Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

how to run 4ga through firewall to cabin ??

savage1987

Donating Member
Joined
May 8, 2005
Messages
3,660
Reaction score
31
Points
48
Location
Townsville
Website
www.facebook.com
Members Ride
LS1 VN + WK Grange 0010 + HPW VX SS
having mammoth headfark of a time trying to get 4ga through to cabin in my VN

no idea how to do this, i usually use clutch grommet but that's taken
got it through a grommet I installed for clutch hose slightly higher up, can get the cable through no worries but can't for the life of me get to where it ends up in the cabin.. :(


need this done ASAP even if only temporary solution - NEED STEREO FOR 4000KM DRIVE TOMORROW
 

2DIE

ONEDOLLAHOLLA
Joined
Feb 8, 2008
Messages
744
Reaction score
6
Points
18
Location
South Aus
Website
www.torn.com
Members Ride
97 Acclaim
This might be a little extreme, I wouldn't want to do it on my car.

 

savage1987

Donating Member
Joined
May 8, 2005
Messages
3,660
Reaction score
31
Points
48
Location
Townsville
Website
www.facebook.com
Members Ride
LS1 VN + WK Grange 0010 + HPW VX SS
I'd rather avoid if possible. It's an option though, if i can find somewhere safe. My car is not for winning trophies so I don't care about an extra hole in f/wall...

I just don't want to hit wiring, got a long drive that MUST start tomorrow morning so I cannot afford to risk disabling the car
 

acarmody

Donati..Whoa Green
Joined
Apr 29, 2007
Messages
5,920
Reaction score
47
Points
48
Location
Brisbane
Members Ride
VX Berlina
Find any existing hole in firewall, even ECU harness if you have too.
 

2DIE

ONEDOLLAHOLLA
Joined
Feb 8, 2008
Messages
744
Reaction score
6
Points
18
Location
South Aus
Website
www.torn.com
Members Ride
97 Acclaim
Ill go and have a look at my VN in a few mins, I doubt I'll find anything you cant see already though. Not sure how big 4ga wire is either but Ill just look for a big opening anywhere.
 

acarmody

Donati..Whoa Green
Joined
Apr 29, 2007
Messages
5,920
Reaction score
47
Points
48
Location
Brisbane
Members Ride
VX Berlina
4GA is about 10-12mm
 

db_notso

diagnostic technician...
Joined
Oct 2, 2010
Messages
979
Reaction score
7
Points
0
Age
34
Location
sunshine coast, qld
Members Ride
vt v6, mods(susp brakesetc...)
i went through the rubber grommet rh to of firewall under dash
used a crew driver to start hole then forced the wire through it
this way no smells getting into cabbin from too bigger hole
there is about 20mm space in grommet between wiring and metal of firewall
just make sur you fuse the wire in case you miscalculate and it ends up rubbing on metal
 

2DIE

ONEDOLLAHOLLA
Joined
Feb 8, 2008
Messages
744
Reaction score
6
Points
18
Location
South Aus
Website
www.torn.com
Members Ride
97 Acclaim
For a quick fix could you run the RCA's down the middle or still too short?
 

savage1987

Donating Member
Joined
May 8, 2005
Messages
3,660
Reaction score
31
Points
48
Location
Townsville
Website
www.facebook.com
Members Ride
LS1 VN + WK Grange 0010 + HPW VX SS
thought about that, might do it but i have BULK **** to fit in car for the trip so risks damage. probably do it anyway.

bigger problem

after butchering wiring onto new battery terminals, the ####ing negative one is too big. why does this **** always happen at the worst times
 
Top