Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

How to replace climate control buttons

Discussion in 'VT - VX Holden Commodore (1997 - 2002)' started by ascension24, Jul 20, 2006.

  1. ascension24

    ascension24 New Member

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
  2. daron

    daron wizfiz

    Messages:
    1,417
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VE SSV
    remove radio (make sure ya have pin code)
    remover suraound around radio/controls/dash
    4 screws hold in climate control
    replace controls
    and put it all back together
    not hard but not easy
    if ya have no idea dont try it
     
  3. ascension24

    ascension24 New Member

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    I had to remove the complete dash out of my last car to change the heater core, so this shouldnt be too much of a problem. I just dont have the workshop manual so not sure how to go about it.

    Okai heres a pic i found, not my car but same.
    http://images.carsales.com.au/private/1352778.jpg
    First, how do you remove the radio?
    When you say remove the surround raio/control/dash do you mean the whole wood grain bit?

    Thanks for help.
     
  4. accentstencil

    accentstencil Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    7,993
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Location:
    Eschol Park, Sydney
    Members Ride:
    WH II Caprice, 5.7 2017 Captiva.
  5. ascension24

    ascension24 New Member

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Okai, thanks. but now once the radio is out how do I get the surrounding dash out?
     
  6. myberlina

    myberlina BAD COP! NO DOUGHNUT!!!

    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    Melbourne, VICTORIA
    Members Ride:
    2006 VE Calais
    Once the radio is out I think you need to take the screws out from the surrounding panel that goes around the transmission. They should be at the back behind the rubber mat directly under the ash tray/change holder.

    Prise the panel upwards. It may take SOME force to do this (I know mine did) and then unplug the power window controls.

    Beyond that all you have to do is take out the screws around the surrounding panel. If I remember correctly there are 7 screws not including the 2 screws taken out for the lower surround panel.

    The rest of the surrounding panel is held in by clips with release when pulled upon GENTLY.

    The climate control unit itself is secured by a total of 3 screws. Take them out and unplug the 2 sockets at the rear.

    Unscrew the back of the climate control unit, disassemble and replace the button that is broken
    -= OR =-
    replace the unit with another one from the same model. Calais and Berlina are different (if you didn't already know).





    Hope that helps
     
  7. ascension24

    ascension24 New Member

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Okai thanks heaps, should be easy to do now.

    Last question, you said the calais and berlina ones are different? how so?

    If i am replacing just the buttons at the front does it matter where it comes from? or are the buttons different aswell?
     
  8. WAGON MAN

    WAGON MAN Gas Sleeper

    Messages:
    1,059
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    North Coast , NSW
    Members Ride:
    VX S2 Berlina Wagon with Phreddied bits.
    The climate control head unit is the same.....:whistling

    Only difference being the Berlina has single zone climate control and the Calais has dual zone climate control........

    Good luck;)
     
  9. myberlina

    myberlina BAD COP! NO DOUGHNUT!!!

    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    Melbourne, VICTORIA
    Members Ride:
    2006 VE Calais
    If you are replacing just the buttons then you will have no problems at all

    At least that way you can get rid of the MIN and MAX part!!! I would love to do that.
     
  10. AJH

    AJH Guest

    Climate control

    i tried to do what your doing on my berlina after all the lights died in it. i read a guide of the net....pretty straight forward, like the others have mentioned above, but it takes a while and gets frustrating. you have be so careful when taking the buttons out, some have little plastics rods that push circuit from the button while others dont. i screwed up as i was unaware of these little rods when i opened the unit up and they went flying evrywhere. no demister during the first few weeks of winter was fun.
    after that it was never the same, eg it would turn off when i started the car and turned on when you turned the car off. even though i didnt damage the unit itself.
    so i had spend a 150 on a new unit (second hand), and 100 for labour for holden to put it in properly.
    the only good thing is i got a calais climate control in my berlina so now i have dual zone, and its does work.
    my advice is spend the 100 dollars and know its done properly.
     
  11. myberlina

    myberlina BAD COP! NO DOUGHNUT!!!

    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    Melbourne, VICTORIA
    Members Ride:
    2006 VE Calais
    So by putting the calais unit in you achieved dual zone? I though that required modification to the ventilation system.
     
  12. AJH

    AJH Guest

    yeah it seems to, when im driving and the girlfriend is the car she gets cold but im too hot, she adjusts the buttons on her side of the unit and it blows out the warm air while mine is still cool,

    i didnt even realise that the unit i bought was a calais climate control until the guys at holden told me. plus i dont have those stupid min/max buttons anymore which never made any sense
     

Share This Page