Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

I Brought L3 Cluster Yesterday & Got Told

chopsy

New Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2006
Messages
232
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Members Ride
VN S2/ Original XRGT
As the heading says i brought a L3 cluster yesterday cost me $66 big differance between $125 that afew places quoted me.Anyway enough of that when i brought my l3 cluster i also asked the bloke if he would have the extra plugs that i need.He then asked me what model car i have i told him 91mdl s2 VN he said dont worry the plugs will already be there he had a look at my car and could'nt see them but he assured me they where there but proberly tucked away some where.IS this true will my car have the plugs? i stopped on the way home and got the plugs that i need anyway.

Also i've noticed on some vn's there is a spare plug sticky taped to the steering colum i'm pretty sure it's got 3 wires running to it one's pink but i forget the other two.Does anyone know what this plug is for?
 

azkwazere

Ahhh Yes, Ahhh Yes....
Joined
May 30, 2005
Messages
1,813
Reaction score
39
Points
0
Age
36
Location
.....SE Burbs
Members Ride
VP 5-SPD / 24-SPD Racer Hybrid
Hey mate... you shouldn't have the fourth connector.... as its a calais thing. If you got a berline maybe... im guessing no though.

You never know as holden cars are like meat pies.. your waiting for the day that you find a random finger in one...

As for the other plug... i have the same car as you basically.. same year... and i dont have one... maybe aftermarket???

aZk.
 

stocky

New Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2005
Messages
5,040
Reaction score
80
Points
0
Age
36
Location
Melbourne
Members Ride
1995 HSV Clubsport T5, 1991 VN Berlina
i think the first VNs had them. 88 models. i dont think holden bothered making multiple wiring looms for different models when they first produced the VN
 
Last edited:

vn88calais

Perth Representative
Joined
Jun 17, 2005
Messages
391
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
36
Location
Perth, Western Australia
Website
www.cardomain.com
Members Ride
VY Commodore 2002
stocky said:
i think the first VNs had them. 89 models. i dont think holden bothered making multiple wiring looms for different models when they first produced the VN

actually first models were 88 ;) haha...

cheers, Todd
 

stocky

New Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2005
Messages
5,040
Reaction score
80
Points
0
Age
36
Location
Melbourne
Members Ride
1995 HSV Clubsport T5, 1991 VN Berlina
vn88calais said:
actually first models were 88 ;) haha...

cheers, Todd

yeah thanks. typo. its fixed now
 

maginoodle

Active Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2006
Messages
827
Reaction score
70
Points
28
Members Ride
vy series2 ss crewman
is the 3 pin plug under the shroud and on the left side of the column? if so its probably the cruise control wires that go to the blinker stalk
 

getafix

Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2005
Messages
53
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Age
43
Members Ride
VN S1 V6 M5
cruise on vn/vp isnt on the blinker stalk, itson the right side cluster
 

88GreenVN

Next Exit Left
Joined
Jun 12, 2006
Messages
6,795
Reaction score
136
Points
63
Age
60
Location
Surprise, Arizona
Members Ride
Dodge Ram Van 1500 5.2 V8
The only VN's with the 4th plug is the Calais!! I have a 88 Vn exec from new and when upgrading to the Calais had to replace the loom.
 
Top