Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

HOW TO Steering Controls VX/VY

Discussion in 'Car Audio' started by boardyboy1979, Aug 27, 2005.

  1. Tasmaniak

    Tasmaniak Not a valid input....

    Messages:
    8,094
    Likes Received:
    115
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Location:
    S.E. Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VR Stato, C180 Kompressor, Prado and Ka
    One wire is 12V in and the other wire is your signal out. Your signal out is simply a lower voltage then 12V due to the resistors. The buttons simply work by changing the voltage to the headunit. E.g. Headunit recieves 3V and it raises the volume. at 4.5V it lowers the volume. I do NOT recall the actual voltages applied so do not take those two given as gospel. I'm probably WAY off base with that one.
     
  2. kopper69

    kopper69 New Member

    Messages:
    2,617
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VRII Acclaim
    Nah, dont think so evil inside.

    There are two coming from the steering wheel controls, black and yellow. Black is the ground. Yellow must be the signal.

    There is definatly more to it than resistors. I measured the output connector while pressing the buttons, resistance was infinity no matter what button was pressed. Yes it is going to be a voltage, but no, not as simple as resistors.

    Tenuki, if you could find that out, that would be a great help. Might have to pull the air bag off though. My buttons arent hooked up, otherwise I would do it.
     
  3. michaelw

    michaelw Donating Member

    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Location:
    Newcastle NSW
    Members Ride:
    VX S2
    I have found some code to decode RC5 codes (that is the code most used by IR remotes). I'll try and make something for the IR part this weekend.

    Yes any info on the wheel controls will be great.

    Mike
     
  4. kopper69

    kopper69 New Member

    Messages:
    2,617
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VRII Acclaim
    Any word on the steering controls michaelw? If you do throw it in can you let me know?
     
  5. michaelw

    michaelw Donating Member

    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Location:
    Newcastle NSW
    Members Ride:
    VX S2
    We are now buying a new house so my lovely new work-bench will be in action in a few weeks.

    Mike
     
  6. karlos_1984

    karlos_1984 New Member

    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Members Ride:
    VX Executive S2
    any progress mate? still hanging out to see how it all goes?
     
  7. michaelw

    michaelw Donating Member

    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Location:
    Newcastle NSW
    Members Ride:
    VX S2
    We now have a new house (and will be in debt for a while).

    I have got the VZ controls up and can now control my TV from the VZ buttons. I need to get a VT set and source a few car cd remotes to test.

    Mike
     
  8. antis0cial

    antis0cial New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Location:
    WA
    Members Ride:
    VX Commodore
    I have seen a few of these things around but whats the difference between CAT08, CAT09 and CAT10? They all seem to claim to work on a VX Commodore steering controls.

    I have a JVC KD-AVX11 head unit, Does it matter on the unit or remote or will it work in basically a VX with any brand unit which is specified on the packaging of the CAT?

    Seems you guys are getting them for 130-150. Over here in Perth Ive been quotted $250, $270 and final quote was $300 and thats just for the unit Install averages from $40-$70. I mean the unit is even $250 on ebay. Am i getting over charged?

    Thanks in advance
     
  9. r0nniem

    r0nniem New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VS Calais
    The difference between the CAT models are that mainly we've added new headunit brands or vehicles:

    CAT08
    Supports Alpine, Clarion, JVC, Kenwood, Panasonic, Pioneer & Sony headunits and Holden VR, VS, VT, VX, VY, Barina XC and Ford AU1 & AU2 vehicles.
    Note: Holden VR & VS not support with Kenwood or JVC headunits.

    CAT09
    Supports the above plus Eclipse headunits and Holden Astra & Vectra vehicles.
    Note: Holden VR & VS not support with Kenwood or JVC headunits.

