Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

[VY] How to install Astra Electric Power Steering on a VY SS.

Discussion in 'Holden Commodore How-To's' started by MaccasRun, Aug 8, 2016.

  1. MaccasRun

    MaccasRun New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Location:
    WA
    Members Ride:
    Could be anything, Changes too often.
    How to install Astra Electric Power Steering on a VY SS.

    To get some questions out of the way:

    Why do you need this? Because the standard pumps are notorious for cooking themselves when drifting.
    Why do they cook themselves? Because of high revs at full lock.
    Why cant i just install a giant cooler and res and maybe a bigger pump pulley? you can. This is just an alternative.
    Where do i get this? from a 1998-2006 holden astra.
    Is it easier than i think? Yes
    Are there any downsides? They can be loud, but that depends on your mount. Rubber mounts = less noise.


    With this you'll never have to worry about your power steering ever again and you can smash limiter until the motor blows up.

    STEP 1: Delete the standard power steering pump and res. Leave the fluid lines there though. We need those.

    You need to unbolt the power steering pump and res and route the belt like this
    [​IMG]

    You will need another idler pulley off another waterpump and a washer to space it out. the washer needs to be 3-4mm thick with a 15+mm inner diameter.
    This will replace the small smooth pulley
    [​IMG]

    Use This Belt (6PK1420)
    [​IMG]

    It will look like this
    [​IMG]

    STEP 2: Mount the thing. I put mine where the airbox goes. Dont worry, otr is going on as soon as i get a tune.

    I made this aluminium mount
    [​IMG]

    and also mounted it to the wheel well.
    [​IMG]

    looks like this
    [​IMG]

    STEP3: Wiring the thing.

    Wiring is simple. Power Ground and Remote. Easier than wiring an amp.
    You need to run atleast 8gauge wire, They use ALOT of current.
    I ran a 30amp inline fuse to be safe.
    EDIT: THE 30A FUSE BLOWS IF YOU HOLD IT ON FULL LOCK FOR TOO LONG.
    I UPPED MINE TO A 60AMP AND IT SURVIVED BEATING ON IT RELENTLESSLY AT DRIFT PRAC.

    Heres the wires on the pump. Both remotes are needed for it to turn on.
    [​IMG]

    Heres my power connections with the fuse
    [​IMG]

    I found the fuel pump wire and spliced into that for the remote.
    Its the bigger purple one going back into the firewall from the fusebox.
    [​IMG]


    STEP4: Adapt the fluid lines so you can attach a braded hose.

    So, theres two fluid lines. a high pressure and a low pressure. the low pressure is simple.
    its just move the rubber hose that used to go to the standard res over to the res on the new pump.
    The standard hose is pretty long and reaches where i have it. Literally just a hose clamp. Easy!
    The high pressure you'll need a bunch of fittings. Here are some pics of said fittings.

    For the pump side. (Speedflow 741-06)
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    And For the other side, where I'm adapting to the line coming from the rack. (Aeroflow AF712-06)
    Speedflow don't make this, only aeroflow do.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Then you can attach any standard braded hose with -6an hose ends.
    I used 100 series stuff but thats up to you. i used a 90 and a straight hose end with 45cm of hose.
    [​IMG]

    Fill it up. You make it self bleed by turning the wheel lock to lock.
    USE PENRITE LDAS OR SIMULAR, YOU NEED THE EURO STUFF!
    "LDAS SYNTHETIC, FOR LATE MODEL EURO CARS".
    [​IMG][/IMG]

    [​IMG]

    AND YOURE DONE!! EASY AS!!
    It cost me less than a new cooler and res.
    And i will hopefully never have to worry about power steering again

     
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2017
    lmoengnr and Smitty like this.
  2. gtrboyy

    gtrboyy Active Member

    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    118
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Members Ride:
    vt ss & lc gtr
    Nice write up dude!

    Been wanting to see someone fit one of these up to something.

    They be good to hide under guard of early commodore,what's the current draw like? Tested it?
     
  3. Sabbath'

    Sabbath' Road Boss

    Messages:
    5,758
    Likes Received:
    415
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Location:
    Vic
    Members Ride:
    80 Series// MK5 GTi//
    How'd you go with the Engineers? Did they sign off on it straight away?
     
  4. MYVESSV8

    MYVESSV8 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,660
    Likes Received:
    138
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Location:
    Brisbane/GoldCoast
    Members Ride:
    VE 6LT M6
    did you connect both remote wires to fuel pump wire, I gather when you turn to left or right the pressure input from turning gets assisted by the pump (senses pressure and activates pump or is it constantly pumping with bypass when straight)
     
  5. MaccasRun

    MaccasRun New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Location:
    WA
    Members Ride:
    Could be anything, Changes too often.
    Cheers,

    Haven't tested the current draw but i used a 30amp fuse and it seems to have more than enough current so it can't be too high.

    It's a drift car, It doesn't get rego'd, and scruiteneering aren't bothered. Don't need to get it engineered.

    The remote just tells the pump to turn on. Both go to the fuel pump. It works the same as the original pump except instead of a belt turning it, the electric motor turns it. It spins all the time.
     
  6. ENVYSS

    ENVYSS New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VY SS - Dedicated Skid Car
    Where did you buy the belt from??
     
  7. MaccasRun

    MaccasRun New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Location:
    WA
    Members Ride:
    Could be anything, Changes too often.
    From Veales. They can get any size you want. Also could try repco.
     
  8. skappascrap

    skappascrap Herp is for the derp.

    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    '02 VY SV8
    Have you had any problems with leaking seals on the stock power steering rack because you're not using Dex 3 fluid?
    My mate has just done a electric power steering conversion on his drift car with the same phmp as well and I'm contemplating doing it to my VY.
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2017
  9. greenacc

    greenacc Searching for the billion

    Messages:
    4,070
    Likes Received:
    318
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VE Berlina
    If your rack isn't leaking already I doubt changing the fluid to this stuff will make it start leaking.
     
  10. Fixitup

    Fixitup New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    Vs ute
    Any issues with using 04-09 pumps
     
  11. Aaron vz thunder

    Aaron vz thunder New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2017
    Location:
    Perth
    Members Ride:
    Vz thunder
    Hi , great write up , I’m looking to do it in my vz thunder , what size pulley did you use ? Or do you have a part number that I can use , cheers
     

Share This Page