Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Idle learn procedure.

Discussion in 'VT - VX Holden Commodore (1997 - 2002)' started by accentstencil, Oct 25, 2017.

  1. accentstencil

    accentstencil Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    8,074
    Likes Received:
    339
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Location:
    Eschol Park, Sydney
    Members Ride:
    WH II Caprice, 5.7 2017 Captiva.
    Is this really necessary, that's 40 minutes of idling.

    IDLE LEARN PROCEDURE
    Whenever the PCM or the battery is disconnected or the PCM loses power, the PCM’s learned position of the IAC
    valve pintle is lost, resulting in an unstable idle.
    Perform the following procedure in order to return the IAC valve pintle to the correct position:
    Automatic Transmission
    1. Turn OFF the ignition.
    2. Restore the PCM battery feed.
    3. Turn OFF the A/C controls.
    4. Set the park brake and block the drive wheels.
    5. Start the engine.
    6. Shift the transmission selector to D (drive).
    7. Allow the engine to idle for 10 minutes.
    8. Turn ON the A/C controls.
    9. Allow the engine to idle for 10 minutes.
    10. Shift the transmission selector to P (park).
    11. Allow the engine to idle for 10 minutes.
    12. Turn OFF the A/C controls.
    13. Allow the engine to idle for 10 minutes.
    14. Turn OFF the engine for 30 seconds.
     
    Tonner Matt likes this.
  2. uniacidz

    uniacidz Harden the Frak Up

    Messages:
    2,265
    Likes Received:
    166
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Location:
    Sideneee
    Members Ride:
    VE Berlina
    I just turn on car and drive
     
    Commo Baba and skappascrap like this.
  3. HSVBMW

    HSVBMW Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    Location:
    South Australia
    Members Ride:
    vh vn vt
    10 seconds not minutes works just fine.
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2017
  4. accentstencil

    accentstencil Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    8,074
    Likes Received:
    339
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Location:
    Eschol Park, Sydney
    Members Ride:
    WH II Caprice, 5.7 2017 Captiva.
    I might give it a give it a go as it might fix the shudder problem outlined in my other thread.
    Seems like a pain going through that every time the battery gets disconnected.
    Me too, but perhaps that's not good enough.
     
  5. uniacidz

    uniacidz Harden the Frak Up

    Messages:
    2,265
    Likes Received:
    166
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Location:
    Sideneee
    Members Ride:
    VE Berlina
    Stuttering can be a few things from throttle position sensor, spark plugs, ignition coils to spark plug leads if old, fuel pump and fuel filter
    Even gaps in the gaskets on the manifold

    Dont think learning procedure will help, as car learns from driving anyway.

    Good luck
     
  6. accentstencil

    accentstencil Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    8,074
    Likes Received:
    339
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Location:
    Eschol Park, Sydney
    Members Ride:
    WH II Caprice, 5.7 2017 Captiva.
    I too was skeptical but it seems to have worked, not a single shudder when stopping.
    I suppose Holden know what needs to be done but they could have made it a little easier, maybe 5 minutes between each step instead of 10.

    As a side note " THIS PROCEDURE IS FOR THE 5.7 LITRE V8".
     
    Tonner Matt likes this.
  7. uniacidz

    uniacidz Harden the Frak Up

    Messages:
    2,265
    Likes Received:
    166
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Location:
    Sideneee
    Members Ride:
    VE Berlina
    Odd but happy to be corrected.

    I used to do something similar to my Falcon, wasnt about stuttering though and just for battery disconnecting, was just procedure i followed for the Ford and was told the Commodore doesnt need similar
     
    accentstencil likes this.
  8. Tonner Matt

    Tonner Matt Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,705
    Likes Received:
    1,486
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Location:
    Darwin
    Members Ride:
    VZ 1 Tonner LS1 M6
    40 minutes... Bloody Hell, Well at least it worked and wasn't a waste of fuel.
    It's bad enough watching the clock when doing it with a manual for 20 minutes.

    IDLE RELEARN FOR MANUAL
    All accessories off
    Idle 10 mins with A/C on
    Idle 10 mins with A/C off
    Engine off for a minimum of 30 seconds before restarting

    I have to agree 100% that it works.
    I've had an issue a couple of times with mine since I've owned it where it wouldn't return to idle and it would hang at 1,000 - 1,100rpm.....revving it a couple of times didn't work either.
    Doing the idle relearn procedure fixed it each time

    Just to add:
    Because I use a K&N Filter, the first time it started idling high I figured the MAF probably got oil on it's sensor wires and caused the issue.
    Cleaning the MAF didn't fix the issue, did the idle relearn and it was all good again.
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2017
    accentstencil likes this.
  9. Nut Kracker

    Nut Kracker Donating Member

    Messages:
    4,760
    Likes Received:
    129
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Location:
    Echuca Vic.
    Members Ride:
    VT SS 304ci (195i)
    Here you go......
    Courtesy of the Holden Factory Service Manual.
    And it's for the Gen III auto and manual transmissions.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 26, 2017
  10. Commo Baba

    Commo Baba Active Member

    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Location:
    Bega Valley
    Members Ride:
    VX II Acclaim Wagon.
    It needs to learn idle! ?
    News to me.
    Would have thought there would be a default reset. I bet no one does all that.
    Useful if it solved your problem at least.
     
  11. Drewie

    Drewie Active Member

    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Location:
    East of Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VX SS (Original owner).
    Had the battery out of my VX SS several times for long periods during the 16 years I have had it and never had any problems just reconnecting the battery and driving off. Mine idles very smooth. I guess if you have a problem and it works it is handy to know about.
     
  12. devilly

    devilly Guest

    That's awesome news and it cost you too much either.
     
    accentstencil likes this.
  13. accentstencil

    accentstencil Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    8,074
    Likes Received:
    339
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Location:
    Eschol Park, Sydney
    Members Ride:
    WH II Caprice, 5.7 2017 Captiva.
    I've disconnected the battery many times as well and it always idled well with out the learn procedure but that shudder when stopping has plagued me for three years and the procedure definitely fixed it.
     
    devilly, Tonner Matt and Lex like this.
  14. Tonner Matt

    Tonner Matt Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,705
    Likes Received:
    1,486
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Location:
    Darwin
    Members Ride:
    VZ 1 Tonner LS1 M6
    In my experience:
    An Idle Relearn is not necessary every time the battery is disconnected. Unless you have a poor idle after reconnecting the battery.
    I have personally never done the procedure after the battery has been disconnected, but the Holden manuals says otherwise.....Go figure.
    Just like you guys I have also disconnected my battery plenty of times and never have any issue when it is reconnected.
    It always idles fine when it's started up after reconnecting the battery.

    As I posted above, the only reason why I did the Idle Learn Procedure was because my engine wouldn't return to idle and the revs were hanging at 1000 - 1,100rpm. Both times I've had the high idle issue, it was sorted after doing the Idle Learn Procedure.
     
    accentstencil likes this.
  15. devilly

    devilly Guest

    Whoo :) good to hear it solved and such and easy fix too. if it was me I would be printing that out and shoving it the glove box as a reminder to myself for later :)
     
    accentstencil likes this.

Share This Page