Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

How to put a tacho on vn

Pub247

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2006
Messages
3,372
Reaction score
57
Points
48
Location
Melbourne S.E.
Members Ride
Ford Fairmont
Hmmm Im about to install a tacho so ill see how it goes. I would buy a L2 dash but the odometre still works in mine. (Probley only one that works out of every VN made :p)
you can just swap the speedo's over
 

coolvxss

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
718
Reaction score
3
Points
0
Location
canberra
Members Ride
5sp VN Executive1988, VX SS 6sp
Haha more then a year now since i put the tacho on. My car got stolen exactly a year ago the other day. and i havnt had a tacho since cause it got stolen. so maybe 1and half years. I cant believe its already been a year since my car got stolen.
 

xtreme_sony

MY VP IS NOW A MANUAL
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
84
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
Vp Series 2, 3.8L Executive
I Put A tacho In A 93 VP Series 2

I Fitted a 3.75" Tacho On my dash above my middle air vents, ran the wires through the dash, connected the red wire to my On setting on my Ignition, The Black To the Under Dash Ground, and My signal wire was Green, i connected it the the brown wire about a foot out from the fire wall on the passenger side of the car in the wiring loom, Works ideal. :yeah:
 

fuzzy2308

New Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2008
Messages
963
Reaction score
101
Points
0
Location
Gippsland
Members Ride
Plastic datsun
this is the tread that that tosserr gave me neg feed back a few months ago for being a thread digger, i think it was my first post, weird, yup green to brown bang on glad u didnt have 2 ask
 

hi_ryder

Donating Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2008
Messages
3,352
Reaction score
103
Points
63
Location
Pascoe Vale South, MEL
Members Ride
vp calais ls1, vp berlina 3.8L
can never have enough tachos "OMG WHEN DO I SHIFT !! ! ! !"
 

Attachments

xtreme_sony

MY VP IS NOW A MANUAL
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
84
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
Vp Series 2, 3.8L Executive
How did you go ?

hey i was wondering how i put a tacho on my vn commodore. do i have to run a wire through the dash. where does the wire go. is it hard to fit one? cheers
G'day mate, i posted stuff to do with this topic, i was just wondering how you went, did you get that tacho fitted in alright ?.
 
Top