Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Humungus fuel usage

Discussion in 'VE Holden Commodore (2006 - 2013)' started by VEdriver59, May 25, 2018.

  1. VEdriver59

    VEdriver59 Member

    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Location:
    Perth
    Members Ride:
    VE, 09 of 2008, Omega, Auto, 3.6 Litre, 6 Cylinder
    I'm going to change the plugs on my ve because its done 135k without the plugs ever having being changed, to the best of my knowledge anyway.

    As this car goes through humungas amounts of fuel I am wondering wat the problem could be if changing the plugs does not fix the problem.

    One thing I've noticed for a while is that it seems to idle fairly fast, eg, I have to keep my foot on the brake as I go into the garage so as to stop it from hitting the wall. Once upon a time it would roll into the garage and only a slight touch of the brake would be enough to stop it without any jerk.

    What causes it to idle too fast and would that explain the amount of fuel it slurps up?

    If changing the plugs and reducing the idle speed does not stop the excessive ful use what else should I look at?

    There is no smell of petrol anywhere so I cant see that there is a leak in the system but there must be something causing it.

    If petrol was alcohol, my car's engine would get locked up for 2 years.

    thanks
     
  2. immortality

    immortality No more smoky bacon :( Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,860
    Likes Received:
    2,923
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Sth Auck, NZ
    Members Ride:
    HSV VS Senator, VX s2 Calais S/C
    Has the engine been serviced in that time?

    Start with all the basic service items and see how it goes. Definitely do the plugs first.
     
  3. losh1971

    losh1971 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    7,812
    Likes Received:
    2,497
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Location:
    North Tas
    Members Ride:
    VR Ute V6
    What mileage are you getting?
     
  4. redvxr8clubby

    redvxr8clubby Active Member

    Messages:
    858
    Likes Received:
    159
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast QLD
    Members Ride:
    VX Clubsport R8 & VE SS
    and average speed also
     
  5. commy vk

    commy vk Active Member

    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Location:
    South Coast Region
    Members Ride:
    commodore ve
    May not help U much but worth a try
    Start engine and let it idle for about 3 mins just on it's own.
    Might just be a relearn.
     
  6. cruelass

    cruelass Member

    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Location:
    the shire
    Members Ride:
    2007 VE SS
    My 07 SS recently developed a problem with the temp sensor. For about 6 months it would only show 1/8 on the temp gauge. Car felt sluggish and chewed heaps of juice. I thought the thermostat may be stuck and only when it completely failed and threw up a service light did i scan it and found the coolant temp sensor had **** itself. I changed that and fuel usage improved and the car runs way better. Does your car get up to temp? maybe stuck in the warmup loop or something
     
  7. VTS5

    VTS5 TechJunkie

    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    139
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Sth.East\Melb
    Members Ride:
    VE OMEGA 3.6L Dual Fuel
    Check the air cleaner element, give your Maf sensor a good bath and with the new plugs you might be happy.... again
     
    commy vk likes this.
  8. RiCeY

    RiCeY F O R U M W A R R I O R

    Messages:
    4,126
    Likes Received:
    446
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VZ SV8 6spd 6.0 470rwhp
    New plugs won't fix it. Possibly a vacuum leak causing it to run lean and idle high. Check for any vac leaks.

    Need a scan tool to check fuel trims and O2 sensor activity.
     
    commodore665 likes this.
  9. lout

    lout Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,461
    Likes Received:
    321
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Location:
    Langwarrin Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VX Executive S2
    going with coolant sensor as first choice
    or vac leak as already mentioned
    plugs could cause it ,but would expect a misfire code
     

Share This Page