    CAT10
    Now comes with standard with both direct 3.5mm plug and infrared led. No need for seperate purchase.
    Supports the Alpine Infrared & Direct, Blaupunkt Infrared, Clarion Direct & Infrared, Eclipse Infrared & Direct (with extra PCB Supplied), JVC DVD Infrared, JVC Infrared, Kenwood Infrared & Direct, Panasonic DVD Infrared, Panasonic Infrared, Pioneer Infrared and Sony Infrared headunits.
    Holden VR, VS, VT, VX, VY, VZ, Barina XC, Astra TS, Vectra, Ford AU1, AU2, AU3, BA, Territory, Mazda 3 & 6 and Mitsubishi 380.
    Note: Holden VR & VS not support with Kenwood or JVC.

    Hope that helps.
    RonnieM
    THE CAT
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2008
  10. michaelw

    michaelw Donating Member

    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Location:
    Newcastle NSW
    Members Ride:
    VX S2
    Current status.

    I have decoded the vs/vr controls (WHAT A MESS!), things get much easier in the VX and VZ controls. I have managed to get screwed over in ebay as I tried to buy a set of vx controls (the bloke managed to send me the wrong ones then 'lost' the other set in the mail).

    I have asked in the WTB section if someone has a spare set of vx controls they don't mind lending for a couple of weeks.

    The vt/vx , vy/vz and for anyone who cares the ford ba controls all have just resistors in them. If you tried to decode the signal with a CRO you will get a funny signal as there is a trick to read analog resistors with a digital chip.

    I might start a new thread as this is getting kinda off topic.

    Mike
     
  11. shaneo88

    shaneo88 New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD
    Members Ride:
    VZ Berlina
    Yea well i have just ordered a cat-10 from strathfield which will cost $250 fitted.
     
  12. kinga

    kinga New Member

    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VZ Wagon
    I just installed in my VZ the PAC SWI-JACK I purchased from Ebay US for $55 AU shipped. JACK stands for Jvc Alpine Clarion Kenwood (J.A.C.K) and as promised works well with my alpine Head unit. Was quoted $250 for the CAT module through northfield, Bugger that, so I did some research and found the PAC SWI models.
    The PAC SWI JACK is a US based product so was a bit hesitant to get it, but As the Pontiac GTO is just a rebadged monaro I copied the setttings for that model from the online guide and worked first time. Easy as to install, four wires connected and your done.
    Just follow the online install here

    Pac-audio.com Steering Wheel Interface | iPod Integration for your car and More by Pac-Audio - Connecting you to the future

    The SWI JACK model connects via a 3.5 mm stereo earphone jack to the back of the headunit, no infrared needed.

    CATmodules can go jump, cant see how they can justify that price
     
  13. Mynameisntfrank

    Mynameisntfrank New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Members Ride:
    05 VZ Executive Wagon
    Need help with installing an aftermarket double din into my vz
    hey i have a pioneer double din headunit and i wish to install this into my vz by taking the factory one out. i also intend on puting an additional 2 speakers in the car and an amp nd sub compilation. i know how to do most of the job but my question is. Will wen i change the units over the wire harness that contains all my accesories, earth, speaker wires, 12v power etc. fit from the stock unit to the pioneer one? Also will the steering controls work? i know the brown lead conects this to the wheel. and finally. will the head unit turn off wen i open my door as the factory one does?
    cheers.
     
  14. Josheh

    Josheh Soon to be Boater

    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Location:
    South Australia, Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    SOLD - VX, Now have MY14 CRUZE
    I'm not POSITIVE on what you're asking, but have a read here Someone might have answered your question when helping me -

    http://forums.justcommodores.com.au/car-audio/133035-car-dvd-players.html

    And if the double din dvd player has the Steering wheel control cable I think it will work, Not 100% sure... Have a read, Can reply / ask what ever you need in their too if you like.
     
  15. maccaz69

    maccaz69 New Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Hi guys,

    sorry to dig up a really old post but i want to put a vy steering wheel on a wh statesman cat 08 interface would work?
    As I understand it the wh statesman controls go direct to the stereo and bypass the bcm.
    I don't know if the interface accomodates this or it expects the bcm signal only?
     

Share This Page