location:
    the shire sydney
    Members Ride:
    VH commodore SL wagon 253
    the earth wire is also generally gonna be a dark brown to black colour and hopefully very short... not hard to trace it if its done right as you wont have far to go...
     
  14. garfa

    garfa New Member

    Messages:
    1,937
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Location:
    SE Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VY SS
    also try a different source. eg a gheto blaster instead of the h/u.
    do you have an amp for your speakers? if so use the ground, pos, remote wire and rca's from that amp provided the apeakers still work.
    if its ok then switch the sub out to the speaker out on the h/u so the sub out is going to the amp that drives that speakers.
    if its all good, put everything back to normal and switch remote wires.
    if its still buggered then it must be the amp.
    just trouble shoot in that sort of fasion, i just made that up in a minute so its probably not quiet right, but just do that sort of thing to make sure each partr is working till ou can narow it down to one thing.
    easier than playing a guessing game on the forum :thumbsup: . i am not trying to offend anyone but we can say its definly this certain thing unless we know for almost sure (which most of us dont).
     
  15. Marco-EFIVL

    Marco-EFIVL Now driving R34 GT-T taxi

    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Location:
    Perth Balcatta/Hyden (Wave Rock)
    Members Ride:
    Nissan Skyline, R34 GT-T (RB25DET NEO) sedan
    I only got the one amp for the Subby, speakers run straight off the deck...
     
  16. Goon

    Goon Scientific Tuning

    Messages:
    2,508
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Location:
    BrisVegas. QLD
    Members Ride:
    VY CUSTOM.
    Maybe you could try connecting another sub? get a lend from a friend to try it out.. If u think your subs shot have a go with another... :thumbsup:
     
  17. garfa

    garfa New Member

    Messages:
    1,937
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Location:
    SE Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VY SS
    well howe else could you check the power ground and remote wire? multimeter.
    use a different source still applys.
    just use your noodle to figure it out.
     
  18. phat_com

    phat_com VR IS A BEAST WITH NEW V6

    Messages:
    764
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Location:
    Tuggers (da hood),ACT
    Members Ride:
    VR s2 Acclaim/VK IS GONE :(
    hello,
    i have not read all of the reply's (first few only) and if you have blown your sub push it in and out and if it makes a sort of grinding/sanding sort of sound then it's farked. if not check all the aux connections (back of H/U and amp)
     

Share This Page