Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

how many sub can i run of this amp

Discussion in 'Car Audio' started by jvys, Jul 30, 2006.

  1. jvys

    jvys New Member

    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Members Ride:
    vy s 03 holden commo
  2. daron

    daron wizfiz

    Messages:
    1,416
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VE SSV
    yes it will but 2 15's will need lots power to run better
     
  3. Brycestro

    Brycestro New Member

    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VS Acclaim S2
    hhhmmm unfortunately it's not as easy as saying "2 15 inch subs will run effectively off that amplifier". You have to look at the total wrms power that would be put out by the 2 15" subs you choose (so 600wrms for 2 of the JBL's (they call it 'nominal' which i believe is almost exactly the same as the wrms rating).

    You then have to consider wiring configurations to suit the specific subwoofers and make sure that the amplifier is "x amount of ohms stable". An amplifier will USUALLY produce more power at a lower level of resistance (ohms).

    Anyways, if you were to add another one of those JBL's you'd be best wiring it with the voice coils in series and the woofers in parallel for an overall 2 ohm resistance at the amplifier. Go to this page and select the details from the boxes and you'll see a diagram (choose 2 for no. of speakers and 2 ohm dual voice coil for the voice coil impedence):
    http://www.the12volt.com/caraudio/woofer_configurations.asp

    Problem is, you'd have 600wrms power handling from the 2 subwoofers and only 360 wrms power from the amplifier. So an answer to your question - yes it would work but you would only be getting a little over half the required power to the subwoofers as compared to what they're rated to handle. So if you had the gains set too high on the amplifier you could cook something or send it into protection mode. In essence, it would work, but wouldn't be providing the power 2 of those subs would deserve.

    Hope this helps, cheers, Bryce.
     
  4. jvys

    jvys New Member

    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Members Ride:
    vy s 03 holden commo
    thanks mate that very helpfull indeed do u now any good amps that can handle 2 15'' jbl subs
     
  5. phree

    phree New Member

    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Location:
    NSW
    Members Ride:
    VTII Acclaim
    Budget?

    Because the subs are dual 2 ohm, you should wire them with the coils in series and the subs in parallel. This will provide a two ohm load to the amp.

    The 800wrms@1ohm jaycar mono would be good on a budget, still makes enough power into two ohms. Or for nicer brand name gear, something like alpines 600wrms@2ohm mono. Skys the limit really.
     
  6. Brycestro

    Brycestro New Member

    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VS Acclaim S2
    As phree has said, the Jaycar amps give you good bang for buck so you won't be breaking the bank on them and you'll still get decent quality. Check out www.jaycar.com.au and have a look at amplifiers there. There's so many possibilities, let us know how much your willing to spend on the amplifier and i'm sure we'll all give some more suggestions :)
     
  7. garfa

    garfa New Member

    Messages:
    1,937
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Location:
    SE Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VY SS
    call me stupid but from what i have listened to i would take the jaycar over an alpine offering anyday.
    i am not saying this is the case with the jaycar Vs alpine/whatever, but the subs amp is not of huge importance compared to say the speakers amp or h/u OR install. this differs with vented and sealed enclosures a bit due to the damping factor but not heaps.
     
  8. jvys

    jvys New Member

    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Members Ride:
    vy s 03 holden commo
    i wanna spend around $500 mark sumthing that goin to give a sub a work out
     
  9. semi

    semi GOD

    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Location:
    WA
    Members Ride:
    VR exec wagon
    for that much- jaycar
     
  10. jvys

    jvys New Member

    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Members Ride:
    vy s 03 holden commo
    but will that push the subs
     
  11. semi

    semi GOD

    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Location:
    WA
    Members Ride:
    VR exec wagon
    seriously, id you're smart and set your gains right it shouldnt matter. The jaycar would be best for around that price range, or oyu could get something a little deared, like the alpine m605
     
  12. Brycestro

    Brycestro New Member

    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VS Acclaim S2
    From what you've said, i'm going to second the recommendation that you go with an amp from Jaycar. They're "response" amps. There's a variety of them with different power output, have a look on the Jaycar site and find one that puts out the closest to 600wrms at 2 ohms. You shouldn't have any trouble finding one around your $500 mark there. Best of luck, give a shout if there's anything else, cheers, Bryce.
     
  13. jvys

    jvys New Member

    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Members Ride:
    vy s 03 holden commo
    do u guys think its worth having to 2 15''s or just a waste of money
     
  14. semi

    semi GOD

    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Location:
    WA
    Members Ride:
    VR exec wagon
    It depends. You probably wont notice a huge amount of better or louder bass by adding another 15. Maybe you would be better off buying a different, better sub and selling your old one??
     
  15. phree

    phree New Member

    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Location:
    NSW
    Members Ride:
    VTII Acclaim
    What semi said x2.
    Also.
    Is your current sub in the optimum enclosure? Getting the most out of what you have is the best option to start with. Most 15" subs need large enclosures, two need twice as much. How much space do you have available? How big is your current enclosure? Is it sealed or ported? If its ported, what frequency is it tuned to?

    That pioneer amp is not really suited either. Only 250wrms at 4ohms, not 1ohm stable. Should be ok for daily listening, but if you push it to hard it may clip. This is bad for the sub, it can let the smoke out!

    I'd make sure the enclosure is the best i can make it, before anything else.
     

Share This Page