Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

[VY] How to install Astra Electric Power Steering on a VY SS.

MaccasRun

New Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2012
Messages
5
Reaction score
3
Points
3
Location
WA
Members Ride
Follow my Page at: www.facebook.com/tommelling228
How to install Astra Electric Power Steering on a VY SS.

To get some questions out of the way:

Why do you need this? Because the standard pumps are notorious for cooking themselves when drifting.
Why do they cook themselves? Because of high revs at full lock.
Why cant i just install a giant cooler and res and maybe a bigger pump pulley? you can. This is just an alternative.
Where do i get this? from a 1998-2006 holden astra.
Is it easier than i think? Yes
Are there any downsides? They can be loud, but that depends on your mount. Rubber mounts = less noise. They also take a while to start up when you first start the car. Takes 5-10 seconds.


With this you'll never have to worry about your power steering ever again and you can smash limiter until the motor blows up.

STEP 1: Delete the standard power steering pump and res. Leave the fluid lines there though. We need those.

You need to unbolt the power steering pump and res and route the belt like this
c4GCTxn.jpg


You will need another idler pulley off another waterpump and a washer to space it out. the washer needs to be 3-4mm thick with a 15+mm inner diameter.
This will replace the small smooth pulley
eLZITvZ.jpg


Use This Belt (6PK1420)
000OIAy.jpg


It will look like this
Tu1tMaY.jpg


STEP 2: Mount the thing. I put mine where the airbox goes. Dont worry, otr is going on as soon as i get a tune.

I made this aluminium mount
tWrbWlY.jpg


and also mounted it to the wheel well.
FZGp34s.jpg


looks like this
AgUXYJo.jpg


STEP3: Wiring the thing.

Wiring is simple. Power Ground and Remote. Easier than wiring an amp.
You need to run atleast 8gauge wire, They use ALOT of current.
I ran a 30amp inline fuse to be safe.
EDIT: THE 30A FUSE BLOWS IF YOU HOLD IT ON FULL LOCK FOR TOO LONG.
I UPPED MINE TO A 60AMP AND IT SURVIVED BEATING ON IT RELENTLESSLY AT DRIFT PRAC.

Heres the wires on the pump. Both remotes are needed for it to turn on.

EDIT: NEW INFORMATION HAS COME TO LIGHT. IF YOU DELAY ONE OF THE REMOTE WIRES, BY GIVING IT POWER 1 SECOND LATER, THE PUMP WILL SPOOL INSTANTLY.
I DON'T HAVE THIS INFORMATION MYSELF BUT IT'S OUT THERE AND WORTH LOOKING INTO.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/117598048272577/permalink/3300676336631383/


IMAEvOH.jpg


Heres my power connections with the fuse
trnC2ef.jpg


I found the fuel pump wire and spliced into that for the remote.
Its the bigger purple one going back into the firewall from the fusebox.
EDIT: DONT DO THIS. THERE ARE BETTER WAYS. SEE EDIT ABOVE.

Xg3zfWG.jpg



STEP4: Adapt the fluid lines so you can attach a braded hose.

So, theres two fluid lines. a high pressure and a low pressure. the low pressure is simple.
its just move the rubber hose that used to go to the standard res over to the res on the new pump.
The standard hose is pretty long and reaches where i have it. Literally just a hose clamp. Easy!
The high pressure you'll need a bunch of fittings. Here are some pics of said fittings.

For the pump side. (Speedflow 741-06)
0tMSSdz.jpg

InDxd5E.jpg

cMHyWL2.jpg


And For the other side, where I'm adapting to the line coming from the rack. (Aeroflow AF712-06)
Speedflow don't make this, only aeroflow do.
pQ17rUU.jpg

k9evDZ1.jpg

qas0Bli.jpg


Then you can attach any standard braded hose with -6an hose ends.
I used 100 series stuff but thats up to you. i used a 90 and a straight hose end with 45cm of hose.
g82tYXO.jpg


Fill it up. You make it self bleed by turning the wheel lock to lock.
USE PENRITE LDAS OR SIMULAR, YOU NEED THE EURO STUFF!
"LDAS SYNTHETIC, FOR LATE MODEL EURO CARS".
l7zpKBj.jpg
[/IMG]

l7zpKBj.jpg


AND YOURE DONE!! EASY AS!!
It cost me less than a new cooler and res.
And i will hopefully never have to worry about power steering again

 
Last edited:

gtrboyy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
3,623
Reaction score
2,024
Points
113
Members Ride
vt ss & lc gtr
Nice write up dude!

Been wanting to see someone fit one of these up to something.

They be good to hide under guard of early commodore,what's the current draw like? Tested it?
 

Sabbath'

Redblock Jesus
Joined
Jul 3, 2006
Messages
6,225
Reaction score
2,130
Points
113
Location
Vic
Members Ride
80 Series// MK5 GTi//
How'd you go with the Engineers? Did they sign off on it straight away?
 

MYVESSV8

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2009
Messages
3,073
Reaction score
318
Points
83
Location
Brisbane/GoldCoast
Members Ride
VE 6LT M6
did you connect both remote wires to fuel pump wire, I gather when you turn to left or right the pressure input from turning gets assisted by the pump (senses pressure and activates pump or is it constantly pumping with bypass when straight)
 

MaccasRun

New Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2012
Messages
5
Reaction score
3
Points
3
Location
WA
Members Ride
Follow my Page at: www.facebook.com/tommelling228
Cheers,

Haven't tested the current draw but i used a 30amp fuse and it seems to have more than enough current so it can't be too high.

It's a drift car, It doesn't get rego'd, and scruiteneering aren't bothered. Don't need to get it engineered.

The remote just tells the pump to turn on. Both go to the fuel pump. It works the same as the original pump except instead of a belt turning it, the electric motor turns it. It spins all the time.
 

ENVYSS

New Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2017
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
44
Location
Melbourne
Members Ride
VY SS - Dedicated Skid Car
Where did you buy the belt from??
 

skappascrap

Herp is for the derp.
Joined
Jul 25, 2011
Messages
351
Reaction score
49
Points
28
Location
Adelaide
Members Ride
'02 VY SV8
Have you had any problems with leaking seals on the stock power steering rack because you're not using Dex 3 fluid?
My mate has just done a electric power steering conversion on his drift car with the same phmp as well and I'm contemplating doing it to my VY.
 
Last edited:

greenacc

Searching for the billion
Joined
Jul 13, 2008
Messages
6,087
Reaction score
1,740
Points
113
Location
Sydney
Members Ride
VE Berlina
If your rack isn't leaking already I doubt changing the fluid to this stuff will make it start leaking.
 
Top