Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

[General] How to Jack up your car and put it on Safety Stands

jazza15

Jarryd
Reaction score
Members Ride
1999 VT II S
I just thought I would do a quick write up on how to jack up your car and put it on Safety stands.
I'm sure a lot of you on this forum are keen to start doing some work underneath your car but are a bit hesitant as you don't know where to jack up your car from and where to put the safety stands, I know I was when I first started out.
So I have taken some photo's that should help you get the idea of how it's done, but I must stress that I am not a mechanic and will not take any responsibility for any injury or worse that occurs from anyone following this how-to.
The car being used here is a VT commodore, so this should be directly releveant o VT - VZ commodore owners in regards to the positions of various underbody components. I'd assume that VS and earlier would be similar though.

First up, some key things to do when jacking up your car.
- Always jack your car up on an even and level surface, where your trolley jack is free to roll under the weight of the car if it needs to.
- Use chocks on the oppsoite wheels to the ones that will be jacked up. If you are jacking up the front, chock both of the rears to prevent them from rolling back, or forward. If you are jacking up the rear, do the same for the front (this is fairly essential considering that there is no handbrake or gears to stop the fronts from rolling in a rear wheel drive car)
- Never get under a car that is only supported by a jack, always use safety stands before proceeding to work under your car.