Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Head unit plug has been changed

Joined
Nov 13, 2020
Messages
43
Reaction score
1
Points
8
Age
18
Location
Wa
Members Ride
Ve ss
Went to install a head unit today in my vx ss have come to realise once I’ve taken it out they have changed the factory plug to one to suit the head unit so plug and play will not work what would be the easiest thing to do take it to a auto sparky get him to change the plugs around? The small plug is the one they have changed it to the big one is supposed to be the factory plug
 

Attachments

ephect

Donating Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2006
Messages
4,989
Reaction score
2,469
Points
113
Location
Melbourne
Members Ride
VS Acclaim V6
You can purchase aeropro harness adaptors to go from factory to your new headunit
 

Fu Manchu

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2006
Messages
5,292
Reaction score
2,732
Points
113
Location
WA.
Members Ride
Slug powered VZ, Cross 8 VZ, VE Calais & ya mum.
Op doesn’t have the factory plug though.

If you aren’t confident with changing the plug, it will be a straight forward easy job for a sparkie to sort.
 

shane_3800

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2011
Messages
1,882
Reaction score
551
Points
113
Age
32
Location
places
Members Ride
vr commo
If you take it to an auto electrician ask him if he uses heat shrink.
Some just use crimp joiners and they look ugly I use heat shrink.
 

Fu Manchu

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2006
Messages
5,292
Reaction score
2,732
Points
113
Location
WA.
Members Ride
Slug powered VZ, Cross 8 VZ, VE Calais & ya mum.
Just looked at the pictures again. Have we all missed a trick here? On that second plug (the one with female pins), is that actually two plugs? The top edge looks odd for a single plug. Looks like an adaptor plug pushed into another plug.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Lex

Lex

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2012
Messages
1,964
Reaction score
682
Points
113
Location
Geelong Victoria
Members Ride
VT Executive S1 V6 6 speed Auto Wagon
Just looked at the pictures again. Have we all missed a trick here? On that second plug (the one with female pins), is that actually two plugs? The top edge looks odd for a single plug. Looks like an adaptor plug pushed into another plug.
Yes, thats what it looks like to me. A adaptor.
Now he just needs the correct adaptor for his new h/u.
 

Bay 13

Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2020
Messages
10
Reaction score
45
Points
13
Age
25
Location
Dandy
Members Ride
Rocket VT.
So your saying you are putting the factory unit back in or are you fitting a new aftermarket one? Depends on what your working with, if its the factory unit then you will need the factory harness so its a matter of getting one from the wreakers and solder and heat shrink to your matching wire colours. If its a new after market unit and you have the plug and play then your best bet is to cut both harnesses off and hard wire them using solder and heat shrink.
If your not comfortable doing it Autobarn can fit it..
 
Top