Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

How to Replace VZ Calais Volume Controls

Discussion in 'VZ Holden Commodore (2004 - 2006)' started by KrisHolden, Aug 30, 2011.

  1. KrisHolden

    KrisHolden Member

    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Location:
    NSW
    Members Ride:
    VF Calais V
    I just got a replacement set from Holden Spare parts for the control buttons on my VZ Calais.
    However, although they come as a left and right set together, I only need to change the right controls ie the volume buttons.

    Can anybody assist me by providing detailed instructions on how I can replace them myself? I couldnt find anything about the VZs through search.


    Thanks and apprecaite it!
     
  2. Torquative

    Torquative Sports Economy

    Messages:
    1,583
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VE SV6 3.6L SIDI 6sp
  3. KrisHolden

    KrisHolden Member

    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Location:
    NSW
    Members Ride:
    VF Calais V
    Appreciate it, saw that link but didnt open it cause I thought that was for purly the steering wheel. It looks like its more associated with removing the steering wheel. Doesnt really show how to remove the controls off the wheel and back. Or did I miss it?

    Cheers!
     
  4. KrisHolden

    KrisHolden Member

    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Location:
    NSW
    Members Ride:
    VF Calais V
    .... I see the screws, but is there more to it in terms of connectivity?
     
  5. ParkwayDrv

    ParkwayDrv Slave to the game

    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Location:
    Perf, Westurn Austrelia
    Members Ride:
    VZ SSZ
    ^Just a plug
     
  6. KrisHolden

    KrisHolden Member

    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Location:
    NSW
    Members Ride:
    VF Calais V
    lol thanks.
    I think Im just gonna get an auto-electrician to do it. Im guessing they will ask for an hour, although it seems as though it would take 30mins lol
     
  7. Torquative

    Torquative Sports Economy

    Messages:
    1,583
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VE SV6 3.6L SIDI 6sp
    not even 30 mins, the hardest part is getting the air bag off, although getting the wiring out from between the spokes and rear cover can be difficult.

    If he's reasonably priced I'd say go for it. Otherwise where abouts in NSW are you? I'm sure someone would do it for half the price - like a 6 pack of beer!
     
  8. KrisHolden

    KrisHolden Member

    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Location:
    NSW
    Members Ride:
    VF Calais V
    ^ lol thx man Im at Manly, Sydney, NSW. Anybody who knows how to do it without giving a airbag fault and wants an easy $40 cash or so let me know... thatll buy you a few 6 packs lol
     
  9. RiCeY

    RiCeY F O R U M W A R R I O R

    Messages:
    4,047
    Likes Received:
    354
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VZ SV8 6spd 5.7
    Just disconnect the battery and let it sit for a few minutes before removing airbag and it wont throw codes.
     
  10. Torquative

    Torquative Sports Economy

    Messages:
    1,583
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VE SV6 3.6L SIDI 6sp
    well the trick really is to make sure the key isnt in the ignition!

    The SRS warning only gets thrown if the module gets power before the bag is connected, unless youve done something extremely wrong with it.

    I always just unplug the battery for peace of mind that theres no power running to it at all and never had an issue. Ive replaced them twice in the Adventra, once in mums Equipe (on the weekend!) and twice in mine.

    Kris, Im not out your way anytime soon otherwise I would have put my hand up :(
     
  11. RiCeY

    RiCeY F O R U M W A R R I O R

    Messages:
    4,047
    Likes Received:
    354
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VZ SV8 6spd 5.7
    Disconnecting battery is to ensure the airbag isnt live while removing it.
     
  12. Torquative

    Torquative Sports Economy

    Messages:
    1,583
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VE SV6 3.6L SIDI 6sp
    hmm ... good point also !!!
     
  13. VKCOMMO

    VKCOMMO Carpark Mechanic.....

    Messages:
    2,011
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Location:
    Springwood, NSW
    Members Ride:
    VP V6 T5, '77 BMW 320i e21, and a pair of Nike Air
    Remember, the airbag has an inbuilt battery (so when you crash and tear out the battery, it can still deploy), so remember to take off the battery, and then leave it to sit for 10-20 mins before yanking it off..
     
  14. KrisHolden

    KrisHolden Member

    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Location:
    NSW
    Members Ride:
    VF Calais V
    Thanks guys!
    Really do appreciate it. But due to being so busy and not the best when it comes to being a handyman Iv gotta get someone to do it.
    Thanks Torquative for offering :)

    Id be happy to give someone 50 for the replace. Anybody who wants to come to Manly, NSW let me know. Ill probably get it fixed within the next month or so otherwise :)

    Thanks everyone!
     
  15. SH.00.MA

    SH.00.MA New Member

    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VZ 5.7L
    What happened, did one of your buttons on the right side just break ? That happened to me, i just got another set of buttons, seperated the cover of the new buttons and the old ones and then clipped the new cover on - if that makes sense, didnt need to remove them from the steering wheel... that was after airbag removal of course.

    If you look closely at your new set you should see on the inside where the top cover of the buttons can unclip, 2 joints if i remember

    I could help, but i dont have the tool to remove the airbag anymore, and i suck with a screwdriver at trying to get the bag off
     
  16. RiCeY

    RiCeY F O R U M W A R R I O R

    Messages:
    4,047
    Likes Received:
    354
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VZ SV8 6spd 5.7
    Not a battery as such but yes it does hold charge in capacitor/s but 5 mins should be sufficient to discharge.
     
  17. RiCeY

    RiCeY F O R U M W A R R I O R

    Messages:
    4,047
    Likes Received:
    354
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VZ SV8 6spd 5.7
    If youre paying for a new set of buttons you may as well use them, not just the covers, as the switches wear out over time as well. That and you risk breaking the buttons removing them.
     
  18. SH.00.MA

    SH.00.MA New Member

    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VZ 5.7L
    depends but, if you have an aftermarket stereo like me, then you will never use those buttons and just have them sitting nice and pretty never to break again cuz theyre not used... but u do have a point
     
  19. RiCeY

    RiCeY F O R U M W A R R I O R

    Messages:
    4,047
    Likes Received:
    354
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VZ SV8 6spd 5.7
    I was under the impression you could get kits to enable to use of the buttons on some aftermarket decks?
     
  20. KrisHolden

    KrisHolden Member

    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Location:
    NSW
    Members Ride:
    VF Calais V
    hey man... yeah the damn +vol button broke off inside. iv just made a temporary fix and glued the button sorta back into position so it works, but is loose at the same time.
    I have already got the new spare part, just need to install it. Ill do it when the glue stops doing its job... which will probabaly happen over summer lol

    I appreciate your help and thanks for the offer... Im not that fussed, and dont feel comfortable working around the airbag so Ill just pay the going rate to get it changed over :)

    cheers!
     

Share This Page