Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

how to bypass Hand Brake wire to make dvd work?

D-mac

New Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2010
Messages
124
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Near Gawler
Members Ride
VY II SV8
Im trying to install Pioneer head unit, mvh 8250, and i want to bypass the hand brake to make the Multimedia section to work. The Unit requires a wire to be installed in to the power feed in to the Hand Brake to the DVD player to work. I dont want to use the Hand Brake, i want to dvd player to work on demand. The car its getting installed into is a 97 VT berlina V8. Any help would be great. Cheers
 

Rusty

٩(-̮̮̃•̃)۶
Joined
Mar 27, 2010
Messages
1,048
Reaction score
21
Points
0
Location
Queensland
Members Ride
Vt with VU/VZ bits
You could move the black button (sensor) at the base of the handbrake off to the side. That should trick it into thinking that the handbrake is always up and should allow the DVD player to function.
 

thekid93

New Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
293
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Location
brisbane
Members Ride
vt s pack
lol earth it on anything.

works for my apline one,

can put a hidden switch if ur scared by cops
 

boomnvn

SOLDER, NO CRIMP.
Joined
Oct 9, 2006
Messages
138
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
37
Location
Croydon
Website
www.KungFuKustoms.com
Members Ride
VT Exec S1 V6
don't disconnect the sensor like rusty said, this will make the handbrake light stay on the dash and when you're moving it'll be beeping away.

best way is to earth the handbrake wire with the earth wire to the head unit, but just be cautious that if you get pulled over, best to fold the screen away, or turn it off all together.

cheers,
spudley.
 

Rob_VT

Smacked Up
Joined
Jan 22, 2010
Messages
43
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Location
Wollongong, NSW
Members Ride
2000 vt exec, 2003 v2 monaro cv8
Solution = relay

hey mate i just done this on my pioneer avh p4350dvd
you need to get a 12v single pole double throw relay.
you cant just ground it with pioneers, thy need a delayed signal to ground.
go to super cheap, get a relay dont use the guide on the back of the box, super cheap got it wrong.
on top of the relay itself (i used a narva one) it shows the ciruit. split your remote signal wire that goes to your amp, and run this to the power pin (86) run a ground from the other side of the coil (85) and another ground from the normally open contact (check the relay circuit, will be 87 or 87a, the picture shows them both open but the switch will be connected to one) and finally run the green hand brake wire to the switch (pin 30)
 

Attachments

Rob_VT

Smacked Up
Joined
Jan 22, 2010
Messages
43
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Location
Wollongong, NSW
Members Ride
2000 vt exec, 2003 v2 monaro cv8
Edited picture

edited the picture (very quickly and badly, but u get the point)
blue is remote wire 86
blacks are grounds 85 and 87
green is handbrake wire 30
87a is normally open contact.
hope that makes it a little more understandable.
 

Attachments

bogan_vk

New Member
Joined
Aug 10, 2009
Messages
728
Reaction score
4
Points
0
Location
australia
Members Ride
commodore
just earth it straight to the body ,i did with my old pioneer dvd headunit .
 
Top