Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Help, Pod filter install on VT 3.8 with LPG system.

Gabriel_du_Coudray

Reaction score
Members Ride
VT Berlina 3.8lt V6
hi all, i am a super newbie to all this performance mod stuff so bare with me. I have a VT berlina 3.8 on gas and i have attempted to install a pod filter. However without any knowledge and not knowing who to ring for advice, without getting the hard sell put on me, i just follow the minimal instructions on the flexable memory pipe that i bought with the filter. As i said im knew so everything i was doing was expreimental for me.

Ok i attached the Pod to the air intake line that runs to the motor, then i attached the flex pipe to the other end of the pod. (yes i did remove all the old air filter box and air intake system before starting. lol) ok having done that i stretched the flex pipe down to the bottom of the engine bay and stuck it through the bottom, temporarylt fastend it in place, so's to catch the flow of cool air from under the car. So far all had seemed simple enough, when i started the car, on petrol, it started nicely, (even though there was no air temp sensor attached anywhere) i proceeded to give it a couple of revs and it seemed fine so i took it for a test run. I felt a fairly big difference in power output to what it was before on petrol however when i attempted to switch it to gas the car just died in the ass. It wouldnt start on lpg and was quite rough whilst turning over, so after trying to start it a couple of times i felt it best not to push my luck any further and put it back to petrol. It started no probs and i drove straight home to try to source out the lpg problem and thats what brings me here...to you... and this awesome commodore site.