Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

How to not blow my engine up

bturn24

Reaction score
Members Ride
Vr Vs Commodore
g’day just wondering what basic mods i’d need to do to either an ecotec or buick 3.8 to not blow it up?

i’m planning on learning to drift and want a reliable engine but without an excessive amount of power because i figure i don’t really need it if i’m just beginning

cheers

gossie

Reaction score
Members Ride
VE International 3.6L
Where do you intend to learn?

bturn24

Reaction score
Members Ride
Vr Vs Commodore
Gossie probably just out at willowbank or something

_R_J_K_

Reaction score
Members Ride
Zenki S14
All the people in Brisbane usually go to Archerfield, it's super regular there.

Low power is the best way to learn, gets you concentrating on speed/steering and setup instead of relying on power. Pretty much a case of doing more with less. TBH even if you're really experienced low power drifting is really telltale of somebody who can drive well.

Engine wise I wouldn't worry apart from more maintenance. Just sort the suspension and diff out so that the car handles well, replace bushes, get tires that don't have mad sidewall bulge, use something that isn't king springs. Maybe look at K-Sport coilovers or maybe XYZ rather than Pedders, neither of them have selectable spring rates so it could be pretty hard if you daily drive it.

Last edited:

bturn24

Reaction score
Members Ride
Vr Vs Commodore
All the people in Brisbane usually go to Archerfield, it's super regular there.

Low power is the best way to learn, gets you concentrating on speed/steering and setup instead of relying on power. Pretty much a case of doing more with less. TBH even if you're really experienced low power drifting is really telltale of somebody who can drive well.