Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

how to divert power steering fluid

91luxy

New Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2010
Messages
107
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
brisbane
Members Ride
vs v6 commodore&vs v6 91 hilux 4x4
I have put a vs ecotech into my 4wd and havent got the power steering box for my hilux yet .
How to run the car without power steering hoses running to the power steering box . Can i just create a loop between the 2 hoses or block them off without damaging the pump .
 

91luxy

New Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2010
Messages
107
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
brisbane
Members Ride
vs v6 commodore&vs v6 91 hilux 4x4
if i block it of it would be the same as not turning the wheel wouldnt it
 

woteva

NEED 4 SPEED
Joined
Jul 18, 2005
Messages
1,802
Reaction score
2,873
Points
113
Location
Adelaide S.A.
Members Ride
VE2 Sportwagon - VR2 V6 ecotec Wag - VS2 V6 Wag
Don't block it, you will have to loop it. The fittings/hoses are different sizes so it won't be easy. Might be able to cut the ends off a couple of old hoses and put a joiner/adapter in the middle.
 

delcowizzid

on holiday
Joined
Jul 8, 2008
Messages
6,993
Reaction score
439
Points
83
Location
NZ
Members Ride
в∞ѕтεכ √&
or get a short belt and a ribbed ecotec idler pulley for the tensioner :D
 

VrWagz1

The Wagon on Wheels..
Joined
May 5, 2008
Messages
2,438
Reaction score
29
Points
48
Location
wollongong
Website
www.wagzhome.justcommodores.com.au
Members Ride
VE SSV MY09 Auto Wagon
Wouldnt blocking it of just leave the pump idling? Like no issue there, just the same if it were running in a commodore and not turning the wheel.
 

Guzzoline addict

New Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
201
Reaction score
3
Points
0
Members Ride
vr v6
I dont think you should loop it because you'll be running a high pressure hose into a low pressure reservior. Also blocking the high pressure hose might wreck the pump.You can use a ecotec ilder pulley on a pre ecotec motor to get rid of the pump http://www.osp.metrohosting.info/v6ps.html but i am not sure about the ecotec.
 

91luxy

New Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2010
Messages
107
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
brisbane
Members Ride
vs v6 commodore&vs v6 91 hilux 4x4
ha thanks Guzzoline addict and everyone.
i ended up getting the hose fixed for the power steering so its now ready 2 start
but its not starting. fuel pump is working(good fuel pressure, every thing is hooked up, turning over fine, no leaks
how do i check the spark and injectors for power or something that is stoping her going the car is a v6 ecotec auto conversion in hilux 4x4
 

delcowizzid

on holiday
Joined
Jul 8, 2008
Messages
6,993
Reaction score
439
Points
83
Location
NZ
Members Ride
в∞ѕтεכ √&
do you have a tune with no security or a bcm simulator if not it wont start
 
Top