Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

How to replace a VE Remote/Key Pads.

Discussion in 'VE Holden Commodore (2006 - 2013)' started by BK Performance Wheels, Jul 2, 2012.

  1. BK Performance Wheels

    BK Performance Wheels New Member

    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Location:
    lawnton
    Members Ride:
    VE Commodore
    Hey guys i posted a clip the other week showing how easy it is to replace you VE key pad. Holden Commodore key - YouTube I hope it helps some of you guys out.
     
    Sean880 likes this.
  2. Sean880

    Sean880 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    182
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Location:
    VIC / NSW
    Members Ride:
    2012 VE SV6 ser 2 and 911 Porsche Carrera S 997
    Excellent and helpful video. Thanks.
     
  3. Shm1ck

    Shm1ck New Member

    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VE SV6 Thunder Ute
    Should not cost you more than $3.00 to purchase from your local dealer
     
  4. Voodoo_SV6

    Voodoo_SV6 Active Member

    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    MY12.5 E3 R8 Manual+MY16 VFII SV6+MY11 VE S2 SV6
    Excellent - thanks
     
  5. VS_Pete

    VS_Pete Donating Member

    Messages:
    4,426
    Likes Received:
    8,806
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VE II SV6 MY12 SPORTWAGON
    nice work mate thanks
     
  6. davey g-force

    davey g-force I'm a sceptic...

    Messages:
    3,060
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    "...the winner is..."
    Members Ride:
    02 RX7 S8 Spirit R 13B TT & 2013 Audi A3 1.8T DSG7
    Thanks for the vid...
     
  7. BK Performance Wheels

    BK Performance Wheels New Member

    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Location:
    lawnton
    Members Ride:
    VE Commodore
    No worries guys, The next car that I need to do a door actuator on, i'll film it and post the video too. :)
     
  8. kwaka738

    kwaka738 Member

    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Location:
    Wantirna, Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VE MY09 Berlina Sportwagon
    Dropped into the local Holden dealer and bought a replacement pad for less than $3 and installed as per the video. Easy as and it looks great. Thanks bradkimberleycars.
     
  9. silver_aquarian52

    silver_aquarian52 Donating Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Location:
    GC
    Members Ride:
    VE 09 SS-V Ute
    thanks for helpful tip !
     
  10. tommyk.

    tommyk. New Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Members Ride:
    VE SV6
    when changing from a fixed key to a flip key, can you just change the motherboard or do you have to get it reprogrammed? has anyone done it?
     
  11. BK Performance Wheels

    BK Performance Wheels New Member

    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Location:
    lawnton
    Members Ride:
    VE Commodore
    all you will need to do buy the blank blade get it cut and place it on your origanal remote.
     
  12. scouser king

    scouser king Member

    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Location:
    Rockingham, WA
    Members Ride:
    06 VE SS
    Great stuff,Sticky??
     
  13. flyjoe180

    flyjoe180 Member

    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Members Ride:
    VE SV6
    I saw this and did my key too. Brilliant, cheers!
     
  14. RoaringSky

    RoaringSky New Member

    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VE SSV MY9.5 Manual Sedan
    I always wondered how to change my worn out pad. Cheers for that! This post must be a sticky!!
     
  15. trav-p

    trav-p New Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    Location:
    adelaide
    Members Ride:
    ve berlina sportswagon
    hey guys, bought a flip key off ebay, do have both original keys and have tried the 10's acc. thing but didnt not work for me just tells me the immobilizer is now on....
    any help would be great, dont really want to pay for it to be programmed....
     
  16. Smashfist

    Smashfist Active Member

    Messages:
    807
    Likes Received:
    222
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Location:
    SE QLD
    Members Ride:
    440rwhp Cammed VF Ute
    It needs programming. The flip portion of the key (so the lower part with the blade) has a transponder in it as well. The remote is for the locking functionality and the transponder in the key is for the immobiliser. There's no way around it - if there was it would be a piece of piss to steal it.
     
  17. trav-p

    trav-p New Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    Location:
    adelaide
    Members Ride:
    ve berlina sportswagon
    yeah, after some more research my flip key doesnt have the immobilizer transponder but i a using the old buttons so no problem with the bottom half..
    how do i get the transponder out from the old key blade? ( non flip key)
     

Share This Page